We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality excellent - and I am hard to please!”

Gyllyngvase House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2009

I travel for work constantly and am a stickler for good service and cleanliness. Spent 3 days midweek here for pure relaxation. Hotel is a family run business with an exceptionally welcoming attitude - just read the comments book to see for yourself. Amazed at the range of breakfast available. Try the cheese & tomato omelette - the best I have tasted in years!
Centrally located for beach and town, local information readily available from reception. Have already booked my next visit for spring 2010.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelleyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2009

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Gyllyngvase House Hotel. Beds were comfortable, breakfast superb (plenty of choice) and service very good. The whole place was clean and very nicely decorated. The sitting room with newspapers, magazines and bookshelves we particularly liked. Short walk from beach one way and harbour front the other way, with many bars and restaurants to choose from. Loads to do in Falmouth - ferry trips, Maritime Museum, walks, castles, great gardens nearby. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonMaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Just been down to Falmouth on our holidays. Our first time and we loved the place, so much to see and do. Gyllyngvase house hotel suited us perfectly, delicious breakfasts and a comfortable bar to sit in when the kids have gone to bed. Staff great, especially paul who had us laughing all night long. Great value for money. Sad to leave. We will return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theonlylizzym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We travel to Falmouth regularly as our daughter lives there and we booked this stay fairly last minute for the bank holiday weekend. We paid £80 a night for 2 nights. the room was smaller than we expected from the website and it was cold and decidely damp. To the point were the sheets felt cold and damp and I hung my jacket in the wardrobe and it felt damp in the morning. The breakfast was nice and the staff friendly enough, the location was handy for the town and the beach, but it didn't make up for for feeling so cold the whole time we were there. We have stayed in smaller cheaper places in the town which were much better value for money and we won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneDoeOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

This was my 3rd stay at this hotel, I am very fussy and would recommend this place to anyone. The staff were polite,friendly and helpful. They know the area and were able to suggest lots of places for us to visit. We could see the sea from our room, which was bright and clean. Its not far to walk to the beach or to the town.
This place is a gem, we will be back .....

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Arrived from USA to walk the South Coast Path. Despite the poor weather I was given a warm welcome and a pot of tea in the lounge. The owner offered to dry my walking boots and recommended a superb local restaurant for dinner. The hotel is in an ideal location, comfortable, clean and friendly. Breakfast was good quality with plenty of choices - I would recommend the omlette with a side of bacon!! Nice serving staff and a good send off in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kooksSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Just wanted to say that we have just returned from a week in Cornwall and stayed at the
delightful Gyllyngvase House Hotel in Falmouth where we were majestically looked after by the propriaters.
I wanted to write my review as you had a review that is completelly inconsistent with
the way we were looked after by the hotel.Nothing was to much trouble.
One one exceptionally wet morning a number of guests who were stranded by a monsoon
like storm were brought numerous caffieters of coffee and all stated how exceptional the service and care that the proprieters exouded was.
first class

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c0rnwallreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,262 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
1,218 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#7 of 24 in Falmouth
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
389 reviews
1 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 24 in Falmouth
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gyllyngvase House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gyllyngvase House Hotel

Address: Gyllyngvase Road, Falmouth TR11 4GH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range: £77 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gyllyngvase House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gyllyngvase House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gyllyngvase Hotel Falmouth
Gyllyngvase House Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing