We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meudon Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Budock Vean Hotel(Mawnan Smith)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merchants Manor(Falmouth)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
181
58
18
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
58
18
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachsub tropical gardensbreamsecluded covestunning gardenstree fernscoastal pathcream teafudgelovely hotelwine listdog friendly hotellovely beachcountry hotelcomfortable bedon arrivalrelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in their cottage which is a lovely self catering option with the added bonus of having full English breakfast delivered on my birthday & we took the opportunity of working our way through the pudding menu each evening delivered to our door! The cottage has a lovely child friendly garden loads of garden furniture and with young children aged 1,2&5 it was a perfect space. The hotel grounds were fantastic for exploring but with water features and a stream the usual risks of children and water apply so to have our own garden space was perfect.
The cottage is roomy for its price, the double is comfortable size and we easily fitted the additional (large) cot in the twin room. If you've seen the hotel inspector you will appreciate some things are a bit dated but they had given the cottage a fresh paint and it felt clean. The service was amazing - stairgate "we'll get one" a childminder so we could have an evening meal in the restaurant - they have CRB checked staff, who were very reasonable cost and lovely.
It was so relaxing we're going back this year with extended family staying in the hotel.
There's also a fab family beach two mins drive away at Maenporth.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewsFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed with 3 colleagues for a night on business. On arrival we were greeted cheerfully by Gaye which was nice. My Room was large if a bit dated - but it was wonderful to be in the dark at night (no street lights) and wake up to birdsong and the garden filling the picture windows. Once I had worked out how to switch off the heated towel rail and opened the windows the room cooled down - housekeeping might have thought of that given the heatwave we were having. We walked down to the beach in the evening and my colleagues swam and paddled - a bit too Reggie Perrin for me to see the pile of clothes on the beach. Characterful - Wonderful Gunnera plants on way , hotel cat stretched out near reception and a few old post boxes too. We had a celebratory team drink on the terrace watching rooks roost in the tall trees and were then invited through to eat in the restaurant. The restaurant was elegant and again with the beautiful view to the gardens. As we had drunk 2 bottles of Prosecco we asked for water with the meal and this was not served in a carafe with ice, given the style of the restaurant this was surprising and a bit of a let down and we had to ask for top ups. I thought the food was a bit pricey but it was good. The bar was well appointed and cosy. Breakfast was very good and they had decaff tea (which always cheers me up) and a good cooked selection. Staff were attentive. The only down side was that when I went to make a cup of tea very late I had only a few cartons of the fake milk and the housekeeping team had not cleaned the teapot from the previous occupant and so I had to empty out a teabag and half a pot of tea. Reception staff were very apologetic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Camellia4364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in the ground floor suite which although pleasantly furnished didn't really match the expectations we had formed after reading the hotel information and description of it. It felt just like we were staying in a sheltered accommodation block due to the general appearance of the building from the outside and the heavy brown, security doors inside which invariably slammed shut with an enormous bang. People using the entrance door that was right near our suite woke us up on a couple of occasions. We didn't have a particularly good view of the gardens from our lounge area and our bedroom looked out onto the car park although our car could be left right under our window so was convenient in that respect. The worst thing about our suite was the dreadfully loud creaking coming from the ceiling whenever anyone walked about in the room above us. We were aware of every step they took up there. I would have expected this in a Tudor building but was surprised it happened in one built in the 1960s. The spotless bathroom was excellent, though we had expected a dressing gown and flannel to be provided in view of what we were paying, as well as a generous supply of toilet rolls. As it was the roller was not always refilled and to ensure we didn't "run out," we resorted to keeping a spare hidden in our room. We were given replacement rolls on request but certainly didn't expect to have to attend to such a matter ourselves.
The "bridge," bar and restaurant were very pleasurable to visit and we enjoyed some lovely evening meals during the week we stayed there. Breakfast was nice, though portions were small and slightly under-cooked. The buffet laid out on the communal table did not seem as though it got replenished and it could be embarrassing to take the last helping of something, even orange juice, when other guests were waiting to help themselves right beside you. We had experienced a far more generous breakfast when making an overnight stop at another hotel on the way down for a third of the price.
The staff were lovely, throughout the hotel and it was, of course, particularly pleasant to take afternoon tea or sandwiches on the garden terrace.
We would go back to the Meudon, as the gardens and helpful staff contributed to a generally very enjoyable stay. Next time we would choose a room that more directly overlooked the garden and also one that was upstairs in an effort to avoid any more potentially creaky ceilings.
If it hadn't been for the garden and wonderful location we may have thought that we had paid rather a lot for what was on offer. There was just a certain lack of feeling "pampered" that other hotels in a similar price bracket have somehow given.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Max160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Thank you to Gaye and all her team for the most incredible wedding venue i have been to in a long time. I must start with the incredable wedding menu including scollops, cooked to perfection followed by sea bream with dressing. Timing was impecable with every dish well presented and arriving full table at a time. No mean feet for almost 80persons. First impressions are deceptive on arrival but this hotel opens out into a fantastic, modern, light airy bar and reception room with a beautiful dinning and later dance floor area. The gardens are quite simply stunning with a path leading down to a beautiful sandy beach. We stayed in a large double room with a massive and comfortable bed overlooking the gardens and were very impressed with facilities and the personal touches. Breakfast was superb served with really good coffee. I simply can't recommend this hotel highly enough. We will be back! Thank you to everyone ;o)

Room Tip: We stayed in the one of the rooms in the near extension which was lovely, however are friends were in the more modernised area which looked superb.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here on a b&b terms, rooms good and beautiful gardens good service though the food menu was very limited and pricey , there needs to be more choice slightly cheaper prices for the b&b side of things. the staff were very friendly and helpful .The hotel is clean and tidy though some flaky paintwork could be sorted out in the rooms/bathrooms overall would stay here again but would dine out in evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shymanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews