We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bed and breakfast you wont forget.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bosvathick House

Bosvathick House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bosvathick House
Ranked #44 of 80 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“bed and breakfast you wont forget.”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A fantastic house with big rooms and loads of atmosphere.
Great dining room for breakfast, with lots of antiques etc.
Very comfortable bed, and excellent breakfast, with very friendly host.
The bathroom was not ensuite, and was down a corridor, but robes provided.
If you want modern up to date with ensuite, then this is not for you, but if you want an experience, wonderful surroundings and to be as close as most of us is going to living in a "country house" then this is well worth a stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brinkflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

40% of country houses that take guests are luxurious, amazing and very expensive. The other 59% offer sub-par service. And all of them feel like hotels rather than The actual estates they once were.

This place is the remaining 1%. A country house that is still a country house. It just happens that you can pay to stay with the owners. The house is bursting with character, with plenty of winding corridors, airy drawing rooms and big staircases. It feels rather like the set of an old Poirot movie. (So if you're afraid of big old houses at night with creaky staircases, best go to the holiday inn).

And it's a delight to stay. The rooms are huge, the bathrooms are fine, breakfast: so often where these places fail, is fabulous, and while you do have to go hunting around for the owner if you need something. That's kinda fun!

I loved staying here and if you're bored of hotels or naff b&b's, you should too.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yasunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Postbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This is truely an opportunity to travel back in time and experience gracious livingley .Tea and home made cake on arrival and an opportunity to learn about the history of this mini statley home.We would strongley recommend avisit on your tour of Cornwall

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob551652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My wife and I were transported back to the 18th century in this delightful, ancient, rambling house and grounds. Breakfast in the enormous dining room being stared at by the ancestors in their portraits on the walls is an experience worth the visit alone. Unfortunately we stayed for only 2 days, but we shall return . . .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Bosvathick is a beautiful old country house buried deep within the lanes of Cornwall. The house has been in the owners' family for centuries, so the pictures on the walls really are of the ancestors. The welcome is warm and friendly and the breakfasts delicious. The only challenge is the distance to the bathroom if you stay in the main, Georgian part of the house but don't worry - a torch is provided. This small disadvantage is more than outweighed by the opportunity to stay in such a historic house, and the warmth and friendliness of the owners.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsBolster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
0.0 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fig Tree House
Fig Tree House
#1 of 6 in Penryn
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosvathick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosvathick House

Property: Bosvathick House
Address: Constantine, Falmouth, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bosvathick House is the family home of Stephen and Kate Tyrrell, a Grade II listed Georgian house, with substantial Victorian addition, which Kate’s family built in 1760. This luxury Cornish B&B accommodation is close to the south Cornish coast in an area of outstanding natural beauty, within very easy reach of numerous creeks, estuaries and beaches.Hidden in the heart of the countryside, and with a long drive, it’s wonderfully quiet. It is surrounded by 10 acres of garden, including its own lake, home to several breeding pairs of duck. Guests are very welcome to roam through the gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bosvathick House Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing