We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent surprise”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My colleague and I needed a hotel near Falmouth at short notice in August, which left very few choices at reasonable prices. We found and booked Penmorvah at a real reasonable rate and were expecting the worst. What a surprise ! Excellent food great rooms, lovely paths to a nearby beach. Now my favourite hotel in Cornwall. Lookin forward to going back with my husband. A real find, if you don't min being a five minute drive outside of Falmouth

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richanddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    44
    16
    13
    13
See reviews for
58
93
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel along with our daughter, son-in-law and grandson during August 2011. The hotel is situated about 3 miles outside of Falmouth on winding country lane, so a word of advice do not stay here unless you have a car or really like walking. The rooms at the hotel are basic and the room in which we stayed had a small double bed, again if you are close to 6 foot or over look for another venue. The bed and pillows in this hotel room were made of stone or so it felt. The rooms are also very dark and the TVs are the size of a computer screen. The hotel restaurant is beyond ordinary and I would especially recommend not having the spaghetti Aribiatta. I thought that it was impossible to screw up this dish as it has such basic ingredients yet when I queried the taste and asked if they had made a mistake I was told that use sweet chilli sauce from a bottle as the chilli component of this dish. I asked the waitress to ask the chef and it was not until I pushed for an answer that I found this out. The other quaint habit they have here is that the lounge is locked like a fortress until 8.30 in the morning and it is the only place with wifi. So in conclusion, nice location, rooms tired, food ordinary staff attitude matter of fact.

Room Tip: ask to stay in a room in the main house, not in the wing it is dark and old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulcardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

My wife and I spent a very enjoyable week in one of the garden cottages. Her brother and sister-in-law joined us for the last three days. The two bedroom, two bathroom self-catering cottage was very comfortable although the second bedroom had bunk beds which is understandable as the unit would probably be most suitable for a couple with children.

The beds were very comfortable and it is very quiet and peaceful so we all slept very well. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything required for preparing and serving meals.

The lounge area was also very comfortable for four adults and included a flat screen TV with digital TV channels and a DVD player.

We were close to the main hotel with all of it's amenities including a bar, restaurant and resident's lounge with wi-fi. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening and everything including the food and service was excellent. While having dinner we had the opportunity to chat with the owners, Peter and Cheryl. They are a very hospitable couple and gave us several suggestions as to how we could best enjoy our visit to Cornwall. Their cocker spaniel, Millie, matched their friendliness.

The grounds, the manor house and view are all spectacular (see photos).

Every day we went out to explore a different area of Cornwall. This is a great central location to do this from. There are so many wonderful places to visit in Cornwall. I would say don't miss St. Ives, St. Michael's Mount and Fowey.

All in all, we felt very welcome and very comfortable at the Penmorvah. We would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGIKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Booked this hotel from newspaper recommendation backed up by details on the web - we were certainly not disappointed. We were greeted with a very friendly welcome on our arrival. taken to our room and given a concise review of the hotel and surrounding area.

The room was clean and suited our purpose as well as supply of the necessities ie clean towels daily if required, hairdryer, tv, tea/coffee etc.

We took breakfast in all our five day stay and the choice and service as well as the quality, was very good - disappointed we didn't make time foe at least one nights dinner - sure that too would have been a success.

Our encounters with all the staff were very welcoming and friendly and they made themselves 'available' to you - it didn't reflect in the service that there was a Sunday and two bank holidays during our stay when rotas would have been changed.

Finally the location is off the beaten track but amidst some beautiful areas - ask the staff - they'll give you ideas. It is very peaceful and secluded and the grounds are lovely with a superb view out to sea.

Thank you all at Penmorvah!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misty91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

As a single guest using vouchers from News of the World I was expecting not to have the best of rooms, but I couldn't have been more wrong! I had a king sized (very comfortable) bed in a modern decorated room (no chintz) with two full height windows. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast waiters were lovely and helpful with places to visit.

The grounds are beautiful with a swing hung from a tree. Perhaps the painting at the bottom of the stairs by reception is the creepiest I have seen.

Will be going back. Its a five min drive into centre of Falmouth.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
113 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Penmorvah for 3 nights in September. The hotel is cosy and peaceful, with friendly staff and a good breakfast. The room was clean and warm.

The only problem is that the hotel is too far away to be able to walk anywhere, if you didn't eat in the hotel its a 10-15 minute drive into Falmouth. However, its a good base to explore the rest of Cornwall, we managed to cover a huge amount of ground in just a few days. We tended to eat in local restaurants and then have a drink in the bar each evening.

Look out for the hotel dog - so cute!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueCrocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2010

My wife and I spent two weeks staying in one of the courtyard cottages on the Penmorvah Manor Hotel Estate. It proved to be a perfect place to drive to all of the towns and villages of Cornwall. The spotless and well maintained two-bedroomed cottage had two bathrooms, a lounge and well equipped kitchen diner. It could comfortably accommodate four adults or a family.
An added bonus was the proximity of the hotel with all of its facilities available to us. There are three resident chefs who provide excellent gourmet meals in the restaurant. The staff are friendly and helpful.
The hotel gardens are magnificent with splendid ocean viewsand there are plenty of walks in the vicinity. Falmouth is only a few minutes drive from the estate.
We hope to return in Spring to enjoy the spring flowers and shrubs.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brikay47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
2.2 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmorvah Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmorvah Manor Hotel

Property: Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Address: Penjerrick Hill | Penmorvah Manor Hotel, Budock Water, Falmouth TR11 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Penmorvah Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 27 room Country House Hotel, (extended in 1990) with lovely woodland gardens, self catering cottages and room for enchanting weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Penmorvah Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Falmouth
Falmouth Courtyard
Penmorvah Manor Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing