We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT WEEKEND BREAK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Duchy Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We have just returned from yet another fantastic weekend break at the Royal Duchy. We had an excellent room with breath taking views of the sea. Hotel staff very freindly and extreamly helpful. Dinner with the restaurant was excellent. Worth every penny! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian2London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,111 - 1,117 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2010

Very helpful and friendly staff but otherwise old fashioned pile with little going for it. Not especially convenient location. Old fashioned decor and smelly carpets. No free wi fi. Uninteresting greasy breakfast. If you can afford these prices then find somewhere nicer to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I travelled to this hotel with my father on business and I was not satisfied with what I thought was going to be a magnificient hotel with a luxury spa etc... The service was second to none and I cannot complain about that but we went up to our room with an old lock key on the door - very poor security. We then dined in the restaurant, what a joke! My father returned from his meeting and thought he would splash out on "fine dining" - well it was the most revolting meal ever, with disgusting and extrodinary food I will not be returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sam-walters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

On the first night we booked our evening meal for 8.00pm. Our order was taken at 7.45pm – we then waited, and waited, our starter eventually arrived at 9.35pm! our main course at 10.05pm and our desert at 10.35pm. It was gone 11.00pm before we left the restaurant!

On entering the lounge following the meal it was obvious that the other diners had had the same experience. We spoke to the restaurant manager who stated that such delays were normal for the fine-dining menu.

This is a lovely building in a stunning location with friendly and helpful front of house staff but the dining arrangements need urgent attention since none of the guests we spoke to would consider a Brend Hotel again.

On returning home we wrote to the Director of Brend Hotels (politely) and received a very condescending and dismissive reply which included the statement “this may not be the hotel for you”. Well he is certainly right about that.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank telshirlSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

I spent just two nights at this hotel on my own and it is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. I parked easily adn booked in. The room was really nicely decorated, spacious and spotless. There were lots of lovely little touches - returning from my evening meal to find the bed had been turned down and a little choclate placed on the pillow. Although I was on my own I never felt awkard, the staff were lovely and very attentive. The food was wonderful and there was plenty of it. The views were stunning and it was really good to sit out on the terrace late afternoon with a pot of tea. On both days I walked in Falmouth centre about 7 mins away. The harbour was lovely and I took advantage of a boat trip over to St Mawes. I came away really looking forward to going back again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonHoliday2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

had a lovely weekend here, bedrooms very good, staff attentive, as stated above, the food was very good but portions could be bigger.
the overall ambience in the hotel was excellent.
the position of the hotel gives great access to both the coastal paths and to the falmouth town centre.
overall we would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We were visiting family in the area during the half-term break in the midst of GCSE exams. We took two smaller (cheaper) sea facing rooms which were perfectly adequate, soft beds with older furniture but a very modern shower/bath in one room. Breakfasts were very good; buffet for the cereals/yoghurts and a served cooked breakfast. Staff were excellent and very friendly particularly the evening bar steward and the concierge/porter. Children were studying in the lounge area and were looked after by the staff. Wide range of guests from the older couples to families with young children. For us a perfect location, away from the busy town centre of Falmouth and beach but not too far to walk to either. Very relaxing and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,268 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,646 reviews
18.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#13 of 24 in Falmouth
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Duchy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Duchy Hotel

Address: The Royal Duchy Hotel Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: £112 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Duchy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Royal Duchy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Duchy Hotel
Royal Duchy Falmouth
The Royal Duchy Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing