We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always, excellent!”
Review of Poltair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Poltair
Ranked #20 of 80 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“As always, excellent!”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I have reviewed the Poltair before; it is excellent in all respects and this hasn't changed. Comfortable room with everything you need, superb breakfast, convenient location. A pity I couldn't get the wi-fi to work, but it is as likely to be a problem with the laptop as anything else. It was nice to see there is a new hotel cat: Oscar (still a little shy).

Room Tip: Higher rooms at the front have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
84
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chelmsford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

we went back for 3 nights at the end of october
we had a fantastic room with balcony overlooking the sea this time
really lovely and very friendly

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajmcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I stayed at the Poltair Hotel from 16 Oct - 21 Oct 2011. Anne and Malcolm are wonderful hosts that provide exceptional personalized service. I stayed in the Beachcomber Room at the top of the hotel and loved the views from the sitting area and balcony. The bed was soft, comfortable and very cozy. I only had the cold selections for breakfast as I got hooked on Anne's homemade meusli the first morning and couldn't pass it up afterwards! The fresh fruit selection for breakfast was wonderful, as well. I felt ready for my day out and about Falmouth after a hearty and healthy breakfast. I requested skimmed milk and Malcom made sure there was a jug of it at my table each morning. Malcolm was available and picked me up and dropped me off from the Falmouth Docks station and kindly assisted me with my very heavy bag up to the room. This kind of personalized service was greatly appreciated! As I was there in October the quiet of the area at night was calming and soothing after a busy week in London. The location is excellent for fitness walks along the coastal paths and for a quick 10 minute trip downhill into Falmouth Town. For some reason my laptop couldn't connect to the free WiFi but the guest computer on the main floor was always available. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: The Beachcomber is a great room at the top of the hotel with wonderful sea views. I was so tickled t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The Poltair is a medium-sized guest house in Falmouth. There are lots of nice touches, such as fresh milk and bottled water in the bedroom fridge, home made cake in the hall with an invitation to Help Yourself, a computer for guests' use in the cosy porch/conservatory where the house cat keeps an eye on things (but refuses to give IT advice..!). Poltair breakfasts have apparently won several awards and do offer a big choice, but I couldn't see beyond the delicious scrambled eggs with smoked salmon which I had every day. Chef Joanne went to a lot of trouble to check out public transport to The Eden Project (which is do-able, with a bit of pre-planning to co-ordinate local buses with local trains etc), even phoning her prospective father-in-law for advice! My one little grumble relates to the fact that Poltair does not accept either debit or credit cards. Which of us carries large sums of money around with us these days, or even a cheque book ? Apart from that little hitch, which luckily came to light the day before departure, everything was just fine.

Room Tip: The view from the top floor room, which has a balcony, is lovely. My room overlooked the back but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This is the 3rd time I've stayed at Poltair and it won't be my last. They have lovely, personalised service and the room was beautifully appointed - not to mention the bed was dreamily comfortable. I thoroughly recommend this B&B and look forward to going back again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top fromt of the house has balcony's with lovely views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathpay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I stayed 2 nights with my parents in this lovely B&B & we enjoyed the small gestures that made it a lovely & relaxing stay. The room was a good size with all the little touches that made you feel welcome, including making sure that I had soy milk in the room's fridge, as well as a jug at our breakfast table every morning. There was also homemade cakes left out in the foyer for everyone both afternoons that we were there! The breakfasts were great, especially the homemade breads & jams, while the host & hostess were always happy to help.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We spent four nights at Poltair in the Beachcomber room (fantastic) . The attention to detail was first class much more than you would expect to find in any B&B . From the bathrobes and silppers, fridge, fresh milk and mineral water in the rooms to the quality of choice for breakfast, fresh strawberries,pineapple, homemade preserves and bread. Locally sourced produced for the cooked breakfast and the surprise extra on offer each morning freshly cooked - beautiful. And one more surprise a tray of homemade in the hall every afternoom to enjoy. With the attention to detail and your courteous staff you deserve all the praise you get. Thanks jim & ros

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrv13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red House
The Red House
#14 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westcott
The Westcott
#7 of 80 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#30 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chelsea House
Chelsea House
#5 of 80 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poltair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poltair

Property: Poltair
Address: Emslie Road, Falmouth TR11 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Poltair 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Poltair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poltair Hotel Falmouth
Poltair Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing