We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location but feel that's what you're paying for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Greenbank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful location but feel that's what you're paying for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

The view from the restaurant and bar really is wonderful. Hadn't booked in advance so was really trying to find anywhere available to where we needed to be and didn't fancy driving too far searching in the fog! The price quoted was more than we would have wanted to pay but decided to accept. Although room comfortable and clean and the staff pleasant, couldn't help coming away with the feeling of the price being too much.

Room Tip: Careful if taking a room at the back (roadside) of the hotel at a weekend. If weddings/parties taki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipersail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    262
    76
    29
    8
See reviews for
185
532
29
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We recently spent a weekend in Falmouth. The Greenbank Hotel is a good 20min walk from the main high street and ferrrie points but has fantastic views from the restaurant and bar. Food served both for breakfast and evening dinner is of a very high standard.
The bedrooms however are a little bit disappointing and you definately need to ask for help with your bags on arrival especially if you are on the 3rd floor as we were!

Room Tip: we booked a room with a view but it was very small and was on the 3rd floor, which was accessed via...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likeluxuryBoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights and paid £195 per night for bed and breakfast. The room was slightly larger than the double bed. It had fantastic views of the estuary.
However the furniture is cheap and outdated.

On our first night we had dinner in the restaurant. We waited 45 minutes for our starter and another 45 minutes for our main course. When I asked why we had waited so long, the waitress said " volume ". Sorry, when you are paying almost £40 per head for 2 courses, including wine, not much of a reason.
Breakfast next morning was a similar story.

Staff seemed young and not at all interested in their customers.

The hotel is like a maze, with countless corridors, doors, stairs and some of teh corridors need redecorating and in fact look filthy. The lifts need modernising.

There is a lot of noise in the rooms from people on the corridors, so if you want peace and quite, forget it.
All in all not what you expect for 195 ( b&b )

Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Greenbank Hotel was surprisingly comfortable and luxurious. I stayed here for 2 nights for a work trip. It is a warren of a building and some rooms are accessed through lots of doors and corridors. Some of the interior corridors could use a new lick of paint. However, my room itself was outstanding, very large and with a balcony and harbour view. I highly recommend springing for the harbour view rooms if you are going to stay here. The room was spotless and I had no problems with stains on the carpet or furniture as in previous reviews.
The restaurant also has an outstanding sea view and made the evening meal an extra special experience. I also really enjoyed the bar area with its comfy seats and sofas and more excellent sea views. It was not overcrowded (although I did retire to my room early on both nights). I spent several hours in the bar on the second day working on my laptop and keeping myself going with drinks and high tea in place of lunch. Another credit is free wifi which should now just be an essential in all hotel establishments.
I had one single problem when I ordered room service breakfast on the first morning and this was obviously forgotten and I had to ring down for it. Breakfast in the restaurant on the second morning was much better, so I recommend foregoing room service.
One last minor detraction is that the walls in the Greenbank are wafer thin. You will be subject to the behaviour and courtesy of your neighbours how much you might be kept awake. I don't think there is any way to remedy this given the age of the property but if you are a light sleeper or like to sleep in, you may have issues with this. Luckily, my neighbours on both nights seemed to turn in early (or came back in very late!) and I was able to get some sleep.
In summary, I highly recommend the Greenbank and I will be staying again but definitely booking a harbour view room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mesaana78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

The Greenbank Hotel is quite old, but our room was clean and nicely updated. The bathroom was gleaming with floor to ceiling tiles and sparkling fixtures. It is a nice location for walking into the charming little business area. When we arrived, I asked about a room overlooking the water and was told that they do not offer those rooms on sites like booking.com. Our room was next to the adjoining street, and because we did not find any air conditioning controls, we opened our windows. Therefore, we heard cars much of the night. The view is so beautiful, it is a shame to stay in a room that does not permit that. The hotel had a very nice lounge/bar with a beautiful view of the harbor. The reception area and hallways could use some updating.
However, our wonderful memory of the hotel comes from the outstanding meal we enjoyed at the Harbourside Restaurant there. It was great to sample a delicious dinner and then take a short walk to our room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and the food was consistently excellent at breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We visited the Greenbank Hotel for a special occasion at the beginning of August and what a treat it was! We were greeted by a warm welcome and were able to check straight in to our room. We had decided to upgrade to a Harbour view and were so glad we did when we entered the room with the whole of Falmouth Harbour opening out in front of us. The room was spacious and well equipped although we spent most of the time just staring out of the window!

Once we had unpacked we decided to try a champagne high tea out on the terrace which was gorgeous – you know one of those tiered silver cake platters filled with a huge array of delights! The bar staff were excellent and the whole atmosphere of the bar and terrace was relaxed and we were made to feel very special.

We decided to eat in the restaurant for the evening as we had peaked in during the afternoon and loved the look of it…and we are so glad we did. The evening changes the bar and restaurant into an elegantly lit welcoming area although we were pleased that it still retained its relaxed ambiance.

All I can say is that the food was fantastic, the view to die for and the service we just couldn’t fault. It was great to be able to take the rest of our wine and then coffee back in the bar and sit and watch the lights shining on the water.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbank Hotel

Property: The Greenbank Hotel
Address: Harbourside, Falmouth TR11 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greenbank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Float away in stylish surroundings. Submerge yourself in characterful history. Dive into delicious food and drink. Breathe in fresh sea air. Drink in the view. Nestled on Falmouth harbour, the Greenbank Hotel blends the best of coastal living with the finest in contemporary comfort, so you can experience life - on the water's edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Greenbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbank Hotel Falmouth
The Greenbank Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing