We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend the Lerryn. Very warm welcome”
Review of The Lerryn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lerryn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend the Lerryn. Very warm welcome”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I stayed here just the one night on business. Had a lovely welcome from the owners. Room was clean and good value for money.
Really nice breakfast and good location.
Would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryb1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    94
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
95
131
54
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2013

this was second stay this time minus the dog. despite very late arrival staff and owner warm and welcoming. rooms clean and comfortable with lovely view. breakfast delicious. looking forward to returning especially as daughter got her place at the Uni.0

Room Tip: some sea views and balconies available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janePortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Literally one of the worst experiences of my life.

I had the misfortune of staying at this hotel when I came back to Falmouth a few months after graduating, to visit some friends and my partner.

It started ok, as the first 2 nights, I was in a twin room with a friend who'd travelled down with me. It didn't start off amazingly well, as the beds were quite uncomfortable, there seemed to be a bizarre smell permeating the hotel and breakfast was a poor affair. Paying 75 a night, you might expect a bit more than a weak cup of tea with 1 sausage, 1 rasher of bacon and and egg some beans, but apparently not. Overpriced, but bearable.

However, the main problem occured after the final night. I'd booked a double room, which one might assume was for 2 people. I arrived fairly early, and later went out to dinner with my partner, after which we came back and stayed the night on our rock hard mattress. In the morning, the assumed proprietress saw my partner bringing one of my bags down as I checked the room.
After I came down, following giving my partner a little peck on the cheek, we were subject to a horrendous amount of abuse from the owners. First I was told I'd have to pay extra as 2 people stayed in the room. I was unaware that rates for single and double occupancy were different, as we usually pay for a room as opposed to the number of people. I was informed that this was 'ridiculous', and as I was under the impression I'd made a genuine mistake, I attempted to apologise. Instead of listening or even behaving in a vaguely appropriate manner, the woman instead shouted at me claiming I'd deceived her and that I had apparently done this before, which I found very confusing as it was the first time I'd stayed in a hotel in Cornwall....I'd studied there for 3 years, I lived in my own house! She then kept charging into the adjoining dining room before returning every 30 seconds to continue screaming at me. I ended up paying, as I was still under the impression I'd made a mistake, although as I said, I've not heard of hotels having separate occupancy rates. I later found out I'd paid 96 for the night, although their rate for a double room was only 80.
The final insult came when she looked at my partner, then myself, proceeded to call us 'disgusting' and demand we left. She also stated that if I were to write any negative reviews, she would sue me, at which point I told her she had no legal case at all, as she cannot prevent me from speaking about my experiences.

Ultimately, it was one of the worst experiences I've ever had. Starting in an 'ok' manner, things deteriorated rapidly when I stayed in a room with my partner. I will never be staying at this hotel again and have lodged an official complaint with the council, as what this woman did as her husband watched on constitutes hate crime. I strongly advise people avoid this establishment, if not for the homophobia we experienced then for the rudeness of the owners and over priced rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank HighComm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Great location - very central & near beach. Comfortable, & charming. Staff could not have been more helpful.the smoked salmon & scrambled eggs at breakfast was delicious! Definitely recommended for a trip to the Falmouth area.

Room Tip: We had one with a big bay window - really bright with a view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheskinbeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

This Hotel was reccomended to me and I would like to pass it on. A very warm welcome after a long day traveling is just what you need. My room was spotless and the bed was really comfy. I did not want a breakfast and I was offered somthing to take with me, which shows how much you are valued as a guest .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EwanHossami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I stayed just after christmas on 27th Dec, as it was quiet on arrival i was given an upgrade , from a single to a double room , it had a balcony with a sea view and was just lovely ,nice white duvet cover and sheets on bed and pretty llittle cushions , i was told the room was yet to be upgraded but i was happy with room as it was, i look forward to my next stay to see the difference, the bed was very comfy with big soft pillows, shower was nice and big ,and room was very clean too. i was asked if i would like a coffee when i arrived, by the lovely owner Lynn, and there is a bar /lounge area where you can serve yourself to a drink and pay then or on departure. Breakfast was excellent i had the full cornish breakfast well presented ,you will see what i mean when if you choose to have one ! and very yummy too, served by the very freindly and helpful owner andy.The lerryn is right next to sea front and princess pavillon and easy walking distance to events square and town/shops down a little hill to the dell and then all on flat through town to the moor where you can get a taxi if you dont want to walk back ! Im looking forward my next stay at The Lerryn Hotel .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie4743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night to attend a party. We arrived way to early but were still made to feel so welcome. Complimentary tea and coffee. The family were so friendly and could not have done more to make us feel at home. Smoke salmon and scrambled egg for breakfast. What more could you ask for. Thanks matt.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
4.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lerryn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lerryn Hotel

Property: The Lerryn Hotel
Address: De Pass Road, Falmouth TR11 4BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lerryn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lerryn Hotel, under new management from March 2012, is family-run with an accent on quality and a warm welcome for all. We are located two minutes' walk from Castle Beach and within easy walking distance of Falmouth town centre, beautiful old harbour, marina, docks, and stations. Situated in an ideal position for sailing, walking, family holidays and business, the hotel has 20 bedrooms, many with sea views of Falmouth Bay and Pendennis Castle. Our elegantly proportioned Edwardian hotel offers en-suite rooms, all with free WiFi, residents' lounge, licensed bar, relaxing garden and car park. Two fully accessible ground floor rooms are provided for less able guests, one being a large twin room and wheelchair friendly, with a roll-in shower facility. Full English or continental breakfast is provided using locally-sourced produce where possible; we cater for special dietary needs. Pickup from the local station or Newquay airport available by prior arrangement. Well-behaved dogs welcome and enjoyed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Lerryn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lerryn Hotel Falmouth
The Lerryn Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing