We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE PLACE - HOTEL TYPICAL ATMOSPHERE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penmorvah Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Alsbach-Haehnlein, Germany
Level Contributor
180 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“NICE PLACE - HOTEL TYPICAL ATMOSPHERE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed for 3 overnights in mid-July 2013 as part of a 13-night trip to England. Booked as a Bed & Breakfast-Accomadation it is of course more like a hotel and can't have the same setting and feel as a owner-led B&B. Our room was a bit small but otherwise ok - nothing to complain about. Breakfast is either buffet or ordered and served at the table - thumbs up. It included all you could think of.
The surrounding garden and parking is spacious and well cared of.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dietmar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    43
    16
    13
    13
See reviews for
57
91
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Arrived to a very unfriendly welcome first they appeared to have lost my booking then they insisted on payment upfront and charged me extra for using a credit card! The room was actually quite good but it had not been cleaned properly, the toilet seat was stuck together with toothpaste and there were hairs in the shower. I would have complained but I was already late for a party and the receptionist was nowhere to be found. I had a quick look through the kitchen door on the way out and decided that I wasn't going near the restaurant. This is an expensive place for such poor standards, it is being run like a budget BnB, I definitely won't be staying again and I strongly recommend you go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FostersBeergut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin P, Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your valued feed back and I am sorry that your visit did not meet with your expectations.
In response I would like to comment that I apologise for the confusion on your arrival this was because when your laterooms booking came through your surname was listed as your Christian name. Payments are taken in advance as we do not have the facility to pre-authorise guests cards as many hotels may do.
Regarding your comment on the kitchen I can only assume that you looked in through our wash up area, not the main kitchen. We were recently awarded a 5 Star Food Hygiene award through Cornwall Council Food Standards Agency. This is the highest award available and one of only a few that achieved this. I would welcome you to have a guided tour of our kitchen should you wish to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

All the staff wer very friendly, but not really professional. The breakfast buffet lookes a disaster, but yes, when I commented, I was given freshly poached eggs and kippers.

My room (26) was potentially excellent, but there is secondary glazing. The windows have no sash cord and only one would open. When I confronted the Manager he came to the room, but I do not think rely realised that guests do NOT wish to climb onto window seats to get any fresh air.
Tea/Coffee making is provide for, but you then have to use horrible glass mugs (not attractive !!) Sad that in addition there is no note pad or pencil privided.
The Bathroom was fine, but I am sure any female guest would want a shower cap.

My evening meals were good

All in all it is an adequate B & B, but I do not think it should rate as a several starred Hotel. I gather dogs are welcomed....perhaps they fare better

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

A fantastic hotel, fantastic staff, Amanda (the receptionist) was very welcoming on arrival, and was only to happy to print of local bus info ( to save using the car, and be able to visit some local hostelries with out driving,hic). A 15 min bus ride into Falmouth makes it a perfect location. The food, breakfast & dinner, were superb, all freshly cooked and exactly what we asked for ( great when you are fussy about how you like your eggs) . Room was extremely comfortable, ( slept like a baby).

Will certainly return . Massive thumbs up :):):):)

Room Tip: Stay in the main house , lovely views and great service :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Dark bedroom ,awful lighting ,small window ,uncomfortable bed,unmatched bedding --dreary and depressing. Tea and coffee supplies were basic Not worth £30 per night ,actual cost was £220 for 2 nights .Sunday breakfast was probable cooked two hours before time.Left in warm trays for buffet service ,unbelievable and totally inedible .Probably the worst hotel experience I can remember

Room Tip: avoid room 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hopingforbette234780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin P, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay. I would be happy to discuss your comments in more detail should you wish to contact me personally.
In response to some of your comments listed our pricing has been set competitively for the 3 star rating that we currently achieve. Regarding the uncomfortable bed, these mattresses were renewed within the last twelve months so was very disappointing to hear. I can also assure you that buffet breakfasts (which are used during busy periods such as weddings) are cooked within 30 minutes of the restaurant opening times and are topped up constantly throughout the period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here for a short break to get away from the stresses and strains of normal life. We had a fantastic time, we found the staff friendly and the location very peaceful. I have to say the food at both breakfast and evening meals was excellent and the chef Ben is to be congratulated.A fantastic base for exploring the area. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 62Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Holidayed here for a week recently and had the pleasure of staying in one of the cottages adjacent to the hotel, which allow dogs also.

Had a really great week, very friendly staff, clean and comfortable (and very modern) accommodation and great food.

Looking at some of the previous reviews I really don't know what some folks expect, not every hotel looks like a Radisson Blu inside, this one is perfectly acceptable in the lounge, bar and dining room. My partner is vegan and the chef actually took the time to create a three course vegan menu for her specially on two occasions which was very good both times, the food I tried was very good.

A nice place in a beautiful location close to the beaches and near town.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_C96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
2.4 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmorvah Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmorvah Manor Hotel

Property: Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Address: Penjerrick Hill | Penmorvah Manor Hotel, Budock Water, Falmouth TR11 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Penmorvah Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 27 room Country House Hotel, (extended in 1990) with lovely woodland gardens, self catering cottages and room for enchanting weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Penmorvah Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Falmouth
Falmouth Courtyard
Penmorvah Manor Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing