We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best views in Cornwall”
Review of Poltair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Poltair
Ranked #21 of 83 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best views in Cornwall”
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We live in Cornwall and we like to do as much touring of the county as possible - so we have stayed in a lot of B and Bs and hotels. We have just returned from a one-night stay at Poltair and we can definitely recommend it. The house is beautiful, and it is on a very quiet street. It's only a 2-minute walk to the beach and a 5-10 minute walk to the train station and town centre. We stayed in the Beachcomber room, which is right at the top of the house. It is a big room with a fantastic conservatory and balcony, with an amazing sea view round to Pendennis Castle. We also liked the fact that the room had a fridge. The owner, Malcolm, is very friendly, and breakfast was lovely. We were the only guests, so he let us get up a bit later for breakfast, which was good!

If you are looking for a good pub in Falmouth, we'd recommend the Front - it does lots of local ales and ciders, and if it's sunny you can sit outside with a view of the harbour. They don't do food but you can take in your own - there's a fish and chip shop nearby.

We plan to return to Poltair in the summer (if it's not already booked up!).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lady_of_rohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    20
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
85
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Stayed in a double room with my mother, one double bed and one single bed which were very comfortable which makes a change when not sleeping in your own bed. Well furnished and even a mini fridge in the room. Decent sized shower room. Guest house owner, Mlacolm, very welcoming and knowlegeable. Lovely touch were homemade cakes in the afternoon! Very close to sea front and castle.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Black-Bessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiverpoolErnie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

On arrival we were warmly welcomed and had help to carry cases to our ground floor room. The room was delightful with very comfortable beds, beautifully soft pillowsand two armchairs. The room and ensuite bathroom were spacious and spotlessly clean and we were impressed with the little extra touches. It was nice to have a fridge with fresh milk provided and a good supply of tea and coffee. From the room we looked onto the front garden and were just able to view the sea between buildings.
There was plenty of choice on the breakfast menu and during our stay we sampled both cooked and continental breakfasts. Both were delicious and plentiful and included a variety of fruit and also home-made bread and jams. At breakfast staff were friendly and obliging and we were always offered more toast. We felt that nothing was too much trouble.
It was lovely to be able to walk to the seafront in two minutes and also to easily reach the town and harbour on foot.
We're already looking forward to visiting Poltair again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiverpoolErnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edam
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Very comfortable stay!...Some rooms offer a beautiful ocean view. The scrambled eggs with salmon is a must! in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goudriaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Comfortable and well equipped. Always a warm welcome and Malcolm and Anne think of all the little details.
We're regular visitors and will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annedee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stayed here during a driving tour of Devon and Cornwall and my title comes from the lovely view from our room. My husband said that it reminded him of the view from the room we stayed in during our honeymoon in Italy. The room was lovely, comfortable and had a lovely en suite bathroom. The TV had a good range of channels and the tea and coffee making facilities were much appreciated. On our arrival, the proprietor could not have been more welcoming and she gave us a pint of milk for tea and coffee as well as a large bottle of water - there was a small fridge in the room. The breakfasts were delicious and staff were attentive and efficient. There seemed to be quite a few returning customers and I hope I will be one of them in a few years. Lovely place, beautiful garden, smoking area available for smokers and a pretty lounge for internet or just reading if guests didn't want to return to their room straight away. First class place - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corkdee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Poltair is a lovely place to stay. Our room was spacious with a good tv and dvd player. I liked the fact that you had a mini fridge in our room which was stocked with fresh milk when we needed it, this was a good touch and an improved on those tiny cartons of milk you usually get for tea and coffee. Breakfast is great, again with a nice added touch of daily specials. There were also maps provided to show the location of local restaurants, the town and harbour are a short walk away. These little touches, for me, make it go from very good to excellent.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claretandbluerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
1,134 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 24 in Falmouth
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#12 of 24 in Falmouth
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Chelsea House
Chelsea House
#2 of 83 in Falmouth
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poltair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poltair

Property: Poltair
Address: Emslie Road, Falmouth TR11 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Poltair 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Poltair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poltair Hotel Falmouth
Poltair Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing