We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best pub in Falmouth ”
Review of Chain Locker

Chain Locker
Ranked #64 of 248 Restaurants in Falmouth
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Following a sensitive yet spectacular restoration the Chain Locker, on Falmouth’s historic quayside will reopen in early September 2017. The newly renovated interiors will combine stylish and contemporary dining with the original and distinctive charm of the 16th century inn believed to be one of Falmouth’s oldest buildings. The first floor will provide unrivalled waterside views of the bustling key and spectacular natural beauty of Carrick Roads with two fantastic new balconies perfect for dining alfresco. On the ground floor the original bar has been refreshed and brought back to its former glory retaining the ambience that locals and visitors love. Our new menus combine pub classics with enticing specials making the most of the freshest seasonal ingredients. Behind the bar you will find locally brewed beers, west country ciders, fine wines by the glass, classic cocktails and barista coffees. Manager Nathan Boundy and the team look forward to welcoming you!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First visit since the refurb. I was worried that the essence of the place would be lost. So pleased I was wrong. Still a great drinking hole in town! My only criticism is the tables outside need to be a bit more slip resistant. They are on a slope and my first beer nearly slid off the table. Will be back soon.

Thank LifeboatAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Chain Locker, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for this review. We are pleased you enjoyed your revisit to us. We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently spent a few days in Cornwall, Falmouth to be exact.
The Chain Locker was a great find.
On more than one occasion, we sat on the balcony overlooking the harbour

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Chain Locker, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Geoff for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed Falmouth and your visit to us and hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Have been visiting the Chain Locker for years and have never been disappointed - even before the lovely new refurbishment. They have really opened up the place, put in more outside seating, and have given the interior a facelift. Went in yesterday for dinner and the service was excellent. I had the halloumi burger which came stuffed with a massive portobello mushroom and chargrilled red pepper - vegetarians will know how much this matters! Fries were good too! Not sure about vegan options...
Boyfriend and friends had the cheese burger which he said was good too. No complaints! To drink, we necked a few pints of Porthleven which is a Skinner’s ale. Overall a really nice vibe and good for a whole host of occasions!

Thank hannahc6951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Chain Locker, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review,we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Delicious food, exceeded my expectation, all the family were impressed and enjoyed the whole experience and ate every single mouthful. Great and well worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Chain Locker, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your Fathers day treat and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

In Falmouth for a week so this was meeting point at 6.30 on 3 occasions. Beer good, staff friendly but......
Bar is chaotic. One occasion there were so many empty glasses on the bar, having been brought in from outside, the staff had a small corner to serve customers, buy glass crates, makes for efficient clearing (from experience). Another occasion there was only one member of staff so 35 mins to get a drink. We bought 2 each so we didn’t have to queue again
It’s a great location but they just need more staff!!

3  Thank sh2295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chain Locker also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
Truro, Truro District
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Perranarworthal, Truro District
 
St Austell, Cornwall
Frogpool, Truro District
 

Been to Chain Locker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing