We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Poltair” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poltair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Poltair
Ranked #25 of 81 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Dorset
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Poltair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2008

We stayed at the Poltair as part of an organised coach trip. Throughout our five day stay, we were impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms, the quality of the "home style" food and the friendliness of the staff. Little extras can make a big difference, and were were delighted to find fresh milk in the fridge in our room, and the provision of a computer for the use of guests- all this and great coffee for breakfast. Well done Poltair.

  • Liked — High standard of cleanliness
  • Disliked — No drawbacks
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GreenfingersDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    17
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
81
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2008

We got married in Cornwall this summer and decided to have a holiday in Cornwall before and after the actual wedding. We found the Poltair by accident and I'm glad we did! It was the longest place we stayed (7 nights) and we loved it. Gorgeous room (very clean), with a shared balcony and a view of the sea. Lovely garden (we love gardening so we particularly like that!), superb service (they're not kidding, nothing is too much trouble) and fantastic breakfasts (best fried bread I've ever had!). On our penultimate day, we came back to the room and found an evelope. It was a wedding card from the staff wishing us all the best!

Small point - my partner and I are gay. We felt very comfortable and the staff were lovely. You should never expect to be treated differently or worse, face homophobia, but the sad truth is that it does sometimes happen. But the owners of this great little hotel, obviously don't care about things like that and quite rightly so!

  • Liked — size of rooms and facilities
  • Disliked — uncomfortable bed
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank retrogooseuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday-junkies, Owners at Poltair, responded to this review, 26 November 2008
Dear Trip Advisor readers
Many thanks to retrogooseuk & everyone else for taking the time & trouble to write reviews for Poltair.
May we make 2 points.
1. Everyone is welcome here. Our only request is that our guests should be nice people (which they invariably are).
2. Our beds are usually very popular. They are all fairly new & we do have a prgramme for turning mattresses regularly. We were quite busy in August & probably missed one or two. We will try harder!
So remember if you are nice people you are most welcome at Poltair.

Happy travelling
Anne & Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2008

Poltair’s tag line is “Where nothing is too much trouble …” and that just about says it all. Politair is a near perfect package, comprising a pretty building, lovely garden, good location, comfortable and scrupulously clean rooms, and welcoming communal areas all wrapped in superb friendly service. Add in the very reasonable price and this is a real winner. For more info, the guest house’s own website http://www.poltair.co.uk/ is accurate and worth a look.

ACCOMMODATION – Poltair is an eleven bedroom guesthouse with an impressive and well landscaped aspect. It is situated in a quiet residential road approximately 100 yards from the promenade, a short walk to the beaches and only 10 mins to the town centre. All the rooms are well equipped with hairdryer, fridge, tea & coffee and digital TV. Some have dvd players, some sea views and balconies, and if you are at the front on the first or second floor it is a joy to open the curtains or walk out onto the balcony and see the sea. The place is a wireless hotspot and so free broadband is available throughout, and if you don’t have a laptop, then there is even a computer for use by the guests in the sun lounge.

BREAKFAST – Each room has a pre-allocated table for breakfast. Cereal, fruit juice, fruit and yoghurt was available to serve yourself prior to the main event. A choice of full English, continental and most variations between the two is available together with tea, coffee and toast. The food was well cooked, good quality and in more than sufficient quantities. All in all, a great start to the day.

Due to work commitments and a long drive we couldn’t arrive until at least 23:30 and were concerned a bout check in and holding the room – no problem said Malcolm, all sorted - and it was. When we arrived the bedroom lights were on, there was fresh milk and a bottle of water in the fridge, chocolates on the pillow with a welcome note. Very impressive, as was the room.
We were in Falmouth to meet our daughter off a cruise ship and wondered if it was possible for her to join us for breakfast if she docked early – again no problem.
In fact the answer always seemed to be no problem.
This is a well run operation that does all the important things excellently and most of the minor ones to a very high standard. We loved it and will definitely go back.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mgtfdjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2008

Our stay at 'Poltair' was extremely pleasant.
Malcolm & Anne were really hospitable and very accommodating.
The rooms were very comfortable and clean with fresh milk in the fridge & wi-fi in the rooms. We had one room upgraded through the kindness of our hosts.
The staff were very polite and professional, with nothing too much trouble and the breakfasts were excellent (full marks to whoever the cook was).
We would definitely recommend a stay at this lovely B&B and we will be returning in the future. Oh yes, and Mitzy the cat is soo cute & friendly. Altogether a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank munkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

Stayed in the hotel for 4 nights in July. The hotel is ideally situated in a quiet location 2 minutes from the sea front and 10 minutes from the town. We had a top floor room which had fantastic sea views which were enjoyed from the balcony. Everything in the hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome. If we return to visit to Falmouth, will definately stay again at the Poltair as it offers excellent value for money in comparison to the other hotels available in the area.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Glasgow1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2008

Just returned from a week in Falmouth, the Poltair is a really nice, clean B&B with friendly staff.
When we arrived we were lucky enough to get a free upgrade, the room was spacious with digital television and a beautiful view of the gardens and the sea.
The breakfast was superb and featured a daily special.
I would certainly reccommend poltair to anyone staying in Falmouth and i know i will be returning.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Not a lot.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gamer_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

This BnB was just great. So nicely done, well looked after, clean and super friendly. They have just thought of all the small touches in the rooms. Breakfast was superb, staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. Nice location with an easy 10 minute stroll down the hill to town. Parking was easy and the street is nice and quiet just one back from the main drag.

We will certainly stay here again- perhaps the upstairs rooms with the breathtaking sea views next time. This place is a must to stay in!

  • Liked — Friendly service and spotless cleanliness and oh the great breakie!
  • Disliked — ummm......nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thetravelling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red House
The Red House
#14 of 81 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camelot Guest House
Camelot Guest House
#4 of 81 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chelsea House
Chelsea House
#6 of 81 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#27 of 81 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poltair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poltair

Property: Poltair
Address: Emslie Road, Falmouth TR11 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Poltair 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Poltair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poltair Hotel Falmouth
Poltair Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing