We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night and lovely breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Greenbank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great night and lovely breakfast”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I had been visiting Falmouth from Australia for a wedding, I spent the night of the wedding in the Greenbank and had one of the best experiences of my trip. The bar was excellent with a highly knowledgable barman who took obvious pride in his bar and the service he provided. The views from the terrace were spectacular, the perfect way to enjoy a drink. The room was great, very clean and well appointed, I loved the bathroom! Breakfast was lovely, on arrival in the dinning room I could choose from a selection of cereals, breads and juices. The friendly waiter then took my order for a cooked breakfast which arrived promptly and was beautifully cooked. Overall the stunning location of the hotel was only surpassed by the quality of the experience. Brilliant!

Room Tip: The rooms withi river views would be the obvious choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Some wonderful feedback, thank you. I was wondering who to thank for the recent weather! I am very pleased that you will take away some good memories of The Greenbank, and hope that you enjoyed your time in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    264
    77
    29
    8
See reviews for
189
544
29
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Padstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Having seen the hotel in passing for many years we treated ourselves to an overnight stay, and booked our evening meal in the hotel restaurant.
The room was clean and well maintained with a fabulous view over the harbour. We were very lucky with one of the rare warm spring days, and enjoyed a glass of wine on the terrace before dinner...delightful. The menu was not extensive, but absolutely first class, we dined looking across the water to Flushing. The waiting staff were helpful and attentive. Breakfast in the sunny resataurant with the superb outlook did not disappoint.
We will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
I am so pleased that you decided to stay after passing for many years, and pleased further that we did not disappoint. Thank you for your comments, please visit again, you will be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I live in Falmouth so I didn't stay overnight in the Greenbank. This review is about its restaurant. I've lived in Falmouth for eight years and I've seen the Greenbank go through a few up and downs. When we first arrived here in 2004 the restaurant was amazing. Then it went into a bit of a decline; the quality of the food and the service went off and it started to be very hit and miss. The only consistently thing was the price - hefty! Back in 2010 we went for a family meal and I think it was probably one of the most expensive disappointments in my dining career. But we went again in August 2011 because of a new chef and new menu. Thank goodness, the food was super, and we enjoyed ourselves enormously. So we decided to try it again and I'm pleased to report that it was jolly good. It's still pricey but the food is excellent and the staff were very accommodating of my daughter's requests - which is probably just as well as there is no children's menu. My daughter had the bread basket and olives as a starter, whilst I had a delicious salmon and caviar dish. My husband had a deconstructed Caesar salad which he said was excellent and our guest had a pork dish which was equally good. For mains my daughter had hake with pea puree, new potatoes, and homemade tomato ketchup. I had the same but a la mode with spring onion mash. The fish was moist and perfectly cooked. I am always a bit suspicious of spring onion mash because it's soooooooo easy to do yourself but this was creamy and delicious. Our guest had a mackerel dish whilst my husband a vegetarian dish with aubergines and cassoulet which he reported to be super. We shared two cheese boards with chutney and a assortment of interesting, possibly home-made crackers. The presentation is what you would expect of an established, high end dining experience in Falmouth. But be warned, this is not a cheap night out. Three cocktails (£7.40 each), two soft drinks, two bottles of wine (£15 each and actually very good value for a rather good French Sauvignon Blanc), four starters, four mains, two cheeseboards (£8 each) - £160. On the downside, the service was patchy. The cocktails took so long to arrive that we thought the bar staff had gone to pick the limes. The wine showed up at the table quickly but soft drinks required a reminder. I think the amount of cheese on the cheeseboards was not good value for £8 a go. But, on a lovely early summer's evening in Falmouth, with the late sun lighting up the harbour, and with my husband, daughter and very good friend for company, this was rather a splendid evening overall.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutAndAbout40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Thank you for your balanced review. I am delighted that we are attracting local people to our restaurant and am pleased to say that this is happening very frequently now with the people of Falmouth returning regularly.
You mention the cost a number of times, but we feel that that there is real value in what we are able to produce, and if compared with our competitors and other restaurants in Falmouth, I believe our menu's are certainly not over priced. This is a common misconception in the bar also, as you will often pay more in nearby public houses.
It was a shame to read your comments on service, this is important to me because, as readers of our TA page will know, we regularly receive high praise for the care and attentivenes of the staff.
Our Chef however, was especially pleased to read about your meal experience, you clearly have a knowledge and a passion for food and I hope you will not leave it too long before returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Hotel has a fabulous location. Amazing views, and an easy walk into Falmouth. It's a bit dated in terms of decor. I've stayed in several hotels that are way better in terms of contemporary decor for the price. Ate at the Harbourside restaurant at the hotel, good food at good price. Really fresh fish.
The big, big downside is that the sound proofing in the rooms is not great so I was woken up two nights in a row by my very loud neighbour and his loud conversations, although the piece de resistance was the wedding on Saturday night that wasn't mentioned when I checked in but provided the booming
baseline until midnight! Great! Grease, Summer Lovin' blasting through the wall-not my idea of a relaxing evening and pretty fed-up that i wasn't told about this so I had a choice, because I wouldn't choose to stay somewhere where the income from a wedding party was prioritised over individual guests Kel

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelster70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
I understand the opinion in hotels that one 'type' of customer can feel less important than another. I can assure you that this is not the case at The Greenbank. Our customers have a variety of different needs and I am pleased to say that we are capable of meeting everyone's requirements. However, this does rely heavily on communication and I am sorry if you feel we let you down on this occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

We only stayed one night on our cycling tour of Cornwall but we would recommend it to any travellers who need a place to stay to recuperate & recharge batteries. The friendliness of the staff immediately struck us as we arrived soaked & in need of somewhere to store our bike (we were directed to a safe garage area). The room took our breath away with its size, cleanliness, atteactive decor & location overlooking the sea but most impressive to leg weary cyclists was the spa bath! Slippers & dressing gowns were also a much welcome addition. Another very useful feature was the free wi-fi which meant we could download the next days route & map onto our bike app without having to go out of the hotel or go to its public area as in other hotels. The food was delicious - being on honeymoon we treated ourselves to a champagne high tea in our room & evening meal in the Harbour Restaurant which was excellent. As was the hearty breakfast which was literally served to us with a piece of heart shaped bread - a much appreciated personal touch. All in all a hotel we want to re-visit.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkingjunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Thank you for such lovely comments, and congratulations to you both! I hope that you will have the opportunity to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We have stayed at the Greenbank many times over the years. ALWAYS stay here when we visit Falmouth. Although the hotel is the oldest in Falmouth the rooms are spacious, comfortable and modern (lovely bathrooms) with the added bonus of a lovely view over the estuary. I love the bar with it's leather sofas and fantastic views, again over the water and the cocktails from the bar. It has a certain Art Deco feel to it which I love. The restaurant is excellent with delicious food and that view again.

Room Tip: Do get a room overlooking the harbour where you can watch the small boats travelling up and down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieSlater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
In my opinion, if you welcome return visitors regularly, it is a good indicator that you are going about your business in the right way; I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will continue to return for a very long time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We chose this hotel for our wedding ceremony & reception for it's stunning harbour & riverside location.The food was amazing coupled by the excellant service from Matt & his team.The bedroom was spacious,clean & comfortable with fantastic views.The staff are very friendly & professional.We would like to thank Zara the co-ordinator for her attention to detail & for making our day memorable.We would recommend this hotel for any special occasion with confidence.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Zara, Matt and the rest of the team were delighted to read your comments, thank you for taking the time and we wish you the very best for your future together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbank Hotel

Property: The Greenbank Hotel
Address: Harbourside, Falmouth TR11 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greenbank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Float away in stylish surroundings. Submerge yourself in characterful history. Dive into delicious food and drink. Breathe in fresh sea air. Drink in the view. Nestled on Falmouth harbour, the Greenbank Hotel blends the best of coastal living with the finest in contemporary comfort, so you can experience life - on the water's edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Greenbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbank Hotel Falmouth
The Greenbank Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing