We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Prince of Wales

Prince of Wales
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prince of Wales
Ranked #37 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Llanidloes, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Hubby and I booked into The Prince of Wales as we were dropping our daughter off for University, and it's too far for us to travel there and back to Wales in a day. I am so glad we stayed here. The room was huge, and very clean. We had a king sized bed which was very comfortable. We ate there the night we stayed, and the food was very good, and reasonably priced
You can have breakfast served in your room, which we went for, and as we are both veggie, we went for the continental breakfast. Very generous, with heaps of fresh fruit. I am sure that if we had asked for something else, it would not have been a problem. Some earlier reviews on here have mentioned noise, but our room was fitted with secondary glazing, and we did not hear a thing. Yes, you could spend more and stay in a hotel, but I would not bother. This place has all you need, and is friendly and relaxed, I am already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    16
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

friendly welcoming atmosphere good old traditional pub. service a+++ rooms clean and spacious. location ideal owners pleasant to chat to would recommend to all my friends
well definitely return for wknd break next year

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddydoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Great hosts, great food, big room which was very clean. The only downside is that this is located in a central location which means you do get a bit of noise which woke us up but the bed was so comfy we fell back to sleep almost straight away.
Breakfast is worth a mention as it is fantastic and served in the room was an added bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We needed a hotel in Falmouth as we were dropping No 1 son off at Falmouth Uni and, as it was also our wedding anniversary, we decided to make the most of our Saturday night in Falmouth. Accommodation in Falmouth is now seriously expensive so I was delighted when I spoke to Jane and discovered that they had had a last minute cancellation. The room was huge, spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. The shower was excellent and the cooked breakfast (which we had at the table in our room which overlooked the pier) was superb. Dave and Jane were very welcoming and helpful (both on the phone and whilst we were there) and we would definitely recommend the Prince of Wales to anyone looking for modestly priced accommodation (we paid £60 for bed and breakfast for a room with a Queen sized bed which also had an additional single). Car parking was to be found 5 minutes away in Town Quarry car park (which does have RINGO) which cost £5.50 for 24hrs from Saturday afternoon onwards. The only real downside was that we were kept awake by the flags outside the pub flogging all night due to the onset of a storm, which wouldn't normally be a problem. The only suggestion would be to secondly glaze the window at the front to cut down noise (including late night revellers walking through the town). Overall though, we thought that it was a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTrottingBrit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This B&B is of a good Central location opposite the pier! My family found this accommodation very homely. We had a spacious room with comfy beds and a strong shower! Friendly, helpful owners! We parked in a residential area 15 mins walk away near the train station to avoid paying for parking in Falmouth. Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tallulah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westonzoyland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We where a bit apprehensive at first in booking a room in a pub as we usually stay in hotels. BUT this was a fantastic find in the middle of Falmouth.
The hosts, Dave and Julie, are very friendly as are the rest of the family :)
Nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast was exceptional value for money. Hubbie had full english, whereas I ate continental with lots of coffee!
The ensuite room was HUGE, with views out to the Prince of Wales Pier and beyond.
The room could do with a bedside table (to put your specs) and maybe a lamp or a switch near to the bed to turn of the light.....but it didn't detract from our overall experience.
The music in the pub wasn't too loud in the room but if you did want to hear more...open the window!
Can't wait for our next visit :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago as was down in Falmouth to go to an event in Events Square. Had been looking at hotels in the town only to see prices were £80 + for one night quite far out from the town centre. I found quite by accident Prince of Wales. Only £50 for the night so I booked.

What a great little find! Slap bang in the middle of the town. Seriously, a fantastic location! Really friendly owner. Massive rooms spotlessly clean. Ok so it's rooms above a pub, you're not going to get The Ritz. It's a little out-dated but who cares, the place is still spotless, and the room is massive.

If an early night is what you're looking for, perhaps this isn't the place for you as they have live music playing quite a bit from what we could see. On the evening we stayed there was a live band playing til late but we loved it, we were able to come in from our night out, sit in the bar and soak up the atmosphere of a live band playing to a packed audience.

Will definitely be staying here next time we visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#12 of 23 in Falmouth
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 23 in Falmouth
402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Headlands
Headlands
#11 of 82 in Falmouth
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#31 of 82 in Falmouth
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyonesse Guest House
Lyonesse Guest House
#10 of 82 in Falmouth
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seaview Inn
Seaview Inn
#16 of 82 in Falmouth
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Property: Prince of Wales
Address: 4 Market Strand, Falmouth TR11 3DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince of Wales 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing