We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Greenbank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful time”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I booked a night at the Greenbank to surprise my girlfriend who had eaten at the restaurant before but never stayed.

We had a wonderful time; the room was clean, nicely decorated and, being 6ft tall, the large en suite bath was a real bonus for me.
The staff were friendly and helpful, service to the room was prompt and the slippers were very comfortable! Breakfast was delicious and made all the more enjoyable by a view across the water.

We really enjoyed our stay, have recommended the hotel to our friends and are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NP101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    276
    81
    31
    8
See reviews for
199
574
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

After visiting Falmouth many times over the years we already knew of the Greenbank and so decided to treat ourselved to a five night stay on the 16th January for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and we were not disappointed in any way. We stayed in room 206 which is on the road side, but having seen the Harbour side rooms we wished we had booked one, the views were stunning! However we felt the room we had was perfectly adequate, was clean, nicely decorated and the room was cleaned/serviced to a very high standard. All the Staff we came across were friendly local people and the service received was excellent. The breakfast was always good, served quickly and with a smile, with more of the same in the Bar.
With only a 15 min stroll into Town we decided we would see what the local Pubs and Restaurants had to offer and so I am unable to comment on the Hotel evening menu although it did seem a little expensive.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be returning to the Greenbank in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Harbour side rooms have stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46Chris_C2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We wouldn't normally stay away so close to home but we thought it would be a perfect break to do some local site seeing and a spot of shopping. On checking in we were offered help with our luggage, but the receptionist could not find anyone to assist. In fact there seemed to be a distinct lack of any kind of staff, which we noticed during the duration of our stay. We parked in the underground parking area, which we did not find very encouraging, with an unkempt rubbish area, which smelt appalling. We mentioned this to the older receptionist who did not seem to be particularly concerned. We assumed this was not taken any further as the state of the rubbish area remained unchanged during our stay.
Our room had a lovely view out across the harbour, but we had trouble with constant noise from the boilers. When we mentioned this the following morning, we were told that this is a room which always suffers from this noise. Carpets were stained, but we could see that there had been an attempt to spruce it up quite recently. It would be lovely if there was a little more care paid to refurbishment. Its not what we were expecting from a stay in a 4 star hotel and certainly not of the same sort of standard we have experienced with other hotels.
Breakfast was fine, but seemed to take a long time to come. There was some confusion over our order which meant it was delayed. We didn't worry too much as we were not in a hurry to be anywhere. Little did we know that this experience would be continued.
We did not dine on the first night but had some fabulous fish and chips at Steins instead.
We decided to try the restaurant on our second night. We did not know what to expect from dinner as the menu was quite sparse. The portions were pretty small and it was expensive for what we got. It took a long time for our main course to come out. When it eventually arrived, we questioned if there was anything else to come with it. Our waitress shrugged and said she didn't think so and that a lot of people were saying the portions are small. She said the chef has explained that the food style is fine dining. I suppose this is meant to validate miniscule plates of over handled and surprisingly tasteless food. There was just something not right with what we had and I question whether the chef had actually tried any of the dishes he was serving. It was distinctly style over substance. I was very surprised to say the least. I had eaten here about a year or so ago and thoroughly enjoyed the clearly local ingredients; these were not present any more. This is not the food that I remember enjoying so much before. If this is two rosette food then the nearby McDonalds must be offering three. We were very disappointed. It was diabolical. I would like to add that we very much enjoyed having a drink in the bar before dinner. Lovely atmosphere and the after dinner coffee was also good. If only this had been the case for the rest of our evening. Even though we were offered money off our bill, this has done nothing to improve our poor opinion of the Greenbank. I would have made a complaint in person during our stay but on both occasions I asked to see a manager, I was told that there was not one available to see me. Over priced and not worth the effort at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on the 14th January for our 42nd wedding anniversary, our room was quite pleasant but very hot even though the radiator was not turned on in the bedroom we had to have the window open all night which let in all the traffic noise. The following morning we were woken up at 6.00am by some very inconsiderate guests who were constantly walking up and down the corridor and going through the door right outside our bedroom door to the hotel front door and loading their car which was outside our window in the car park. We did mention the noise to the receptionist on our checkout who said if we had let them know we could have changed rooms but we were leaving then. Other than that the breakfast was very good. The hotel is in a lovely position and but I don't think we will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Don't have room 102 very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Greenbank is right on the Harbour and has fantastic views across the bays if you stay in the right rooms, bit more expensive but well worth it when you throw the curtains open and see the boats and harbour right in front of you. One of Falmouth's more upmarket hotels so a bit more pricey, but worth it if you are looking for somewhere with a bit of luxury. A little out of town, but this is not a ad thing as it is a gentle stroll along the harbour side of around 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Book the large double with the big bay windows that overlook the harbour... Superb...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Faultless New Year's Eve dinner and entertainment at the Greenbank. From entry to the end of the night, excellent bar and dinner service, attentive and friendly bar and restaurant team. I cannot think of one thing to even recommend correcting or improving upon on the evening. Special thanks to restaurant manager Matt who paid us every attention. We were on the Harbourside package and entitled to go enjoy the disco entertainment in the Riverside but we were so content in the restaurant and piano entertainment in the bar, that we felt no need to venture to the other end of the building. Please keep the standards up for next year Greenbank and we will be returning!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mesaana78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel January 14. We were moved from the first room as the bathroom was dirty, the second room was better though still felt grubby. Over all the hotel was very tired and entirely over priced for the standard of the offer. The breakfast was adequate and the only saving grace was that the staff were friendly. A very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieRutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliaEccleston, Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and apologies that we did not meet our normally high standards on this occasion. I will ensure that our Housekeeping team ascertain which rooms are in question and ensure they are checked thoroughly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
175 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,073 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
858 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 23 in Falmouth
1,122 reviews
17.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbank Hotel

Property: The Greenbank Hotel
Address: Harbourside, Falmouth TR11 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greenbank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Float away in stylish surroundings. Submerge yourself in characterful history. Dive into delicious food and drink. Breathe in fresh sea air. Drink in the view. Nestled on Falmouth harbour, the Greenbank Hotel blends the best of coastal living with the finest in contemporary comfort, so you can experience life - on the water's edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HRS, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Greenbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbank Hotel Falmouth
The Greenbank Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing