We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont think of eating here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Duchy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Dont think of eating here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We came here with 30 people for lunch as it used to be fantastic. Now the food was awful and very small portions and the service was terrible, FORGET EATING HERE.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AtkinsonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    267
    75
    21
    11
See reviews for
195
523
45
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed before last Sept, but much more impressed this time. Given same room 101, which was fine. The welcome was warm and friendly, they took a genuine interest, Hotel is spotless and service first rate. Lovely to eat on the terrace in the warm weather with great views of the bay and castle. Quick and efficent service, nothing to much bother.
Car parking is fine, but hotel should make sure owners of large 4 x 4 actually park in the correct allocated spaces as this then makes difficult for other users to park and get out. Not the hotels fault accepted. I think you will struggle to find better in Falmouth and I commend it to you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JockLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at the Royal Duchy Hotel for three nights during the last week in July.
The hotel is in a perfect location for the views from the terrace across the bay, and an easy walk into town.
The public rooms are beautiful; large, high and comfortable.
The staff were courteous, helpful and friendly at all times.
The breakfast and dinner were excellent in every respect.
We had booked for B & B, but had dinner at the hotel on two of the nights.
On the first night a magician came to each table and did various disappearing type tricks, which was fun to watch. On the second night a 'free' casino was set up in the lounge, also great fun.
My only slightly adverse comment on the stay was that the room we were allocated was not really four star.
It was pleasant enough, but my partner, who is very fussy about such things, found some dust on the light switches and skirting boards, and the windows needed cleaning inside.
The TV was also small.
However, everything worked, and the room was'nt a bad size.
This is nit-picking on what is a marvellous place to stay, and we would definately go back again.
Chris White
Poole, Dorset, UK.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasper_White
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We dined here one Sunday but were not staying in the hotel. We were disappointed with the changes. The menu, whilst very tasty was limited and the portion sizes small. We had coffee on the verandah - my coffee was forgotten! The tables were not wiped between guests (spilt sugar on ours). Whilst enjoyable it was a lot of money for what we got. If you want great views (sea opposite) and attentive service (mains served with domes and lifted off at once) and not bothered about cost this will suit. If you want a good size roast with reasonably priced drinks perhaps not the best choice. Lunch for 4 with drinks before but not with dinner £100.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Having just returned from six nights holiday we would certainly recommend this hotel as one of the best we have stayed in over the last twenty years.Ideal location within walking distance of Falmouth centre yet in a quiet location with outstanding sea views.

The rooms do vary but the inland superior rooms and the sea facing rooms are of a good size and extremely well equipped and maintained.If you can stretch to a sea facing room then it is well worth the extra.

The restaurant staff are very obliging and nothing even down to a special diet for my wife was too much trouble.The DBB option is good value but on a B & B board dinner on a occasional basis can be expensive.The cream teas are excellent.

The leisure facilities including the indoor pool are well presented and maintained.

Perhaps a shortage of sun loungers in the gardens but there are adequate tables and chairs on the patios.

For us an excellent holiday and we will return.

Room Tip: avoid room 123 as there is an extractor fan from the kitchen which is noisy and stays on from 6am to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edmundengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Myself and the wife have stayed a few years on the trot so know what to expect really.It is a great base to explore Cornwall. The hotel is clean if not a bit dated and the rooms are small. All we want though is good food and a good nights kip as we dont use a hotel for much else.. Most of the guests are over 60 so if this an issue for you then go elswhere. At at times it seems like a care home, sorry i dont mean to be disrespectful. We stayed in July 2010 but the Brend management introduced a two tier dining system that just didnt work,not for me and the wife anyway so we thought we would give it a miss this year. We did check first though before we booked this year to be told they had done away with dining split so booked again. Delighted to find we had been given a refurbished room 228 on arrival so here's to a great holiday we thought.
Only problem though was the gulls on the roof. At the crack of dawn everyday they started yelping, running up and down the flat roof and eating the satalie dish for breakfast. The noise was awful. What i would have given for a shot gun at that moment. I know the hotel cant do a lot about this and you are on the coast after all but sleep for us was out of the question.
Food was of a good standard, when they didnt run out of main courses, and all the staff were super especially in the dining room.
This seems like a negative review but i still think it one of the best on offer in the area and would stay again, not in 228 though.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mercmanY8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

I had longed to visit Cornwall after reading Rebecca at school and convinced my mother that we leave a week before the group tour we were taking began in France and spend it in Cornwall.
After poring over the map and various places I wanted to visit I thought Falmouth would be the most central waterfront location. And it was - never more than 90 minutes from anywhere in the county.
I booked the Royal Duchy in November getting a great rate from Laterooms and our twin-bedded room looked right over the sea as I hoped it would. The hotel was built in 1896 as a grand Victorian seaside hotel and its dining room still has the same grandeur - lots of gold and red with Mum noting they've spent heavily and recently on the curtains. There are a couple of drawing rooms and a smart bar upholstered in red and cream.
Dinner features a little too much of the classic heavy, five-star fare (roasts etc) but the breakfasts are wonderful, ranging from fresh fruits, yoghurts, pastries, salamis, cheeses and cereals to hot cooked dishes.

Room Tip: Stay outside the weekends which are full house
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitrequisites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
4.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Duchy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Duchy Hotel

Property: The Royal Duchy Hotel
Address: The Royal Duchy Hotel Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#9 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Duchy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Duchy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Duchy Hotel
Royal Duchy Falmouth
The Royal Duchy Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing