We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ronnie G - Worcestershire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Duchy Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed at the Royal Duchy as part of a group package tour at the end of May 2014 and can only describe it as 'top notch'. Not only was the service, cuisine and ambience of an extremely high standard but the staff were polite and friendly - nothing was too good for them. The Maitre de (Michael Keegan) was friendly, attentive and obviously a good leader for the staff. Although we had a room facing inland, the décor and cleanliness was of the highest standard and conducted by the background staff (room maids/cleaning etc) who were very friendly and quietly efficient. I have travelled quite a bit around the world and this hotel has to be in the top bracket.
On this site, I have seen negative feedback (and of course people are entitled to their opinions) but what I have seen does not reflect what I experienced!
Thanking everyone at The Royal Duchy for an excellent and smoothly run week!

Room Tip: Paying the extra will get you a sea view room - which is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

856 - 862 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel was beautiful. The sea view from the room was excellent and although the weather was wet at times, we took advantage & just relaxed. I had a spa treatment which was lovely and much needed as my husband and I had just returned from overseas. The food served in the hotel was absolutely beautiful & couldn't be faulted. The service was excellent. Well worth the money. It was a lovely, relaxed week.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I absolutely loved my stay on the 26th of May. It was a surprise night away in the gorgeous hotel for my boyfriends 21st and he loved it. We wished we could have stayed longer but we'll definitely without a doubt be going back again soon hopefully! There was 21st balloons in our room as requested, the staff were lovely and we had a fab time. Food was gorgeous and the facilities were great. We also had a sea view which we definitely weren't expecting so that was a nice surprise for the both of us! Nothing to fault!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

On the 29th of May 2014 my wife and I were lucky enough to visit the Royal Duchy hotels Spa for a day of pampering. We were greeted by a extremely friendly and charming Beautician called Michelle. Nothing seemed to much trouble for her and she took care of our every need to make it into a very relaxing and enjoyable day. The Spa itself was lovely and relaxing and very clean with all you could need to de stress . The lunch was very nice and tasty with a generous helping served either in the spa or the restaurant. I would recommend this hotel Spa to anybody with no hesitation and could not recommend Michelle and her professionalism enough. Thank you for a great day :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulnicholasEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Returning once again to the Royal Duchy, now in our 8th year May 2014. A hotel that continues to delight with its friendly, welcoming and relaxed atmosphere. Maintaining consistent high standards, where the service as always is second to none. The staff are attentive, professional and make you feel like coming home. The rooms, food and all round ambience go towards making this a perfect retreat along with its idyllic location and beautiful views. The new Pendennis restaurant has raised the bar for a terrific dining experience worthy of a visit for both residents and non residents alike (a huge improvement on previous visits) offering a good selection of starters, mains and deserts to satisfy the most discerning of palettes. If you want peace,quiet and relaxation then this is the place. Afternoon tea in the see facing lounge is a must. The only negative about this trip would be to say it was far too short. We look forward to our next visit later in the year.
Our congratulations and thanks to the management and all the staff at Cornwall's finest.
John B

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed and maintained to a high standard . Pay a little extra to get a ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We are familiar with some of the other Brend hotels but wanted to try the Royal Duchy. Overall we were very pleased and the reception staff and porter James couldn't have been more helpful. A very clean and tidy appearance throughout the hotel and grounds. We enjoyed the evening meals which were well presented although the crab salad starter offered on one occasion was unfortunately named as it actually contained only a miniscule portion of crab! Service was good although noticeably slower on our second evening when some staff were not on duty. The traditional breakfasts were excellent. Our room had a great view of the sea and Pendennis Castle but we found it hot at night. I would imagine that this would be even more of a problem in high summer and consideration should be given to the installation of a bespoke air conditioning system. It was disappointing that whist a trouser press was present neither ironing board nor room safe were provided. It was also disappointing that there was scaffolding still in place outside our daughter's room but in fairness we were warned about this possibility when we booked. The Royal Duchy is an excellent traditional hotel but perhaps needs a small amount of attention in the areas mentioned.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Arrived on a sunny afternoon hoping to spend relaxing afternoon on the terrace, but this was impossible due to the noise from lawnmower, strimmer and pressure washer. I know this work needs to be done, but why should customers suffer the inconvenience from 2-00 pm until after 6-00 pm! Not a good start to our visit. It got worse in the evening when not feeling like a full three course dinner we decided to eat in the Terrace Bar. Not a good idea as all of the staff seem to think that the restaurant is the only important area of the hotel in the early evening. The poor girl who was serving in the bar was trying her best but she could not deal with everything on her own and got no help from the other staff. I ordered mussels and my wife ordered a salad, both served with bread. My mussles were served and we waited for the salad and the bread and we waited for the salad and the bread, after about 5 minutes the salad came, but no bread. So again we waited for the bread, but no sign of it. We had to ask the staff for the bread, which took a further few miniues to arrive. By this time my mussels were stone cold and I noticed that a large number of them had not open so were not good to eat. When we did complain but the service we were again kept waiting for unreasonable amount of time and whilst offered a drink we were not really given an apology for the poor servcie and cold food.
Whilst I did point all of the above out to management before we left the hotel and they reduced the bill by a small amount, I cannot say that I enjoyed the visit to this hotel and it certainly did not live up to standards expected from a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,267 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,646 reviews
18.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#13 of 24 in Falmouth
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Duchy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Duchy Hotel

Address: The Royal Duchy Hotel Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: £112 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Duchy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Royal Duchy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Duchy Hotel
Royal Duchy Falmouth
The Royal Duchy Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing