We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We should have tried somewhere else”
Review of Balti Curries

Balti Curries
Ranked #48 of 233 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$33
Cuisines: Indian, Nepalese
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 13 June 2014

....but the taxi driver recommended it. Missing letters outside, unpleasant altercation with the lady behind the bar and the delivery driver before we were seen, and the distinct whiff of urine wafting down the stairs - presumably from the loos - we didn't investigate.
At this point it may have been wise to try elsewhere but we'd had a decent meal here years ago, and we thought things would pick up. We weren't keen on the sauces with the poppadoms, and although we were given a free plate of food while we waited, by the time our ordered dishes arrived, we were no longer hungry. The food itself was ok, but the best bit was the sweet lassi that I had.
I find it a problem to eat at a sit down restaurant that also does take away. While trying to deliver within a reasonable time, the sit down diner has to wait. The angry delivery man stomping through to the kitchen doesn't add anything to the mood, either. The serving ladies were lovely but we won't be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltifalmouth, Manager at Balti Curries, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear customer,

We greatly appreciate any feedback our customers give us as it has allowed us to maintain and improve
the standards of food and service for the past 17 years since my family started running the restaurant.

We apologise that you did not thoroughly enjoy your experience with us. The sign outside our
restaurant is over 40 years old (it is the oldest Indian restaurant in Cornwall) and one letter went missing which
we ordered straight away but it took a while to be delivered.

We can assure you that we take the cleanliness of our restaurant and all its facilities very seriously and do
our best to keep it to the highest standard possible.

The sauces you have tried with the poppadoms are mostly enjoyed by our customers but we appreciate that they
might not be to everyone's taste.

Thank you for all your comments, we will use it to improve our service for the future. We would love to see you
in our restaurant again in the future so please give us a call if you decide to try us again and we will make sure
that your experience is much better than expected.

Respectfully yours,

Balti Curry management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 297 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Have been to this restaurant countless times over many years. Excellent authentic curries, great value, efficient and friendly service. I have never had a poor meal and everyone I have recommended it to over the years have agreed. Restaurant is small and not plush but this keeps price down. Yes, the menus are a bit worn! This is due to the popularity of this restaurant and the high number of customers, which as a local and regular I know, return time and time again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltifalmouth, Manager at Balti Curries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for your understanding. Your kind words and recommendations are hugely appreciated.

We have replaced our menus now. You were absolutely right, many customers come and go and come again, which left our menus a little bit "tired".

We hope to cook and serve you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Balti Curries Falmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We should have realised when we were given the menus that this was not going to be good....the pages were stuck together with Sellotape that was so old that it was brown and crispy and as it turned out would probably have been more tasty than the curry. How other diners can say that this is the best curry they've ever tasted is beyond us. The cooking style is tired and lacked any degree of flavoursome spicing. The chicken Karahi was in fact chicken pieces with diced onion that didn't meld together. The chicken tikka was simply seared chicken on a base of half cooked onions and lacked flavour. If this was in Rusholme, Sparkbrook or Brick Lane this restaurant would have not survived the competition and high standards evident elsewhere

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltifalmouth, Manager at Balti Curries, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear customer,

we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your valued feedback.

We realise our menus were not up to the highest standard so we ordered new ones which will be delivered next week.

We always strive to deliver the best food and service and our chef is well trained and experienced.

We have taken your comments on board and shared with our staff.

Please do give us a call next time you fancy Indian and we will do our best to exceed your expectations.

Respectfully yours,

Balti Curries management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The place looks like a dump, but the staff are great and the food is very good, they stay open late too.

Thank TonyCerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltifalmouth, Manager at Balti Curries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your comments which are very much appreciated.

We are glad that you enjoyed our food and service. We are very sorry you did not like the decor which we are continuously working on improving as we strive to offer the best experience for our customers.

Our team hopes to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,
Balti Curries Falmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Curry in Cornwall - compares well to anything in the UK. The special Nepalese dishes are from the top drawer

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Slipper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balti Curries also viewed

 

Been to Balti Curries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing