We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We all loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Duchy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We all loved it”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Took a large group (over 60 people of all ages from inChoir in Sussex/Kent) over May Bank Holiday weekend. Everyone and everything was fabulous, from first arrival - which was amazingly quick and efficient - through to a stress-free and well-orchestrated departure and there wasn't one negative comment from anyone in our group. Rooms were spotless, food was excellent, service was perfect and unobtrusive and the entire staff was courteous, helpful, fun and more than willing to help. Nothing was too much trouble - restaurant catered specially for 96 people for an early lunch on Sunday and looked after the die-hards until the early hours of the morning. Loads of help before we arrived too which helped the organisers immensely. Highly recommended whether you're on your own or with lots of other people!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    280
    78
    21
    11
See reviews for
203
555
49
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I had a really good stay here. Ended up arriving really late due to train delays, but found staff to be very helpful and courteous despite the hour. Having only forked out for a single room, no view- was very pleased to discover that the "single" bed was in fact virtually a double, and that the sea was visible from the bed (and certainly audible with the window open). The room was clean and well-decorated. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SojoP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Just wanted to thank you and your staff for a wonderful weekend in your hotel, which complimented perfectly our train journey on the British Pullman!

The service you provided was exceptional and the food in the restaurant was up there with the best that I have eaten.

Well done, we will definitely be coming back.

Best regards

Peter Dyer

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PETER D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atworth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Returned again to the Royal Duchy during Easter week. Staff always very helpful and polite,food excellent and fabulous views from our room 215. Excellent base to visit other parts of South and West Cornwall plenty to see within 30/40 minutes. Looking forward to returning in the summer

Room Tip: Book a sea view, great view over Falmouth bay and to see the ships at anchor during the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
209 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed at The Royal Duchy for 4 nights recently, and overall it was excellent.

Staff at reception were friendly and welcoming, and James came out to assist us with our luggage.

We had a good size sea facing room, which we found quite warm at night but there was a fan provided in the room which we put to good use. Lovely view, across Castle Beach and up to Pendennis Castle. The bathroom was large and well equipped, with lots of towels and toiletries.

We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast basis, and the food was exceptional. The portions were quite small but actually they were more than adequate. A great selection every night at dinner. Breakfast was buffet style for cereal, fruit, pastries, and a selection of juices, and then you could order an excellent full English. Again great views from the terrace bar and restaurant. The staff were delightful and couldn't do enough for you.

The pool was clean, tidy and warm with a nice sauna. Lots of chairs to lounge around in, as well as a table tennis and snooker table.

The hotel is in a great location for exploring Falmouth and the surrounding areas, the town centre is a 5 min walk away, and the beach is opposite the hotel.

We appeared to be some of the 'younger' guests in the hotel, which was fine for us.

Will definitely be returning

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gotravelling76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Been to several of the Brend Hotels on numerous occasions, one of the main reason we keep returning is the wonderful service we usually receive. Unfortunately this first visit to the Royal Duchy was very disappointing. The overall standard of the hotel including our room which was 202 was good, although we did not have the best view from our window (we had not paid the premium for a sea view) so did not expect anything different.
The swimming pool was nice, but the changing rooms were inadequate. The placing of a table tennis table in this area seemed a little odd, you also have to go through the pool area to the snooker table. Compared to the facilities at both the Carlyon Bay and the Barnstaple Hotel this definitely needs looking at.
The worst part was the service we had at our evening meal, (we were a table of 6) we waited for too long on both the Friday and the Saturday evening to receive menus, to have our order taken and to then receive each of our courses. On the Saturday there seem to be some mix up with another table of six. No apologies were given, the restuarant was not busy and in fact seemed over staffed! My partner and I stayed a third night and must admit service was better on this night. We also noted that unlike the Imperial or the Carlyon Bay no canapes were offered or an 'Amuse Bouche' although the sample menu in the room includes the 'Amuse Bouche'.
The actually food was ok although miniscule portions (I know that is what we should expect, but these were very small!) and not up to the standard of the other Brends especially the Barnstaple Hotel.
The staff in the bar area during the day and evening were all very helpful and friendl.
The Royal Duchy like the Carlyon Bay is a 4 star hotel, but did not offer us the same sevice or facilities.
We will stick with the Barnstaple, the Royal and Fortescue or the Royal in Bideford in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kltoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Just returned from a fabulous short break at The Royal Duchy Hotel, Falmouth. We were in a group of 4 adults and 2 kids all aged between 3 and 61 years. We had a family room 106/107, which was an interconnecting room, twin for the kids and a double for us. The room was spotless and very well equipped.

The kids had a children's dinner each night (large choice and large portions) They also enjoyed playing in the playroom complete with DVD player, wii and mini slide and trucks to push around. They also loved the swimming pool, and the porter let the kids borrow some buckets, watering cans etc to play with.

The food was lovely and service perfect. The staff were very attentive and friendly, especially Alan and Steve in the restaurant.

We visited the beach.The hotel is opposite the beach (ask at reception to borrow buckets and spades for children.) We also went into Falmouth shopping and had lunch at 5 degrees west, which is very child friendly and serves good food.

All in all we would return and recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: 106/107 if travelling with children, as this room has interconnecting doors and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 521Louisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,081 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 23 in Falmouth
1,105 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,517 reviews
4.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Duchy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Duchy Hotel

Property: The Royal Duchy Hotel
Address: The Royal Duchy Hotel Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#9 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Duchy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Duchy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Duchy Hotel
Royal Duchy Falmouth
The Royal Duchy Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing