We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a let down.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a let down.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We attended Penmorvah for a wedding and the grounds and venue are beautiful. However, the attitudes of some of the staff (senior members) was grudging and miserable. At almost £5 a pint and £5.50 for a small glass of wine the drinks were expensive. The beer was in a word terrible. At breakfast they kept running out of everything on the hot buffet and I saw two men waiting quite a while in order to get eggs! At least the beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueladybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    43
    16
    13
    13
See reviews for
57
91
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Super Hotel, very kind and helpful staff, very comfortable room. Good breakfast. Even the paintings on the walls were rather good! The highlight was the view from the patio down the valley to the sea. Peaceful. Not cheap, but worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WandererII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed here last Saturday night. Staff were very helpful and friendly and our double room was of a good standard. Breakfast was very good - continental choice as well as hot cooked breakfast. My only criticism was the tinned fruit. We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent and reasonably priced. Not much atmosphere as it wasn't very busy but the staff were very good. Dog friendly hotel and beautiful grounds. Overall a lovely hotel and I felt very good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

A very comfortable and pleasant hotel, although decor could do with updating, looking very tired in places. Room was quite dark and not helped by the choice of furniture. There is a very creepy picture at the bottom of the stairs by reception - there might be a reason for this being there but it is very haunting! Breakfast was very good with lots of choice. Staff efficient and polite. Set in beautiful surroundings and wish I'd had time to explore the area. Would have liked more of a selection in room of beverages, only tea and coffee and only one type - no biscuits or hot chocolate! All in all a good hotel in a quiet location, suiting walkers and the older traveller.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prawney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

But not sure worth the money. The staff were friendly enough, breakfast was very good. Probably suit over 60's better. Not sure I liked having to pay 2% surcharge because I paid
on my credir card !!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nawtHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lubnu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The hotel is pretty on the outside in a period building, however the rooms are in an annex to the back of the building.

Totally basic room - worse than a Travel Lodge. A small kettle and 4 tea bags provided. Paid £105 per night. We had just spent 2 nights in a B&B in Falmouth Town for £60 per night which was LOADS better and we regretted the change but we were attending a wedding there.

Our room absolutely stank. It was retched. I asked to move rooms but they claimed to be 'fully booked'. We were told to leave the heating on to rid the smell. They had no air fresheners. There was also something 'odd' floating in the toilet but that had nothing to do with the smell.

When we returned in the evening after leaving the heating on, the room not only smelled worse but it was so damp that my clothes felt moist. Some papers I left on the bed had wilted and were damp. I had to ring the 'emergency' number as reception closes at 9pm. I told them I literally couldn't sleep in this room because of the damp and the smell. The man responded aggressively with "well no-one else has complained". Luckily they did have another room after all upstairs on the opposite side of the annex, once we moved (at midnight) all was fine.

It could have easily been resolved if the receptionist moved us to the other room when we first arrived instead of claiming to be 'fully booked'.

No-one apologised for anything and I was made to feel like I was some kind of liar.

The TV in the room didn't work either but to their credit they changed it quickly.

Room Tip: Go to the Observatory B&B in Falmouth town
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lubnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

My wife and I were in Cornwall where we have a small business and needed an overnight stay somewhere near Falmouth. We decided to make it a week-end in a country hotel and found the Penmorvah by chance online. It was a great decision. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean with lots of wardrobe & drawer space. The restaurant food was amazing - really interesting menu, beautfully presented and cooked perfectly. Whoever their chef is, the hotel need to keep hold of him/her! Breakfasts were freshly cooked. The hotel's owner and staff were helpful and informative and the use of a laptop online at the bottom of the stairs was really useful. Free wifi in the lounge was great for check e-mails on the smartphone. The grounds the hotel are in are attractive with views down to the sea - we weren't there to go to beaches but I gather they are not far away.
Go to the Penmorvah - you'll love it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliantb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
2.2 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmorvah Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmorvah Manor Hotel

Property: Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Address: Penjerrick Hill | Penmorvah Manor Hotel, Budock Water, Falmouth TR11 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Penmorvah Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 27 room Country House Hotel, (extended in 1990) with lovely woodland gardens, self catering cottages and room for enchanting weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Penmorvah Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Falmouth
Falmouth Courtyard
Penmorvah Manor Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing