We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, interior a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
455 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, interior a bit dated”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in a superior room overnight on the last weekend in June. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and the exterior of the building is gorgeous. When we drove up we were very impressed.

The staff are lovely and the Receptionist showed us to our room which was quite large but not what I would call Superior, not by a long shot. I was quite surprised by how dated the interior of the rooms/bathrooms are. The public rooms are also pretty outdated. Although it all needs a good revamp everything was very clean.

The selection of food for breakfast was good and all tasted delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Penmorvah Manor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the main but equally wanted to thank you for your valued feedback.

We do promote the Penmorvah as a traditional Manor Hotel. Our Superior Standard rooms are graded so as they are larger than our Standard rooms, with woodland views and Super King Beds.

So far this year we have upgraded all of our beds, linen, duvets and curtains. This winter we aim to update our lighting in our Standard and Superior Standard rooms together with new Hospitality Trays. All rooms are scheduled for painting and decorating as well. We are also eager to start a programme of Bathroom enhancements.

We hope that your experience will not deter you from visiting again but thank you once again for taking the time to review our offering.

With all good wishes,

Neil Slade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    44
    16
    13
    13
See reviews for
59
94
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is really a place to enjoy the nature and yourself. The great garden with the view over the fields to the sea is just brilliant and so are the rooms!
The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mela40629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you ever so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your trip to Cornwall and hope to welcome you again on your next visit.

Best wishes,

Neil Slade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Lovely hotel with beautiful grounds and stunning views. Staff were very accommodating and attentive which really made us feel special. Food was fabulous and cooked to perfection. Room was very clean and our every need was catered for including a make shift tv room to watch the England game. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family and hope to stay here again soon myself.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Hello Samantha,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review us. We certainly appreciate it. We were very pleased to set up our snug for the Football match but were sorry that we could not provide the winning result we had all hoped for!

Do come and see us again soon.

Best wishes,

Neil Slade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Wife and I enjoyed a really good weekend . good large en suite room great food well cooked well presented and served food.and exceptionally friendly and very attentive staff led by the one and only neil slade.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello Sir,

You have made us all smile. Thank you for your lovely words.

With very best wishes,

Neil Slade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a gem of a hotel. Beautiful position with lovely views. Staff friendly and attentive - made us and our dog feel very welcome. Delicious evening meal and tasty full English breakfast the following morning. Lovely comfortable chairs and settees in lounge to have our coffee. Lovely large lawns and walks nearby to exercise our collie dog. Shame we were only there for the one night!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shebee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your warm words. We are pleased to know that all three of you enjoyed your break at Penmorvah Manor. We are very dog friendly here and very much welcome dog walkers. We look forward to seeing you again.

With all good wishes,

Neil Slade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penryn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I recently spent a week as guide to a group of 9 german garden-lovers at the Penmorvah Hotel. The guests all expressed the highest praise for the general standard of comfort and cleanliness at the hotel and were delighted with the excellent food, the lovely surroundings, and the friendly staff who were particularly helpful when one of the group became unwell for a day or so. I can confidently recommend the hotel on the basis of the excellent feedback received from my clients

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you Elaine,

I am thrilled to hear that your walking group enjoyed their time at Penmorvah Manor Hotel. We specialise in looking after small groups and were thrilled to have had the opportunity to look after yours. We very much look forwards to welcoming you again soon.

Very best wishes from Cornwall!

Neil Slade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights, including dinner on days 1 & 2 and breakfast (buffet plus full English) on days 2 & 3. It was outstanding, the best hotel experience in England we've had! From our first view of its lovely, well tended grounds and warm welcome at Reception, things just got better. We stayed with our collie, Maisie, and cannot speak highly enough of the excellent service we received from everyone at all times.

The special quality of this hotel is the excellence of its service. A friendly, professional ethos is apparent from everyone's attitude. There is evident pride and pleasure in doing the best they can to make your stay happy in every way. We reckon morale of the staff team must be very high to sustain this seemingly universal positive outlook.

Needless to say, we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
What a fabulous review! Thank you.

Our team are always please to hear such positive comments for which we thank you very much.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,

Neil Slade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
2.2 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,081 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trelawne Hotel
Trelawne Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,040 reviews
2.5 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
661 reviews
1.6 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#14 of 23 in Falmouth
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmorvah Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmorvah Manor Hotel

Property: Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Address: Penjerrick Hill | Penmorvah Manor Hotel, Budock Water, Falmouth TR11 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Penmorvah Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 27 room Country House Hotel, (extended in 1990) with lovely woodland gardens, self catering cottages and room for enchanting weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Penmorvah Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Falmouth
Falmouth Courtyard
Penmorvah Manor Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing