We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some problems on 4 day stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Duchy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Some problems on 4 day stay.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A four star hotel with scrupulously clean rooms fairly well presented allowing for ’ware and tare’ and with a good sea view from our room.
The staff were very friendly and helpful even when making comment on problems items.
The incorrect functioning of en-suite sink & bath operations somewhat marred the stay. Hotels seem to wait for customers to inform them of problems (passive) instead of checking (pro-active) the room prior to lettering, i.e. product (room) should be fit for purpose at point of sale/let.
The dining room operations were professionally run with friendly staff. Alan, in-particular, is commended for his polite attendance. Breakfast was a help- your-self buffet with a good range of breakfast ingredients, cooked food (inc. tea/coffee/toast) was sourced from kitchen to plate on order.
Dinner was of a ‘picture-on-plate’ standard. Not to our liking. The menu provided a three course Table de Hote meal (plus hot beverage) with about four options on starter, main course and sweet. Another menu page provided add-on course options at extra cost.
Overall, we enjoyed our brief stay, the hotel needs to make room fit for purpose before letting, ‘tweak’ the dinner menu for starter and sweet. A Piano player at dinner would have helped relaxation. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailey-HB H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    282
    78
    21
    11
See reviews for
204
558
50
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

5 * this is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in, the staff were superb, nothing too much trouble and great service all round, the food was outstanding, and the situation of the hotel was beautiful. 10 out of 10, I cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Sea facing worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Royal Duchy Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your most positive review for the Royal Duchy Hotel after your stay with us earlier this month.

Our loyal and hardworking staff are always striving to maintain their first class standard, and were thrilled to read all your comments.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review for The Royal Duchy, and we all look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Barry Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I really enjoyed my weekend in amazing hotel and lovely weather and nice food and very nice and polite restaurant staff specially this Egyptian guy he was so nice and kind and he have lovely smile . We should come back again in August . Recommend hotel . Room 107

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leenorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Royal Duchy Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review for the Royal duchy Hotel, after your recent weekend with us.

We were delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and the beautiful weather that we have had lately. Room 107 has recently been refurbished to a luxury standard and we are always pleased with customer reviews and recommendations.

All your kind comments with regards to the excellent service you received from our hardworking staff members particularly Amir, the Restaurant Supervisor have been passed on. They were greatly appreciated by all.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review, and we do hope that you would like to return in August and take advantage of our summer deals.

Barry Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked a double room on a room only basis for a weekend away. The hotel was in a fantastic location overlooking the sea at the front. The hotel itself was very clean and well presented. The staff were friendly and efficient. Our room was clean and comfortable and the bed itself was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was immaculate and well stocked with towels and toiletries. We used the swimming pool and sauna which were clean and well presented and I booked a full body massage in the beauty room which was amazing. There was a selection of games in the TV lounge where we sat and enjoyed a cocktail while watching the World Cup. The bar selection and service were good. We didn't eat in the hotel but the menus looked good and other guests said the breakfast was very good. After checking out there was no problem for us to go for another swim. All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable experience. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: I would think the sea view rooms are worth paying the extra for !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great location, great views, very nice good quality hotel, if a tiny bit dated, very clean, staff very friendly… HOWEVER Our room was like a cupboard with a double bed squeezed into it ! A premier inn or a travel inn gives you more space. Would have been small even for a single room, only one person could fir in the bathroom at once and even then you were almost sat on the toilet whilst having a wash at the basin. Room also very hot with no aircon. Wifi was also a joke.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

booked the hotel at short notice for four days and after our long journey from Kent we were amazed by the beauty of the area.The hotel is easy to get to and there is plenty of parking onsite.The hotel itself is beautiful inside and the staff from the porter to the manager are very helpful and cannot do enough for you.We had our young daughter with us also so had alot of baggage with us but again this all fitted well in the room we were in. The food was excellent too and plenty of choice.Hotel is in the perfect location.We will definetly stay there again..


Mr and Mrs Thomson and Sophia

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24849102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had a fabulous gathering on the Duchy's terrace for a birthday afternoon tea in the sunshine! The tables were set for our arrival, the staff ready to serve us our Prosecco, and when the cream tea arrived the scones were warm and tasty - probably the best I've tasted in a long time!

The hotel has gone through some tasteful refurbishment, but the newly unveiled Pendennis Restaurant is exquisite! Previously there were fake pot plant dividers scattered through the dated restaurant, but the transformation this hotel has turned it into a chic and stylish place to be. The lounge is warm and friendly, perfect for being a "lounge lizard" for the day.

All staff are fabulous and nothing is too much trouble for them. Lots of them have been there for a while - unheard of in a hotel environment!

This is easily one of the best hotels in Cornwall now - keep up the good work!

PS - love the recent review about the vegetarian options being good - now I know this I shall come to sample them more often! Excellent!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise_fuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,081 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 23 in Falmouth
1,106 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,518 reviews
4.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Duchy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Duchy Hotel

Property: The Royal Duchy Hotel
Address: The Royal Duchy Hotel Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#9 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Duchy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Duchy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Duchy Hotel
Royal Duchy Falmouth
The Royal Duchy Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing