We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly located so that you do not need a car.”
other travellers have booked this property
Open plan living space with sheltered balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan living space with sheltered balcony
'St Keverne' (top floor) is on a tranquil harbourside quay The back of the lounge space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Open plan living space with sheltered balcony
'St Keverne' (top floor) is on a tranquil harbourside quay
The back of the lounge space
The fully equipped kitchen is open plan to the lounge
Double bedroom
The bathroom
Floor plan
Reserved parking is 120m away from the apartment, there is a car-port onsite that can be reserved
A network of small passenger ferries operate from the nearby quays
King Charles Quay from the visitor's yacht marina opposite
We're on a quiet 17th Century historic quayside
Uninterrupted harbour views with ever changing marine activity
Boats of all different shapes and sizes can be seen from the balcony
Falmouth's Blue Flag Gyllyngvase beach is a 15 minuite walk away
Event Square - stylish cafes, restaurants, shopping - five minutes walk away
National Maritime Museum is a five minute walk away
St. Mawes and Pendennis Castles guard Falmouth harbour
Harbour activity as seen from the balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Russian first
Any
English first
jojosail2
California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfectly located so that you do not need a car.”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We walked everywhere except for the two days we had a tour guide who drove us. Groceries are walking distance both directions, pharmacies, outdoor clothing store, basically quality shopping is easy to find in Falmouth - there are what I think of as junkie tourist trinket stores also, but it's easy to find nice things. If you stay here you MUST eat at The Hut, which is on your left as you walk uphill to the main street. It's below street level, so no windows, but is a utterly charming little restaurant with everything you could want and James is simply the best. Unfortunately for us we did not discover it until our last night.

Falmouth/Cornwall in general are, to me, perfect. I would very happily live here permanently.

ANYWAY, the apartment. Lovely. We had St. Kevern, top floor, aka to US people, up three flights. There are no walls common to any other apartment, and no apartment above. The laundry room is on the ground floor. Stairwell is extremely clean and very well lighted. The apartment is so clean I walked around in white socks all week and they never became the tiniest bit soiled. That said, there was an old cooking odor when we arrived which lasted about three days despite the fact we had the balcony door open all day and night. The heating system is not central heating, rather electric radiators in the various rooms. The fridge is under-the-counter and tiny. It has one tiny ice cube tray with no storage bin to put cubes in while making more. The dishwasher is fine, we did not use the cooktop/oven. Microwave adequate. Kettle is great. There is a large bin of Falmouth area attractions brochures to browse. The bedrooms have twin beds in one and a US double sized bed in the other. Duvets on all beds. US people, note they do not provide washcloths. Dish supply is adequate. Balcony is the best part. This fronts right on a tiny little harbor with 180 degree views of the harbor. LOTS of sailboats. We arrived by train and a taxi took us to the apartment. We could have walked but the streets and sidewalks are rough and not really conducive to dragging luggage. The couch is pretty grubby and stained looking but is the only aspect of the apartment that is. After one use the bathroom towels took on a 'wet dog' odor. Perhaps the owners should find a different laundry detergent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View.
Liked least: Walk up the stairs ;-).
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2013
Many thanks for this review - it is very interesting to hear about our offering from an American visitors perspective.
Our cleaning team (Fran, Jenny and Melwin) will be very pleased to know that their work has not gone unnoticed!
We are aware of the sofa - we are taking delivery of brand new sofa and easy chairs for several of the apartments today.
We have also (by co-incidence) already changed our brand of washing powder.
The kitchen fridges are of standard UK size but we're installing a new large freezer into the laundry room and so increasing the available freezer and ice making capacity to all apartments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston Clinton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fabulous view, contemporary decor and central location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Archway access for my people carrier but VW van drivers managed ok
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nicole S
Falmouth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Agreeable but some improvement needed”
Reviewed 26 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 3 nights in 1st floor flat (St Michael). Beware that the flat is situated at the end of a narrow steep street which leads on to a narrow access archway. We did not attempt to go through it!. The only way to unload/load was to leave the car at the end of the quay hoping it would be ok! There have been comments about the allocated parking spaces but we were fortunate that we were allocated one of the largest one (number 1).
The flat itself is pleasant enough although it could be improved by some freshening up with better lighting (gloomy at night) and more storage especially in the bedroom.
On the plus side, the view is fabulous and the location excellent for all amenities in Falmouth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: access by car/parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us on TripAdvisor.
Please be assured that we're taking your comments seriously and have taken the following steps to improve on the shortcomings that you encountered:
(1) We've changed the lighting in the lounge and kitchen to multi spot lighting (increasing the lighting output by 300%) This is now in line with the lighting we have fitted in all of the apartments.
(2) We're investigating solutions into increasing storage and adding a dressing table.
(3) We're improving our description of the access arrangements and our parking facilities. This includes links to the Google StreetView service enabling guests to see for themselves what to expect before they book.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrosyByd
cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good, but...”
Reviewed 29 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We were in St Michael on the first floor and the position of the apartment is excellent, being quiet and yet just round the corner from the main street with its great choice of restaurants and pubs. The view from the balcony was lovely, overlooking a quiet little harbour but with distant views of larger ships and boats. We phoned up the owner when we arrived and he was with us swiftly and gave us a warm welcome. The place is described as modernised but there are some things that could receive some attention. The sofa we had was uncomfortable to sit on for any length of time. The bathroom has been tarted up but some of the woodwork was rough and the shower was extremely "weak" - but that's what electric showers tend to be like. The kettle had definitely seen better days. As a previous contributor has said, there needs to be some more storage in the bedroom as you have very little space to put anything down (all those odds and ends that women tend to carry with them!). Also, the lack of anywhere to hang your coat was a bit frustrating. It was winter/spring and pretty cold and we both had two coats with us which ended up slung over the dining chairs for the duration of our stay. Another thing we found odd was that there were no dinner plates. We ended up eating out of soup bowls. The main thing we found difficult, however, was the parking. Firstly, the directions to the apartment suggest that you can reverse "through the op-way" to unload your car. This is a very tight turn and one which we chose not to do in our estate car - and my husband is an excellent and experienced driver. Secondly, the allocated parking is 200 yards uphill. Thirdly, the allocated parking spaces are located on a fairly busy side-road and are extremely tight. One has to aim the car between two solid, low metal posts, backing towards a wall. Our car's wing mirrors only just went over the top of these posts and my husband was even considering parking in a public car-park over-night rather than risking the paintwork. We were grateful to have parking included in the price of the apartment but be aware that it is not easy if you are in any way nervous about such things. Possibly if you have a Mini you'll be OK but a largish car could have problems. All in all, we had a good stay and the conveniencve of the postion of the apartment suited us fine. We phoned the owner during our stay for a new light-bulb (there was a spare one in the kitchen drawer but it was the wrong type) and he provided it swiftly and offered to fit it for us. Falmouth has some excellent restaurants and pubs and Cornwall is a great place to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Balcony and excellent position for the delights of Falmouth
Liked least: The parking arrangements
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2013
Thank you for your review about us. We have taken the following steps to improve our guest experience:
(1) We're improving our description of our parking facilities by adding more pictures and links to the Google StreetView service enabling guests to see for themselves what to expect before they book.
We agree that the parking spaces are of a standard size but would add that we've now been using these parking spaces for many years and generally most people do find them to be adequate.
(2) We've put up coat hooks inside the apartment and also replaced the missing items.
(3) We will improve the storage and also add a dressing table in the bedroom.
(4) We're improved the trim and lighting inside the bathroom.
Lastly, we're about to add a comfy new sofa!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berniej
Pocklington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A great base in a great town for exploring Cornwall”
Reviewed 16 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The owner Tim was on hand as three new sets of tennants arrived at about 3pm and efficiently showed us around.

We were in the single bedroomed St Ruan which was clean, had plenty of living space, a kitchen that we managed to prepare full meals in including a roast, a bathroom (bath and shower over bath) and a balcony to soak up the magificent view.

The apartment was equipped with everything we required and the provision of a free parking space 100 yards or so away (uphill... but it's downhill coming back!) was a benefit. Just watch out if you drive a low wide sports car as it may not fit between the metal posts!

The laundry room - washing machine and dryer - works through a £1 electricity meeter and was much appreciated for dealing with our muddy walking gear and other washing.

The furnishing is not high spec and the apartment is showing some wear at the end of the season however we were not paying luxury prices. A dressing table, coat hooks and a wall clock might be low cost improvements.

We would certainly consider renting this flat again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position in the centre of Falmouth and the view.
Liked least: Furnishing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, Surrey
Reviewed 15 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view from apartment
Liked least: no-where to hang damp towels! very small point though!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing