We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Duchy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second honeymoon”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed in falmouth on our honeymoon and came here to celebrate our golden wedding,hotel in beautiful position overlooking Falmouth Bay. Hotel is beautifully decorated throughout with plenty of comfortable sitting to enjoy the view.our room was immaculate with plenty of drawer space and wardrobe space, bathroom was good with shower over bath but there was a handy rail for getting in and out. Toiletries and bottled water topped up daily. Breakfasts were good,plenty of selections and good variety available as a cooked option. The dinner was disappointing,it looked pretty but was too contrived for our taste. Lots of foam and swirls of strange sauces. The dining room staff were all very attentive especially Natalija our main waitress. We found the Falmouth town hop on hop off bus very useful,nearest stop The Dell car park. We would recommend this hotel to friends and come again on a bed and breakfast deal.

Room Tip: Sea view if possible or a superior inland room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    297
    82
    24
    11
See reviews for
214
586
52
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We went to Falmouth for a weeks break and stayed at the Royal Duchy, we were not disappointed. This hotel is is situated in in fabulous position on the sea front with views out across Falmouth Bay. The check in was speedy and professional and we were quickly directed up to our room which was faultless with all the cleanliness and facilities of a 4 star hotel the towels were changed every day the bed was really comfortable .The lounge bar was comfortable with views out across the bay, which is fantastic because there is nothing better than after a hard days sight seeing ordering a cool long drink and watching the sun set across the bay.
The staff are all fantastic and very attentive and always make time to have brief chat, nothing was ever to much trouble. I enjoyed the atmosphere as it was good to see a mixture of the young and the old the older residents dressing for dinner and having their coffee and brandy after dinner and the younger couples with their children enjoying the experience.
We did not try the restaurant as there were so many fantastic restaurants with in easy walking distance of the hotel.
My only piece of advice would be if you pick an inland facing room the views are not always scenic, we were in room 125 that looks on to the car park and the back of the kitchen area,so for a better view it may be better to pay the extra and get a sea facing room. Would I stay again yes I would, quite expensive but worth it. Again a big thank you to all the staff for making us feel welcome

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daygar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

For her birthday gift I bought my friend here for lunch. Just wanted to say we both had a fantastic meal in the lounge with excellent service from all the staff. Thank you all we'll definately be back again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank OBon-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our stay at The Royal Duchy was faultless. We were met by James upon arrival in the car park. From then on check in was done with a minimum of fuss. Our room 219 was spotless and remained so during our stay, due to the dedication of the housekeeping staff.
The restaurant was of a high standard with the maître d and wait staff most welcoming, a special mention for Emir who was very attentive.
Overall all staff at the Duchy are very professional and seemed attuned to your every need.
If the Duchy is the benchmark for the Brend hotels I have no reservation in staying in any one of them on our next visit tov the UK.
Thank you The Royal Duchy for an unforgettable stay.
Excellence inspires confidence.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Fabulous hotel which is immaculate throughout. Staff are very attentive and friendly. Superb food in elegant surroundings. Excellent leisure facilities with the best views over Falmouth Bay. True 4 Star experience. The only gripe being the rooms which were very hot and lacked adequate ventilation. Special thanks to Daisy who looked after our every need

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview - worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location right on the seafront and, through the rear of the hotel, only a short walk into Falmouth. All the staff we encountered during our stay were friendly, efficient and keen to help. There is plenty of parking on-site and some quiet roads behind the hotel if this ever became an issue.

Our general feeling was that the hotel was overpriced. £180 only got us a room and breakfast was an additional £7.50 per person each day. Unfortunately the breakfast wasn't particularly good - most of the items on the full English had been pre-cooked so seemed as though they had been keeping warm for some time. Eggs undercooked for my liking and on the final day the field mushroom was inedible. Also there was an additional supplement for quite a few other breakfast items such as pancakes etc which again highlights an issue around value. In terms of the room it was acceptable with a comfy bed and clean throughout. The downside being the pressure in the shower was poor and I couldn't pick up any wifi.

In summary great staff, good location but overpriced. We stayed in other hotels in Cornwall in equally as good location, equal or better amenities, a view and a better, free breakfast included for less.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoatySimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights at the hotel and let me deal with the positives first. All the rooms public and bedrooms beautifully appointed and kept. We chose a superior sea view room at a premium. Swimming pool area is nice. The staff are very good, extremely polite and helpful particularly our waitress from Latvia and the hall porter.
We stayed at the Imperial in Barnstaple earlier in the year (see my review) and they compare very favourably apart from the food. The dinners were ok but far from outstanding as they were at the Imperial. Roast Beef on Sunday repeated again on Tuesday did not make sense and the beef on Sunday, whilst tasty was very chewy. I can't speak for the other occasion as I chose some thing else. The vegetables could have been hotter. Breakfast was good. Just all round disappointing compared to our other Brend experiences. I don't consider the stay inexpensive either and if you are paying top money you expect the best.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank coptheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, John Allen, Area Director at The Royal Duchy Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we were very pleased to read that you found the public areas and bedrooms beautifully appointed and well kept. We are very proud of our staff and the high standards of service that they provide to our customers, so thank you for your kind comments regarding this.

Brend Hotels employs very talented chefs and the company actively encourages them to expand their ideas, which is why so many of them want to work for the group. They are given for example the freedom to use local produce according to the area the hotels are located in. No doubt our philosophy makes us different from some other hotel groups , but we believe our policy does offer interesting and great different dining experiences for our customers.

The Royal Duchy Hotel has been awarded 2 AA Rosettes one of the highest rated in the group. The menus are changed on a daily basis to try and offer the widest choice possible. Our suppliers are carefully chosen to ensure that the ingredients that make up the individual dishes are of the highest quality.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Brend Hotels again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,139 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
1,137 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
4.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Duchy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Duchy Hotel

Property: The Royal Duchy Hotel
Address: The Royal Duchy Hotel Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#9 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Duchy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Duchy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Duchy Hotel
Royal Duchy Falmouth
The Royal Duchy Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing