We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad decline”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Greenbank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sad decline”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed at the Greenbank some years ago and it was excellent. Indeed it had the reputation of being one of the best hotels in West Cornwall. In our experience there has been a decline. Our room was adequate, but small and overlooked the road (fair enough someone has too), but the shower leaked onto the floor and the mattress was punishingly hard. But this was the least of it.

We became invisible in the bar and it took 20 minutes to get a drink, which unsurprisingly was expensive. Then we ate in the restaurant. It has a superb view, but then we had plenty of time to admire it. Roughly 45 minutes to get our starter and another 40 minutes to main course. The food was good, though not outstanding, though my partner was served potatoes that had had little done to them but the removal of earth and a passing aquaintance with hot water. Al dente to a fault!

Similarly at breakfast the next day, we also had plenty of time to admire the view, though 20 minutes of it were spent standing whilst we waited for a table. Apparently (and they really did say this!), the 'coffee machine was running slow' , and this was offered by way of an explanation for the 30 minute wait. The cooked breakfast was small and tepid.

The following day we arrived for breakfast, but this time we were told there would be' at least a 20 minute wait'. We decided to cut our losses, to check out and eat breakfast in town. At reception they were very apologetic and gave us a reduction of the bill, but that did not really ameliorate a stressful experience. The senior staff are polite and friendly, but more junior staff have poor communication skills. They also clearly do not have enough staff and presumably in the kitchen. Nor do they have a suffient ratio of tables in the breakfast room to guests. One has the impression they are working the margins here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamsmd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliaEccleston, Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay. I apologise that on this occasion your stay did not reach our normal high standards. All your comments have been passed to the team and, as procedure, we do react to all feedback by reviewing internal training and service standards. I can reassure you that since your stay measures have been put in place to rectify your issues raised and we hope you will return again to see the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    265
    79
    30
    8
See reviews for
196
552
29
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have had dinner in the restaurant at the gorgeous Greenbank before but this was our first time staying there. The welcome was warm and friendly and we found the service throughout our stay to be first rate! Our room was beautifully appointed with a most stunning view (even on a wet misty evening) of the harbour and across to Flushing. The furniture was sumptuous, comfortable and thoughtfully chosen, the decor and lighting were tasteful and calming. We loved the cafetiere in the room as well as the waffle style dressing gowns and the shower was fabulous, powerful and easy to use! Our meal in the restaurant was wonderful, compliments to the new head chef! We were presented with a delightful amuse bouche before our main courses,which were excellent, and our desserts were mouth wateringly delicious and beautifully presented! We mentioned that it was our anniversary to our waiter and really enjoyed the 'happy anniversary' and balloons hand drawn in chocolate sauce on our dessert plates - a lovely touch/surprise. We slept really well and enjoyed a relaxed breakfast in the river view suite, there was a wide choice of great goodies on offer with everything we could have wished for. All of the food we had was fresh and very tasty with local products aplenty - an excellent hotel breakfast! Check out was smooth and efficient, we were sad to leave! Thank you The Greenbank for a wonderful anniversary celebration to remember!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falboks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliaEccleston, Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for choosing the Greenbank as the location for your special anniversary stay. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed it and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We changed rooms on arrival as our room looked at the road. The extra was well worth it, our next room was right on the water with fabulous views. But this is the first time I have ever had to ask for the bed linen to be changed! The sheet and Duvet cover were stained and crumpled. This was very well handled by the duty manager and we were recompensed by a free meal. However during our stay we were very disappointed in the service generally. The staff seemed unaware of needs- we waited for food, waited for drinks waited to be acknowledged. Also, we were very disappointed in the restaurant. The chef who had a good reputation has gone and we found food was tasteless, and lacked finesse. It is quite an expensive hotel and we thought not worth the money. The bedrooms have all been renovated but the public areas are very shabby and old.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozrob63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliaEccleston, Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay. We take all comments very seriously and I have spoken to the departments involved. I understand that the Duty Manager did all she could to rectify the problems you had and can only apologise that we did not reach our normal high standards. I can assure you that these issues will be investigated further and measures taken to ensure our service remains at the core of our visitor experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Recently stayed at the Greenbank as it is one of our favourite places when we get a chance for a few nights away. As always the staff were superb, remembering us as previous guests and organisd a bottle of bubbly in our room (thanks hubby!) as it was our anniversary - and even an anniversary card! What makes this place so special - not just the atmosphere and amazing view but the food is just fabulous. Really nice to know you do not have to go out anywhere to eat and just enjoy a pre dinner drink in the bar while deciding how many courses you are going to order (3 of course for me!). Just wish we could come back more often if only for the breakfast muffins!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My other boyfriend booked this hotel for us for the weekend. It was amazing. The staff were absolutely lovely. So attentive and caring. We went for dinner in the restaurant which was really top rate. It was so good that we went back on the second night. Again the staff are so attentive but at no point did we feel at all rushed. In fact at one stage every member of staff appeared busy with other customers however as soon as we had turned our menus over someone came to ask if we would like to order. A special mention to Jack who was serving in the restaurant and bar. He was very professional and made our dining experience feel very special.

The room was lovely and room service was very efficient.

Practically, the hotel is ideally situated. The view is stunning and we spent a few hours on the terrace watching over the harbor. Town is only a short walk along the road but far enough to not be loud.

We literally only have praise for the hotel, would highly recommend it and would gladly stay there again.x

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NadiaTron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliaEccleston, Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and have passed your comments to Jack and the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We visited for 1 night in September and were late to the hotel at about 830pm. Had a really nice room, all amenities catered for with an amazing tea tray and very comfortable beds. We did not have a harbour view, but those rooms that did looked lovely, would try to get that the next time. Dinner was nice, if a little pretentious and we enjoyed relaxing in the bar after dinner and making the most of the free wifi. Breakfast was good too and Falmouth is very pretty. Only criticism would be the endless corridors and fire doors which were a bit tired and littered with housekeeping debris during the day, but other than that a nice hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FemaleBizTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Recently stayed for 3 nights to celebrate our Ruby Wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived until we left three days later we were met by totally attentive staff whose one aim was to ensure our comfort. This comment applies to the backroom staff we met throughout the hotel and also, of course, the front of house personnel.
We had a De-luxe room with a balcony overlooking the river Fal with its ever changing vista. As expected the room was very comfortable and had a king-sized bed. Cleanliness was not an issue and we were provided with the usual toiletries and robes
We had pre-advised the Hotel of the various allergies/intolerances suffered by my wife and, whilst I ate from the published menu, the chefs produced a specially prepared meal to meet my wife’s requirements each evening. A varied choice of English or Continental breakfasts is provided and across the board the food quality was excellent.
Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
831 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 23 in Falmouth
1,105 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbank Hotel

Property: The Greenbank Hotel
Address: Harbourside, Falmouth TR11 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greenbank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Float away in stylish surroundings. Submerge yourself in characterful history. Dive into delicious food and drink. Breathe in fresh sea air. Drink in the view. Nestled on Falmouth harbour, the Greenbank Hotel blends the best of coastal living with the finest in contemporary comfort, so you can experience life - on the water's edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Greenbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbank Hotel Falmouth
The Greenbank Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing