We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely view over the harbour”

Chainlocker & Shipwrights
Ranked #65 of 226 Restaurants in Falmouth
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely view over the harbour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We only stopped by for a few drinks on our stay in Falmouth, and from the outside the pub had great views across the harbour.

The bar staff were without exception really friendly, chatty and made you feel welcome, and although we sat outside, the pub itself appeared to have plenty of ambience. The prices were more reasonable than I expected too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny_vegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    97
    27
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great views and the beer's good too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Good selection of real ales, mostly local ones. Excellent views over the harbour and plenty of tables. No negatives.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank VickyA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The way not to run a pub”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I arrived, with my partner at about 7pm on Saturday evening, I ordered a pint of Sharps special bitter, which was the only thing in the pub that was any good. the girl behind the bar told me the price and i handed over a ten pound note, she went to the till and came back with change of a fiver. I explained to her that i gave her a ten pound note as i only had ten pound notes on me. She did give me the right change but i was made to feel as if i got the benefit of the doubt.
We joined my partners daughter and her partner. We then looked around for a table and they were all reserved. I have been in this pub many times before and was told that you couldn't reserve a table because it was a pub that sold food and not a restaurant. We did eventually find a table and sat down to have a look at the menu. Having made our decision we ordered at the bar. Our starters arrived, then the mains turned up!! i thought the name starter was a good clue that they should be brought to the table first, then eaten, before the mains turned up.
That was not how the inept staff of this place do it, I must have ordered a fat steak chips and 2 eggs. I had actually ordered a gammon steak, but it had a lot of fat on it. The food apart from the steak wasn't too bad, but this is a pub and every time i tried to eat some of my meal i was pushed from behind by a group of guys drinking at the bar. If your going to serve food in a pub where you can reserve a table you should have a separate area to eat in, and not get pushed and shoved while your trying to eat!! The manager did give us a round of drinks as an apology, but it was not much compensation for a unpleasant evening. The Chain locker is a pub not a restaurant, so if your after something to eat go to a restaurant, I almost forgot, the only wine they had left was the most expensive, surprise surprise !! To sum up, the food is average, the beer is quite good, the staff let the place down, with there lack of intelligence and who cares attitude. The manager is not a bad guy, i think he is let down by his staff and the set up in the bar, it is not fit for purpose.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nigel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Good location down by the harbour with extensive outside eating/drinking area but more limited space inside. Service quick and efficient and value for money although somewhat limited menu and fairly basic presentation although beer choices a bit more extensive!
This place thrives on its location right down by the harbour so maybe does not have to make too much effort to fill the place as it will always have a clientele. I am sure there are other eating establishments in the area offering better service, choice and value but as they say it is all about "location, location, location!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely pub with good view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We went here in June with a friend at lunch time and had crab sandwiches which were much better than many restaurants. Sitting outside was a delight overlooking Falmouth harbour and it was a very good experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chainlocker & Shipwrights also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Chainlocker & Shipwrights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing