We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great little cinema” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenix Cinema

Phoenix Cinema
Ranked #1 of 7 Fun & Games in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Phoenix is an award winning independently operated multi-screen cinema on the east coast of Cornwall in the historic town of Falmouth. It is housed within a beautiful Nineteenth Century former "Drill Hall" building.Phoenix contains five cinema screens playing mainstream, classic and art-house releases with three auditoria offering luxury seating with armchairs, sofas, side tables and full waiter service. The two main larger auditoria provide traditional theatre-style cinema seating with stadium layouts and full digital sound and picture.The cinema, as you'd expect, also has a long contemporary confectionery and popcorn counter, but it also houses a stylish bar and restaurant on the first floor with chef-prepared meals, light cinema-snacks or freshly ground coffee and pots of tea. In 2009, the year that Phoenix opened, it won the prestigious UK Independent Cinema Of The Year award. Phoenix is part of the Merlin Cinemas group
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great little cinema”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Love this cinema, in some of the screens you can take drinks and have food brought in by the staff. If you use it often think about getting a cinema card which gives good reductions on tickets.
Kids parties also great. Staff very obliging.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    43
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Cinema, in an old church in central Falmouth.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Good selection of films , food and drinks brought to your seats.
Centrally located in the middle of town, easy to get to and near the Farmer's market and all the best charity shops.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NatKat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place. A credit to Falmouth.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I LOVE this little cinema. We have been (embarrassingly) hundreds of times and have never been let down. The food is great, freshly prepared fare. Staff have ALWAYS been very friendly and the chairs/sofas extremely comfortable. I am astounded with the below review! 'dated'? Really?! Would people really be happier with a crude, impersonal multiplex?
My parents have now been converted too with the live showing of theatre/dance.Love it :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzette43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dated cinema, over priced, movie quality as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The screens are good (as expected), very overpriced for popcorn and cinema ticket (about £14) each, staff are ok, seating is allocated.
Outdated and needs some good competition!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank gapyahher192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerlinCinemas, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix Cinema, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thanks for the feedback. We do appreciate it.

I am totally puzzled as to why your ticket and popcorn could have come to £14, however. We have no combination at all that can come to anywhere NEAR that price. In fact, at our venue you can have a chef prepared main course from our restaurant AND a cinema ticket for around £12 or less (substantially less if you have our Movie Magic Cards).

I am also disappointed that you found us "dated". We must have been doing something very wrong on the day of your visit as we have only been open for four years - far too soon to be considered "dated". As you should see from Trip Advisor, we normally get great feedback about our luxury seating, food offers, waiter service, film quality and the standard of the surroundings. In fac,t since we have been open we have won the UK "Independent Cinema Of the Year" award.

Granted, we're not like those horrid multiplex film factories, but we never pretend to be. I am really sorry that we weren't to your liking. I do hope you'll have a better experience with us next time 'round. We shall double our efforts!

Many thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic Movie Venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is the way to see a movie! We recently attended a film and purchased their meal-and-a-movie deal. The discount was nice, but the food was surprisingly good. We had a burger and a pasta dish and they were both very well made and tasty! i was expecting something out of a box, edible, but nothing special. I was pleasantly surprised by the handmade quality of the dinners. The theatre itself is warm and modern, and the sofa seating that is available is wonderful. Nothing like the feeling of watching a movie in such comfort! This was my first time in the Phoenix Falmouth Cinema, but it will certainly not be my last!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerlinCinemas, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix Cinema, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments! It will be an honour to welcome you back again in the future! Yes, you have discovered one of the things we're very proud of - our food? t is ALL chef prepared and cooked to order with locally sourced produce. I really hope you found it good value to go along with your movie.

We aim to try and be different to most other cinemas and to all other multiplexes and offer that "personal touch" rather than merely maximising profits. We really hope we can continue this service for years to come and stop any faceless multiplexes coming to Cornwall!

Many thanks again, and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phoenix Cinema also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
Redruth, Cornwall
 
Helston, Cornwall
 

Been to Phoenix Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing