We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful.”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Hotel booked for works Christmas do. Location perfect and easily accessible, function room ideal for our group of 70, food excellent, all staff very friendly. Could not fault it! Thank you very much Penmorvah, hope to see you again next Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. It is a real treat for all of our team to know that you and your friends enjoyed your Christmas Party Night at the Penmorvah Manor. Good food, great people and fun music are all the perfect ingredients for a great night out and we are really pleased to know that you all enjoyed yours. We very much look forward to welcoming you again.

With very best wishes,

Neil Slade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    45
    20
    13
    14
See reviews for
62
96
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed at the Penmorvah Manor Hotel for one night on business. I was a little bit apprehensive about the stay after reading the reviews on here but have nothing but praise for this place having experienced it for myself.

Here's what you need to know if you are thinking about staying here...

THE PROS

1. The staff. Neil, the manager and his deputy, Sally are both fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble for them. I don't think that we were the easiest of people to satisfy but they dealt with every request and question that we had without batting an eyelid.

2. The rooms. I don't usually sleep well when I'm not at home, but the bed (in room 26) was a dream. The sea view was also lovely and the en suite bathroom was bigger than my bedroom at home. Both bathroom and bedroom were spotless.

3. Location. The hotel is a good drive out of Falmouth but I actually quite liked being away from the hustle and bustle. It is a very peaceful.

4. The food. The local WI had their Christmas party on the night that we stayed. If it's good enough for them, it's good enough for me! Our evening meal and breakfast were both excellent.

5. The red wine number 4 on the wine list - very yummy Shiraz!

THE CONS

6. If you are a fan of sleek lines and contemporary designs, this is not the place for you. There are flowers on every bedspread, strip of wall paper and cushion! Not my taste at all, but the hotel still has a good atmosphere and the pros far outweigh the single con.

Would I stay here again? Yes, absolutely. We had excellent service, it was good value and our experience was a very positive one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skunkerhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Greetings,

A short note of thanks to you for taking the time to drop us such a lovely review couched in such glowing terms... we all very much appreciate it! Your generous sentiments have been passed around the Penmorvah team and provided us all with a terrific boost. Do come and see us again when you are next in Cornwall.

With grateful thanks,

Neil Slade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

just spent the night at penmorvah manor hotel for our 1st year anniversary absolutley amazing hotel food was just perfect as was the room we was in and the staff were amazing couldnt ask for anywhere better to stay highly recommended. Neil slade is amazing he makes you feel so welcome and at home cant wait to visit the hotel again :-)))

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilley12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you Mr and Mrs Lilley,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Penmorvah Manor, particularly one that is as special as your first wedding anniversary. We were delighted to have been allowed the opportunity of looking after you both.

Do come and visit us again.

With all good wishes,

Neil Slade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was our first visit to Penmorvah Manor Hotel and we were not disappointed. We were met by Neil Slade, the General Manager who we have known for a few years now and knew we would be well looked after, also Sally the Assistant Manager. The hotel, staff and food could not be faulted, We were made to be most welcome also by the owners Cheryl and Peter and the staff generally. If anyone is visiting this part of the world there are lots to do and see, especially Trebah Gardens some 10 minutes from the hotel, very interesting and lots of history and wonderful gardens to see. A really enjoyable stay and looking forward to the next time we are able to visit Penmorvah Manor Hotel and hope we will be able to stay longer.

Room Tip: We had room 26 which overlooked the gardens and toward Maen Porth, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
How lovely of you to drop us a line full of lovely comments. We all very much appreciate your review and you may rest assured that your kind words have been reiterated across our team. Please do come and see us again but don't forget to bring your golf clubs on your next trip to beautiful Cornwall!

With all good wishes,

Neil Slade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camelfo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have just come back after our second stay at Penmorvah Hotel and will be returning again. As before we found the whole experience AMAZING and very relaxing. Although we stayed over a very wet and windy weekend we were made to feel totally at home and comfortable in front of the fire. Also we enjoyed sitting in the bar and having a chat with Sarah and other guests. Everything single member of staff is more than helpful and very friendly

There was alot of choice for breakfast and all looked tasty. We did have an evening meal and the food was outstanding, well worth staying in for.

Falmouth town is only a short drive if you want to explore or you can also walk around the hotel grounds.

A HUGE thank you again to Neil and all of the staff!!!

Room Tip: Room 28, charming and very warm!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jhobbshurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Happy New Year!

I am dropping you a short note to say thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent trip to Penmorvah Manor. We are so pleased to know that your visit to us was enjoyable and relaxing and we do very much hope to have the pleasure of looking after you again, in the not to distant future.

With best wishes to you both,

Neil Slade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Over the years, we've stayed at many hotels in and around Falmouth. I'm pleased to say that the Penmorvah Manor matched up to the best of them.
We arrived mid-afternoon, in the middle of a power cut. This was no problem for Neil, the recently-appointed General Manager, who could not have been more welcoming or helpful Once settled in our very comfortable and well-appointed room, we thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary tea and freshly baked cake provided by Neil in compensation for the lack of power - an occurrence wholly beyond his, or the hotel's control.
Our fellow guests during our four night stay included a number of returning visitors - always a good sign. The atmosphere in the public area was very friendly. The hotel's employees were charming - especially Sarah( so assured) and Sophie. Breakfasts were splendid, with plenty of choice, even for a vegetarian. We choose from the lounge bar menu on the two evenings we ate in at the hotel. This was good value - especially on the night where we were invited to take the meal in the dining room. We were treated as well as if we had ordered the most expensive choices on the menu.
The hotel stands in some very attractive grounds, with ducks and hens meandering around. I do agree the previous reviewers' comments about the narrow road leading to the hotel - drive slowly. I also agree about the total absence of noise at night - very tranquil.
We thoroughly enjoyed the presence of some very well-behaved dogs brought by fellow guests, but not everyone might appreciate this enlightened ( In my view!) approach.
We would certainly return to the Penmorvah, as much because of the attitude of those who work there as for the very good facilities.

Room Tip: Our room was fine - the bed cover weighed a ton though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheLonePoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you Sir for such a lovely review! We very much appreciate it! It is always flattering to see your name in lights and we certainly thank you for that. We take on board the comment regarding the 'heavy bedspreads' and shall look at suitable alternatives in the future.

Do come and visit again soon! With very best wishes from the team and from Cornwall.

Sincerely,

Neil Slade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Thank you all so much for a truly wonderful stay and for making my birthday so special !!

We stayed at Penmorvah Manor on Friday 18th October where we were greeted by their newly appointed General Manager, Neil Slade (who is simply wonderful). We were shown the facilities and to our room by Neil, where an amazing four poster bed awaited us. The bed linen was so soft and the bed was so comfortable.

We had a table booked for 9 of us for dinner, and we relaxed in the bar first where gentle background music played. There was candles and nibbles on the tables and a log burner in the corner .. so cosy!

Our table looked stunning and nothing was too much trouble .... a great setting for what was a perfect evening. They were very accommodating with different dietary requirements and the food was delicious and very good value for money. The service and food were first class and I can't thank you all enough for a wonderful evening.

The breakfast in the morning was so good. A fantastic selection to choose from, fruit, yoghurts, pastry's, toast, plenty of jams etc and a full english breakfast. Loved it all and the scrambled egg was delicious !!

And to finish a great check out from a very lovely friendly lady!

Well done Penmorvah and thank you so much for a wonderful evening where everything was simply perfect. Neil is a fantastic addition to your team and we all can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachFal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you very much for such a lovely review! We were thrilled to be able to look after your birthday celebrations and very much enjoyed your company. Our Chef Ben was thrilled to hear that you so enjoyed your meal! Looking forwards to welcoming you back soon.

With best wishes,

Neil Slade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
2.2 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,142 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,095 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trelawne Hotel
Trelawne Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
353 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
1,137 reviews
2.5 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmorvah Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmorvah Manor Hotel

Property: Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Address: Penjerrick Hill | Penmorvah Manor Hotel, Budock Water, Falmouth TR11 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Penmorvah Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 27 room Country House Hotel, (extended in 1990) with lovely woodland gardens, self catering cottages and room for enchanting weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Penmorvah Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Falmouth
Falmouth Courtyard
Penmorvah Manor Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing