We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camelot Guest House
Ranked #5 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Camelot Guest House for 6nights for our first visit to Falmouth, we were given a warm welcome on arrival and were made to feel at home. We were shown to our room by Mark who was very welcoming and offered us refreshments and information on the area. Our room looked out over their private garden and was very quiet and tranquil with the train passing. The en-suite was only small but did the purpose and everything was clean and comfortable. Our first meeting with Simon was at breakfast time, Simon cooked us a breakfast fit for royalty! Fruit and cereals to begin with then a full cooked breakfast if chosen and toast to follow, just excellent. The only down side was the full breakfast was just to nice not to have everyday hence the diet on Monday ☺️ Mark and Simon were easy going and fun to be around and they even went out of their way to show us the local pub. A perfect holiday made perfect by Mark and Simon. Couldn't recommend it enough

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slangfordcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed for three nights, largely attracted by the Tripadvisor reviews. On the whole a pleasant experience although not entirely so. The house is ideally placed, approximately halfway between the sea and the High Street, on a steepish but tolerable hill, just round the corner from the railway station. We were given a friendly welcome and the friendliness continues throughout our stay. The breakfast was excellent, my wife tells me the vegetarian sausages were very good indeed. All in all, the house was very clean and in a good state of repair. The bed was reasonably comfortable and copious pillows and cushions were available.
However, I cannot give five stars, mainly because of the small size of the bedroom, verging on the claustrophobic and reaching it in the microscopic en suite, where a largish person such as me has to contort himself to get in and out.
There were a few other niggles - broken toilet flush, noisy road outside (I realise this is unchangeable), awkward to watch TV (due to size and shape of room), PG Tips supplied in bedroom (given the standard of the other catering, surely a better teabag is called for).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdcharris, Owner at Camelot Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Notrik,

Thank you for your comments which I would like to address for you and other readers.

We're pleased that our friendly welcome and great food were too your satisfaction and are saddened to see that you thought the room too small for you. We had other rooms available during your stay and would have happily moved you to a larger one if you had mentioned your concern. The room is not one of our largest but can't be described as claustrophobic and in fact, is one of our most popular and guests often request it. The shower room again is not large but the use of the word 'microscopic' is too much. There is enough room to move, to use the shower and to get in and out of it easily. Again, if you had mentioned this during your stay we would have moved you to another room.

Thank you for letting us know about the plumbing which will be fixed immediately.

PG Tips has approximately 24% market share and we are happy to provide one of the UK's most popular teas to our guests. We have lots of other teas and coffees available and again, had you mentioned it we would have been happy to provide them in your room.

Kind regards

Simon and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We picked Camelot Guest House at random and were delighted with our choice. Simon and Mark were welcoming and couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable. Our rooms were quite individual and spotlessly clean. Camelot was our last stay after fourteen days walking on The South West Coast Path from Padstow and was the only B & B where we were asked if we would like any washing doing. Unfortunately we didn't take them up on the offer as we were returning home the following day but, nevertheless the offer was made, just wish some of our earlier B & Bs had offered.
We arrived in Falmouth around lunchtime and having found Camelot we dropped off our rucksacks. We had been intending having a cream tea for some days but hadn't managed to find somewhere at the right time as we walked. Simon told us where to go in Falmouth and, after completing our section of the walk around Pendennis Point eventually we had our cream tea. Back at Camelot and after another cup of tea (we could have had sherry!) Simon gave us lots of advice as to where to eat in Falmouth at night.
The following morning we enjoyed a good breakfast with Mark front of house and Simon in the kitchen doing the cooking. They really work well together and deserve all the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We would all definitely stay at Camelot again and can thoroughly recommend this excellent guest house.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just returned from a 2-night stay at the Camelot Guest House, had a fantastic weekend Mark and Simon were perfect hosts (although Mark needs to work on his weather forecasting - it will clear up and be dry later, yeah right!!!) The rain definitely didn't detract from the stay - breakfast was superb (especially the local bought sausages) room was spotless and bed extremely comfortable.
Would highly recommend, 5-10 minute walk to the main town centre, although nearer 15-20 minute stagger back from The Chain Locker (amazing pub right on the harbour) and The Quayside Inn, both very good for food and real ales.........
Will definitely be returning, hopefully when the sun is out!! Thanks for a great stay!!

Room Tip: We were in Room 2, overlooking the railway line but never heard a train once!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adj250770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

just come back from a lovely weekend at this guest house mark and simon were great hosts would recommend this guest house excellent room and lovely breakfast not far from the town with lovely bars and restaurants

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank brown459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed for only two nights but wished we'd had a week! The house is spotless, breakfast is very good, the welcome was very friendly. The rooms are tastefully decorated and there is sufficient parking either on the drive or on the road immediately in front of the house. The plans to extend some of the rooms (to make the bathrooms bigger) will make this a faultless place to stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 8 is the most expensive but well worth the money in my view. (There is no view as it is at grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Really enjoyed the stay, the rooms were quiet and very comfortable, Mark and Simon were incredibly good hosts and very helpful. We were working in the area and level of service and comfort made for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#7 of 24 in Falmouth
433 reviews
1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chelsea House
Chelsea House
#2 of 82 in Falmouth
154 reviews
0 mi away
Telford Guest House
Telford Guest House
#7 of 82 in Falmouth
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Guest House

Address: 5 Avenue Road, Falmouth TR11 4AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: £73 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camelot Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camelot offers comfortable, homely accommodation with a high standard of decor. All bedrooms are en-suite and are equipped with colour TV and complimentary tea/coffee facilities. We serve full English or Continental breakfast. Free WIFI available throughout. Camelot is situated within easy walking distance to all amenities. The town centre and fascinating harbour together with the National Maritime Museum are within 5 min walk. Camelot is close to all the local lovely beaches allowing you to relax, swim or explore rock pools or, for the more energetic, diving and wind-surfing; also unforgettable coastal walks, sub-tropical gardens and Pendennis Castle on the headland, from which there are splendid views for miles around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Camelot Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Guest House Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing