We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beach cottage falmouth .”

Review of Beach Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage and part of front garden Cottage and top lawn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Cottage and part of front garden
Cottage and top lawn
Cottage from Penryn river
Kitchen
Sun room
TV room
Pink bedroom
Ground floor bathroom
Cream bedroom
Dining room seating for up to 12 (table extends)
Upstairs bathroom
Downstairs bedroom
Third WC
Blue bedroom
Creek opposite garden
Flushing and Falmouth harbour from garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
lyntrotma...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beach cottage falmouth .”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Another lovely stay in beach cottage, This is our tenth stay , My wife and I love the place ,The cottage is so beautiful right at the waters edge which is so handy with a slipway right in to the river if you have a kayak. We always take the dog great garden for him to run he loves barking at all the boats passing the garden Would definatley recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandyB244...
Belgium
1 review
“Beach cottage: A great holiday with memorable moments for every member of the family.”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have been visiting Cornwall every year now for 8 years so we have some experience with holiday rentals in Cornwall. We first rented Beach Cottage two years ago. Having had such a lovely holiday there, we decided we did not want to be anywhere else. It was so important to us that we actually planned our holiday around the availability of the cottage.

My favorite thing about beach cottage is that you do not need to go out anywhere to enjoy yourself….you are already there on the sea front. You can sit in the garden and enjoy watching the sail boats pass by, the fish jumping around, the seagulls flying around...you have everything right there in front of you. Often in the morning, I would get up and drink my coffee sitting out in the garden enjoying the scenery before any of the children had woken up...much appreciated moments of peace and tranquillity...

The second most valuable thing to us about Beach cottage is that unlike many holiday homes where the dining and living room are the same, Beach cottage has separate rooms for eating, watching tv and playing games. We could enjoy our glass of wine after dinner in the dining room while the kids were watching tv in the living room, or playing games in the other living room. As every parent knows, there is nothing worse than trying to have a conversation while the television is blaring and/or the kids are “discussing” whose turn it is…

Concerning the logistical aspects of Beach cottage, it is worth mentioning that the cottage is very well equipped...even with little things like garlic crushers and salad spinners...those little things that we have at home but rarely find in holiday homes and sorely miss when we don't have them.
There is also a stock of board games in the living room, a great sandbox for the children in the garden, and even a small picnic table for the children to eat on. There is also garden furniture for the adults...nice for eating dinners outside in the garden or just for sitting outside in the evening.
If ever there are questions about the working of things, (dishwasher, washing machine, heating/water heater, etc...) or problems, there is a very helpful caretaker who lives close by and who responds to any questions very promptly.

Worth mentioning also is that Falmouth has some lovely sandy beaches within 10 minutes by car. This means that we could spontaneously decide even as late as 16:00 in the afternoon that we would pop over to the beach for an hour or so and still be home for dinner.
Within walking distance is Falmouth town center. The teenagers loved the fact that they could just go off by themselves exploring the shops in Falmouth ....a lovely 10 minute walk along the coast road.

If you do decide to have a day out, Falmouth is a pivotal location with easy access to the main roads which lead to several other areas of Cornwall. The possibilities for days out are too numerous to mention here, but there are plenty of brochures and information available in the cottage itself.

All in all, Beach cottage guarantees a great holiday with memorable moments for every member of the family.

Mandy Bubier
Hoeilaart, Belgium

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the setting.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greystar
Home Counties
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great secluded location on the bank of the Penryn River with fabulous views.”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Access when you first arrive via a small marine industrial estate seems slightly strange but fears are quickly dispelled when the exact location and views are seen. Almost every room has river views and the outside area is panoramic. It is also well fenced around the perimeter so small children can play without risk of falling in the river, plus there is a sandpit too. Kitchen is well equipped with stacks of crockery, cutlery and pots big enough for large groups, though bring your own sharp kitchen knife. Rooms are clean and comfy but perhaps a bit dated and some areas vulnerable to damp and with a slight fusty smell. Comfortably sleeps and dines 8 though the two lounge areas are better suited to fewer. Overall we had a great week there and plenty of parking for 2-3 cars right outside the door is super convenient too. Falmouth town centre is about 15-20 mins walk - there's a steep hill but views make up for it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation of the cottage
Liked least: Leaving !!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matsbat
Goole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth 12 out of 10 if that were possible!”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The whole experience from booking to leaving was absolutely first class.
The property far exceeded the write up on the website. The location was lovely,
with a fabulous garden overlooking the river.

The cottage was spotless when we arrived, with the bonus of tea, milk and sugar laid on!
Perfect after a long. slow drive. The facilities were outstanding with every gadget and
gismo you probably haven't even got at home in the kitchen! As a group of 8 grown ups who all love cooking there were no complaints on that score.

A great week was had by all, and I would have no reservations about recommending this
property, or even coming back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: All single beds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position of the cottage by the river and things to do in the area
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool...
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome experience living so close to the estuary”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Had a really great week at Beach Cottage with our two young dogs, amazing location with views from all windows and lawns overlooking the estuary. We were met and shown around by very helpful local agent, flowers and tea and biscuits were much appreciated after our drive.
Very homely and well equipped and well organised house for large groups with lots of space for wet coats (thankfully rarely needed), and a spacious kitchen with ample selection of pots and pans and serving dishes of all sizes, sharp knives and a huge fridge. Loved the pictures of yachts past and present, seabirds and coastal views.
Excellent as well for a couple, we used the downstairs bedroom in the annexe which was next to the sun room. All rooms have great views but the sun room is particularly lovely in the morning as the sun rises over the bay. Private slipway added attraction for those brave enough to sail, and fishing for sea bass from the lawn!!
Lots of parking, easy access to park and float so can leave the car and take the water bus into town or enjoyable 10 min stroll to the old High Street for quirky shops, great little cafés and wide selection of restaurants, particularly around Custom Quay. Ferry to Flushing or St Mawes for fab coastal walks, fresh seafood and the beach.
A perfect home from home, we loved every minute.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching the boats go by on the incoming tide from the sun room or the lawn
Liked least: Only staying for a week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing