We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B better than a hotel!”
Review of Poltair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Poltair
Ranked #22 of 83 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Absolutely lovely B&B, everything clean & tidy, Malcolm is very friendly & helpful. Location is great as only 10 minute walk to town centre & close to seaside. Breakfast was good, lots of choice & fresh food. Better then most hostels which charge more for facility which we never use. Rooms had tea/coffee & biscuits & were cleaned daily. All staff were very friendly & professional. Great stay had & would definately recommend! Falmouth is a great base for driving access around cornwall & has good restaurants & shops.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Poltair
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2009

Right from the first time I emailed the owners requesting prices and availability, I recieved a quick and polite response. As they don't take credit cards, we were able to book a room for 3 nights on trust - and pay on departure - trust like this something you don't hear of in today's society and it made me feel 100% comfortable about staying there. We arrived using the clear diretions given and the guest house was exactly as described. Lovely room, clean, with all aminities, lovely shower room etc with lots of home from home little touches such as fresh milk in the fridge, a bottle of water etc Our room had a wonderful balcony overlooking the sea where we could watch all the boats! Lovely and quiet, easy reach of the town centre and plenty of parking. Owners were wonderful and the breakfasts included in the price range from a full english to scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Would definately reccommend this Guest House to anyone wanting to stay in Falmouth!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HippoEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We had a lovely room at the front of the house and the street is very quiet. A short walk to the main entertainment and dining street through a neighborhood of old, pretty houses. Nice breakfast and friendly staff (the owners were on their own vacation in the US, but Joanne was great!) One thing of note is that the Poltair had a top sheet as well as a duvet cover on the bed. This was much appreciated by us as a duvet is too hot and heavy for us to sleep under, and at every other guest house on the trip, we had to remove the inner blanket from the duvet and sleep with the empty cover.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

I've just returned from a stay at the Poltair and I really would recommend it. The owners were pleasant and friendly as were the staff. The room was clean and nicely decorated with plenty of tea and coffee and there was fresh milk in the room (not those awful little pots of UHT milk). There was Wi-Fi in all the rooms and a TV as well. Breakfasts were delicious and and the dining room very bright and airy. I found the pricing very reasonable as I stayed a week.
It is also fantastically situated just a 15-20 minute walk from Falmouth town centre and literally a minute's walk from the sea and 5 minutes from the beach. Parking is also easy.
I travelled with my pet rabbit and they were great about having him to stay too. I really enjoyed my stay and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DancingRhinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Warm welcoming and everything you could expect from a small establishment. The room was small but we booked late so no complaints. It was clean and provided everything you needed in a hotel room, nothing was too much trouble for Malcolm who was very customer focused. The breakfasts were excellent value for money, and the staff that were on duty were always very friendly and had a superb attitude. Would recommend to others, and also take the opportunity to thank all involved in making our stay a good one.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regency6231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Poltair in June 2009 and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The whole place is spotlessly clean and the decor is kept to a high standard. Our room was on the top floor with a lovely sunny balcony with marvellous views overlooking the bay and we would recommend the top floor rooms for that very reason. Our room was delightful with tea making facilities, hairdryer, flat screen TV and a very useful fridge - it certainly deserved its 4* rating. Breakfast was equally delightful with a good choice ranging from fresh strawberries, smoked salmon and kippers to the full English. We particularly liked the cafetierres of coffee and large pots of tea. The location was spot-on, 2 minutes walk to the sea and 15 minutes walk to the town centre. Parking was on the road but it was very quiet and there was plenty of room, so no problem at all. Malcolm, the owner, was very obliging and nothing was too much trouble and we could come and go as we pleased which was very convenient. There were nice little touches such as chocolates on the pillow and sweeties and pens in reception for guests to take. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We have just returned from Falmouth. We spent 5 nights at The Poltair B and B. We had a lovely time. Our room was called Sandpiper. It was on the top floor with a small balcony overloking the sea. We also had a four poster bed and the room was tastefully furnished and very comfortable. Ann and Malcome run this delightful place with deceptive ease. The rooms are spotless, the staff friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are substantial ranginging from full English, to scrambled egg with smoked salmon, to pancakes with maple syrup. Very yummy and all cooked fresh to order. We checked out the other rooms and they are all of an excellent standard, some bigger then others for those with families. We will be staying there again and again if and when we are lucky enough to return to Falmouth.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hydeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 24 in Falmouth
422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lugo Rock
Lugo Rock
#16 of 83 in Falmouth
266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaview Inn
Seaview Inn
#17 of 83 in Falmouth
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Braemar Guest House
Braemar Guest House
#14 of 83 in Falmouth
148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#31 of 83 in Falmouth
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelot Guest House
Camelot Guest House
#5 of 83 in Falmouth
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poltair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poltair

Address: Emslie Road, Falmouth TR11 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: £62 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poltair 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Poltair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poltair Hotel Falmouth
Poltair Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing