We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed in a superior room over August bank hol.

After 5 hour trip down we WEREN'T met with a smile, welcome to Penvorah, how was your journey, its lovely to see you, let me take your luggage...nope...just Mr. +++++, youre in room 10 do you you want dinner, heres the menu...do you want to make a reservation? Follow me.

Advertised as the East wing, the room was in a rather unsightly annexe with folded beds in the corridor and a seperate entrance to use, but with views over the garden that would have been lovely but the windows were too dirty to see out of.
Room was large with a massive comfy bed but pillows were rock hard and synthetic, for £120+ a night they should be feather!! Very dated (so 80's) interior!!

Ensuite was an odd colour with lino floor and shower over bath.Mould and soapscum on tiles and ceiling and after 1st shower the room was dripping... literally....towels all soaked, robe and even loo roll wet through with condensation.
When we got dressed the next morning our clothes were all damp and no we hadn't left the bathroom door open or anything like that.

Not too noisy at night even with a wedding party in but had to put cushions at the door to cut out the light from outside as the door didn't fit properly....on the subject of the door, it stopped you opening the wardrobe properly because of the fire door hinge at top.

Told breakfast was at 8 but when we arrived others obviously finished. All Buffet. Pastries etc actually meant pre-packed croissants and sliced french loaf which on day 2 was obviously the day before's as it was stale and not crisp at all. Waited for croissants but they didn't arrive so tried the fruit...all tinned and in syrup so as I can eat fried food it was either the 1 spoon of museli left or 2 small slices of stale french loaf....can you believe they charge £15 per person for that. Oh and if you want a cappucino or latte its an extra £3. No sight of the kippers advertised.
So back to room and sent hubby to check out.

So disappointed as we were both so looking forward to a weekend in a characterful manor house only to spend a seriously overpriced couple of days in a outdated and not pleasant annexe with staff looking truely miserable. No we weren't made to feel as welcome guests and won't return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank karen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

After one visit to this manor in its stunning grounds we decided to book for our wedding reception and party and we couldn't be happier with the service and quality we received for very reasonable price. Nothing was too much for any of the staff. All of our guests commented on the excellent quality of the four course menu my 60 guests received - it was just excellent. We also stayed at the hotel on our wedding night and where impressed with our room - very clean, large and functional. Although this hotel is not ultra modern we loved the quirkiness and character it provided for our special day. Breakfast the following morning was also great with plenty of fresh choices. Would totally recommend this fantastic hotel and all the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Sasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Thank you Sasha and Matt!

What lovely words, thank you. It was our pleasure and privilege to be a part of your special day.

Come and see us again soon,

With best wishes,

Neil Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

While we did not actually stay here, we spent a really good day at the Hotel for a friends wedding. The hotel is a lovely old building with delightful grounds and the views out to the ocean are brilliant. The manager Neil and his staff were very attentive throughout the day and the evening meal we had was really, really good given it was a sit down meal for a large group. Bar prices were very reasonable with a decent bottle of wine around £16 which we thought was OK. The hotel is just outside Falmouth itself and a £9 cab journey into town. Would not hesitate to stay there next time we are in the region.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank NeilBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Thank you Sir for your splendid review.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience at Helen and Perry's Wedding celebrations. Next time you are visiting Cornwall, we very much hope to have the opportunity of looking after you at Penmorvah Manor.

With very best wishes,

Neil Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

This place is lovely.
We booked this place because we're looking for wedding venues. Booked dinner bed and breakfast for only £160 that is amazing in its self. We arrived at reception to be greeted by Neil who showed us to our room, which he upgraded at no extra cost. :) the room was stunning and clean. The three course meal was delicious and the staff we're perfect. The grounds around the Manor are beautiful. I can not recommended this place more it's lovely ..Thank you Neil :) :)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jamez_t14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Thank you James,

It was very much our pleasure and we hope that we have an opportunity of looking after you again. Good luck with the wedding venue hunting!

Best wishes,

Neil Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you want excellent value for money,treat yourselves to Sunday lunch at the Penmorvah Manor! Can't believe we haven't been there before,as we live only a few minutes drive away. We had the roast beef which was thick sliced and cooked to perfection and the gravy was delicious! The portions are very generous indeed. An enjoyable experience and we will definitely go again. Thanks to Neil,the Manager for your warm welcome.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words about your recent dining experience. We are delighted to know that you so enjoyed your visit and very much look forwards to welcoming you again.

With all good wishes,

Neil Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in a superior room overnight on the last weekend in June. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and the exterior of the building is gorgeous. When we drove up we were very impressed.

The staff are lovely and the Receptionist showed us to our room which was quite large but not what I would call Superior, not by a long shot. I was quite surprised by how dated the interior of the rooms/bathrooms are. The public rooms are also pretty outdated. Although it all needs a good revamp everything was very clean.

The selection of food for breakfast was good and all tasted delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Penmorvah Manor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the main but equally wanted to thank you for your valued feedback.

We do promote the Penmorvah as a traditional Manor Hotel. Our Superior Standard rooms are graded so as they are larger than our Standard rooms, with woodland views and Super King Beds.

So far this year we have upgraded all of our beds, linen, duvets and curtains. This winter we aim to update our lighting in our Standard and Superior Standard rooms together with new Hospitality Trays. All rooms are scheduled for painting and decorating as well. We are also eager to start a programme of Bathroom enhancements.

We hope that your experience will not deter you from visiting again but thank you once again for taking the time to review our offering.

With all good wishes,

Neil Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is really a place to enjoy the nature and yourself. The great garden with the view over the fields to the sea is just brilliant and so are the rooms!
The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mela40629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmorvah, General Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Thank you ever so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your trip to Cornwall and hope to welcome you again on your next visit.

Best wishes,

Neil Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
2.2 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,267 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
222 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 24 in Falmouth
316 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
971 reviews
1.6 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#13 of 24 in Falmouth
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmorvah Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmorvah Manor Hotel

Address: Penjerrick Hill | Penmorvah Manor Hotel, Budock Water, Falmouth TR11 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range: £88 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penmorvah Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 27 room Country House Hotel, (extended in 1990) with lovely woodland gardens, self catering cottages and room for enchanting weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Penmorvah Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Falmouth
Falmouth Courtyard
Penmorvah Manor Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing