We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding customer service and sooooo friendly and welcoming”
Review of The Lerryn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lerryn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding customer service and sooooo friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived early, there was a problem with one of our three rooms, and the team at the Lerryn showed us what customer service is all about. The tea came, recompense for the inconvenience, a complimentary drink...all delivered with absolute charm and sincerity. The rooms were lovely, the breakfast good, the beds comfy...but what we will remember is the incredibly personal experience we had as guests. The owners and their family really care about their new business and it just beams across. Magic to experience and sadly, so rare.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jandghubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    101
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
101
139
58
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great little place,I stayed in a room on the top floor, newly decorated with a sea view! It was lovely, rather compact but perfectly furnished. The bathroom was tiny, but the owners had managed to fit in a fabulous powerful shower! Very quiet, love the honesty bar, really nice touch! Breakfast is fabulous, lovely selection of cereals, fruit and yoghurt, the cooked breakfast looked good to, lovely selection of home made jams and marmalade.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinegold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We were greeted by the owner, shown to our room (no 13) and offered a complementary drink which we took to the lovely garden. a very friendly and professional welcome. The room was spotless, the bed linnen and towels were of a very high standard. Room 13 is a tiny twin room looking out onto the car park, through the side Window you can see the sea. The room being small didn't bother us at all as we literally only used the hotel to sleep at (which I would say is actually more of a very up market B&B) but if you were there for longer than a few nights you may not want this room (the beds seemed quite narrow but were very comfortable). The bathroom was spotless with a great power shower. The breakfast was very good too. We really were impressed with the decor and cleanliness of our room here and the rooms we walked through. The family who run the hotel are really funny and friendly - great base to explore Cornwall. 2 min walk from the beach.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tgroombridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hats off, this really really is one of the friendliest hotels we've ever stayed at. Owned and managed by the Housman family since March 2012 (so you may wish to ignore any critical reviews recorded before then), the hotel is characterised by the staff's outstandingly friendly approach to its guests. On our early arrival we received a genuinely warm welcome, and were invited to relax in the sunny garden with complimentary coffee and biscuits whilst our room was prepared. Our request for a sea facing room was met - we had a spacious, recently refurbished room with modern en suite. A really nice touch was the bottle of chilled wine and note from the owners, recognising my wife's birthday. The hotel's lounge has a well stocked honesty bar, at reasonable prices. The breakfasts, served with a smile, were freshly prepared, hot and very tasty - if you're looking for the ubiquitous tepid self service buffet bars featuring feasts of somewhat fatigued bangers & bacon, you've come to the wrong place. Whilst the car park is quite small, there is ample on street parking right outside - and it certainly seems to be in a quiet, safe part of town. The sea front is about a minute's walk away, and it's an easy 10 minute stroll to the marina and the numerous bars and restaurants nearby. In summary, the Lerryn ticks a lot of boxes in terms of location, comfort and catering - but for us, it's most memorable feature was the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff we encountered. We'd certainly stay there again, and would recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dash1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed for 5 nights for a much needed break. The owners are very welcoming, the rooms well finished and very clean. Good selection for breakfast, nice garden if you want a quiet read of your book in the sunshine. We will definitely be back, well done to all of you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markcarolharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This family-owned hotel is charming, very clean, and very friendly. It is a ten minute walk to town and a ten minute walk to a very nice beach. The staff is very helpful. We were served tea out on the outdoor patio. The breakfast was also delicious with a great selection to choose from. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I stayed in a twin room with a water view. It had a very nice private balcony that we enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizardgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for a week with our 1 year old son & not only was the hotel fantastic but the staff we're amazing and so accommodating, they had a travel cot already set up so we didn't have to bring one, they allowed me indoor storage for my sons buggy & they heated his baby food for me, nothing was too much trouble & anyone who has little ones will know how difficult things can be but everyone at the Lerryn took the stress away. We now live in Falmouth but for anyone of our friends or family coming down here who find no room at our house, we'll be telling them to book in at the Lerryn!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmic28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
189 reviews
2.0 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#13 of 24 in Falmouth
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lerryn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lerryn Hotel

Property: The Lerryn Hotel
Address: De Pass Road, Falmouth TR11 4BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lerryn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lerryn Hotel, under new management from March 2012, is family-run with an accent on quality and a warm welcome for all. We are located two minutes' walk from Castle Beach and within easy walking distance of Falmouth town centre, beautiful old harbour, marina, docks, and stations. Situated in an ideal position for sailing, walking, family holidays and business, the hotel has 20 bedrooms, many with sea views of Falmouth Bay and Pendennis Castle. Our elegantly proportioned Edwardian hotel offers en-suite rooms, all with free WiFi, residents' lounge, licensed bar, relaxing garden and car park. Two fully accessible ground floor rooms are provided for less able guests, one being a large twin room and wheelchair friendly, with a roll-in shower facility. Full English or continental breakfast is provided using locally-sourced produce where possible; we cater for special dietary needs. Pickup from the local station or Newquay airport available by prior arrangement. Well-behaved dogs welcome and enjoyed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Lerryn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lerryn Hotel Falmouth
The Lerryn Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing