We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and friendly but a bit frayed around the edges !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Greenbank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Welcoming and friendly but a bit frayed around the edges !”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A waterfront hotel with superb views and parking. The receptionist was very polite and welcoming and the hotel had a nice ambience to it. We found our way to our room via a lift and a long thin corridor and were very pleased to see the fantastic view from our bedroom. The room was not big but very comfortable and a good size bathroom. There were tea and coffee facilities and we bought some fresh milk and botlled water as the local water can taste a little chlorinated. There is a room service menu and breakfast in your room can be arranged the night before. There is lots of character with bits of hotel memorabilia throughout, and a super bar area with comfy sofas. Negatives, a few rough areas, worn carpet and paintwork, cobwebs and a slow Fawlty towers type service at breakfast. The breakfast was ok with the usual fruit juices and cereals in a help yourself area and you order your hot food. I opted for the full breakfast but although the quality was fine it wasnt the most memorable and I have had better. When it finally arrived it had one rasher of bacon, one chipolata, one mushroom, one egg and half a tomato. Seeing as a breakfast is the last thing before you leave and of a hotel of this calibre I would of expected better. The Norway Inn does a superb breakfast for instance so I was slightly disappointed with that. There was no hotel brochure on departure either. Overall though it is a nice hotel and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Room with a seaview if you want to watch the sailing boats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benmores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    273
    81
    31
    8
See reviews for
198
572
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from two nights at the Greenbank Hotel in Falmouth. It is my favourite hotel in Falmouth and nicest hotel I have stayed for a long time. Lovely welcome, really Cosy and lovely rooms and so clean. Beds comfy everything you could want. The restaurant was wonderful. With great views and excellent service and delicious food. I was actually woken up a few times by a noisy wedding party but it made no difference the overall stay was fab and I didn't want to leave. Breakfast in bed was thumbs up too! Cannot wait to book again

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

beautiful hotel with lovely rooms overlooking the estuary, but only a short walk to the centre of town
Clean, friendly, with excellent cuisine.
Just lovely.
Would recommend for winter or summer.
Breakfasts are a delight!

Room Tip: You have to have an estuary view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magnus65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed just one night as couldn't get in The Penmere Manor. Great location, lovely views. The staff are very good, efficient and friendly. I had a room without a view, good size and well equipped. I would've liked a pillow choice, all four in the room were far too soft. We ate from the bar menu, looking at the restaurant menu, to me it seemed a little fussy but no doubt the food would be good. Our meals were fine and priced to be reasonable. This is a nice hotel but what did disappoint me was corridor noise which I found annoying. I was on the first floor, you could hear any sounds made in the corridor and in the morning any chance of sleeping on was impossible as people made their way to breakfast. I'm not sure if this can be overcome, it's just one of those things and I'm afraid it wouldn't make The Greenbank my first choice in the area. As the title says, it's nice but....

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank teejaybeeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just had a 2 night stay over Valentines weekend. The room was really clean and comfy, the staff were really friendly and helpful, nothing was to much for them.
We were in a room with views overlooking the esturary, it was just so peacefull.
The food was good, fresh and well prepared, whether you ate in the restaurant or bar the prices were reasonable.
Overall we had a lovely weekend and would certainly go back again and recommend the hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for an estuary view, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileenjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Returned to the green bank for the third time recently. I have to say that although I have enjoyed my stays the cleanliness could be better. Each time I have found dirty marks on the radiators and walls. Blood specks on pillow cases and dried urine on the silicone around the toilet. In lots of places areas are looking very tired too. But on the good side, the views are amazing and the staff are friendly. Just need to pay attention to the cleaning, as from a distance all looks clean until you get up close.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kitty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here for my mates bday in January. Live in Cornwall but we got a good deal and it was cheaper to stay than get a taxi! Started off in the hotel bar and enjoyed a few nice glasses of wine, a standard glass of nz souvignon blank was around £7.50 though which I thought was a bit excessive! Rooms were huge with a lovely large bathroom. Very clean. Staff were friendly and accommodating, I would recommend this hotel and would stay again even if I do live 30 miles away! Ideal being so close to town with plenty of parking.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eturner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
173 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,068 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
854 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 23 in Falmouth
1,118 reviews
4.6 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbank Hotel

Property: The Greenbank Hotel
Address: Harbourside, Falmouth TR11 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greenbank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Float away in stylish surroundings. Submerge yourself in characterful history. Dive into delicious food and drink. Breathe in fresh sea air. Drink in the view. Nestled on Falmouth harbour, the Greenbank Hotel blends the best of coastal living with the finest in contemporary comfort, so you can experience life - on the water's edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HRS, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Greenbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbank Hotel Falmouth
The Greenbank Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing