We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Greenbank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
devon
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“best ever”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

we stayed for 1 night for a wedding . fabulous room,clean and bright . downside was 1 opening window that could only be opened an inch or so due to having a cable on [to stop people jumping out? because if so they could just launch themselves from the window in the bathroom :) ] , thankfully we had a bathroom window that would open fully so slept with bathroom door open to get a nice breeze . best shower ever. fab breakfast . stayed for lunch which was lovely but the monkfish was quite bland [sorry to say] but everything else was amazing . take earplugs as the corridors were quite busy and noisy [i always take them for a great nights sleep just incase ] pay the extra for a harbour view,well worth it for a wonderful sight in the morning . also the room would benefit having a kingsize bed instead of a double but that was just a minor gripe

Room Tip: we were in room 121 , harbour views were stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devonscrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear devonscrumpy

Thank you for your positive review, I am so pleased to read that you had a great time with us!

You've made some very useful observations and we discussed your feedback fully at our weekly management meeting, held yesterday. Some actions to improve have now been made, for example the Monkfish 'scampi' dish has been amended, following a tasting of several dishes in our meeting, which went down well with the team!

I do hope we will have the pleasure of your company some time again in the future when you will be able to enjoy the further improvements we're making each day.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards

Ben Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    276
    81
    31
    8
See reviews for
199
574
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The view from our room was fabulous. However, having an elderly relative needing wheelchair access was an absolute nightmare! The hotel does have lifts, but stairs leading to the lift. This meant we had to lift the wheelchair to gain access to areas of the hotel.
Staff were helpful once they realised our predicament.
Food at the hotel was lovely and thoroughly enjoyed by all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, if you don't you end up being on the roadside, very noisey! Somethi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Linda P

Thank you or your review, I am pleased to read that our staff looked after you, also that you enjoyed our food and location.

It is, however, alarming to learn that your relative found it difficult to access the hotel and I do wonder if we were made aware of the need for an accessible room? we do have a selection of rooms that have no steps at all which clearly may have been better suited.

I do hope that you have not been put off a future revisit - as you'll have noticed, we do have the majority of public spaces readily accessible to wheelchair users, including the bar area, lounge and the end of the restaurant - all with magnificent water views.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards

Ben Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We both needed a treat today after illnesses, so decided to have lunch overlooking the water at this lovely hotel..
From the moment I telephoned to enquire about disabled access, we were made to feel as though our visit really mattered. We were shown in, with wheelchair, via an access with a ramp and no steps, by a charming member of the staff, who kindly opened doors for us and directed us to the restaurant.
Marius looked after us throughout the meal and was more than helpful, assisting my husband to his chair and disposing of the wheelchair. Our meal was perfect. Mussels for my husband, who said they were the best he had tasted since we returned from living in France. For me an attractive plate of goat's cheese grilled with a delicious salad accompanied by a dressing for which I would steal the recipe. Yes, we followed with desserts that were excellent, and very good coffee.
This was a lunch that was one of those magical moments, sunshine, attentive staff, helpful people all around. (including the kind General Manager who reversed my car out for me.....)
We hope that the hotel might have a bedroom suitable for a disabled person so that we can slip away for a couple of nights to relax in the lovely atmosphere.
We shall certainly be back for lunch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabethd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Elizabethd

I am so delighted to read your feedback, following on from your visit to us last week.

It was our pleasure to look after you both, and I am relieved to have maneuvered your car successfully!

We hope you will be able to rejoin us again before long, thank you so much for your review.

Kind regards

Ben Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

What a lovely setting watching the boats go by from the bedroom the large bar area and the excellent food in the restaurant,I feel this hotel does need a little further upgrading as there are some issues with decorating etc,Staff are good car parking is a problem but overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Find parking space early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loftytoyota1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear loftytoyota1234

Thank you for your valued feed back, I do appreciate your comments.

It's great to read that you enjoyed our food, location and staff and I do hope you will consider a revisit in the future. With regards to further upgrades at the hotel, we have a system of continuous improvement in place which provides rolling improvements in any weaker areas within the hotel fabric - happily any pressing areas have now been tackled.

I am delighted to report that our secure underground car park, in addition to parking patrols, is having the desired effect, namely to keep our 63 spaces freed up for our residents only.

I do hope to see you again, thank you for you review.

Kind regards

Ben Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed two nights as part of a wedding party. The staff was very friendly and helpful in every way. The room was great, big, comfortable, well designed and with a perfect view of the marina (great big window). Plenty of space to put your clothes and bags, a work desk and free Wi-Fi in the room. The bathroom was good, very clean and plenty of space.
Breakfast was very good, with several choices for cooked food and also a small continental buffet, with good croissants and fresh fruit.
We also had a light lunch at the bar, which was really good and within price. On a relaxing atmosphere, a great view. The hotel also has a small garden by the marina which is a great idea for a bit of sun.
The down side, although it has private parking it was very very busy, the corridors are very narrow and have lots of small steps (making it very difficult to carry a big bag), the lift that may only take you half way (depending on your room or floor) is covered in carpet (the walls of the lift are carpet equal to the floor) which is awful for people with asthma and also very claustrophobic.

Room Tip: A room facing the marina, has a great view and less noise. On the other side they are facing the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSNunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear CSNunes

Thank you so much for this very useful feedback, I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I would hope that our porter was on hand if you required him to assist you with baggage - that is why he's here! Likewise to assist you with car parking, although this will soon be resolved as we're switching over to patrolled parking - residents only!

Thank you again and kind regards


Ben Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We both needed a treat today after illnesses, so decided to have lunch overlooking the water at this lovely hotel..
From the moment I telephoned to enquire about disabled access, we were made to feel as though our visit really mattered. We were shown in, with wheelchair, via an access with a ramp and no steps, by a charming member of the staff, who kindly opened doors for us and directed us to the restaurant.
Marius looked after us throughout the meal and was more than helpful, assisting my husband to his chair and disposing of the wheelchair. Our meal was perfect. Mussels for my husband, who said they were the best he had tasted since we returned from living in France. For me an attractive plate of goat's cheese grilled with a delicious salad accompanied by a dressing for which I would steal the recipe. Yes, we followed with desserts that were excellent, and very good coffee.
This was a lunch that was one of those magical moments, sunshine, attentive staff, helpful people all around. (including the kind General Manager who reversed my car out for me.....)
We hope that the hotel might have a bedroom suitable for a disabled person so that we can slip away for a couple of nights to relax in the lovely atmosphere.
We shall certainly be back for lunch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabethd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Elizabethd

I am so delighted to read your feedback, following on from your visit to us last week.

It was our pleasure to look after you both, and I am relieved to have maneuvered your car successfully!

We hope you will be able to rejoin us again before long, thank you so much for your review.

Kind regards

Ben Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Simply one of the best experiences I ever had, working on hospitality I tend to be very critic as you might be able to see on my other reviews but The Greenbank Hotel has something that many others would dream to have: Soul, a part from the exceptional location and the charming building, this place offers all you can expect: excellent service, gorgeous restaurant and heavenly views. Go and found out yourself!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Palmatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Palmatraveler

I am delighted that you had such a good experience at the hotel and frankly I love to read such feedback, thank you for sharing it with us!

A great hotel often feels like it has a life of its own, and this is what feels like its 'soul' i.e. a character and heart of its own. Without being too poetic, the Greenbank has this and it is lovely to read that you felt it too.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel in the future, thank you again for your review.

Kind regards

Ben Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
175 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,073 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
858 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 23 in Falmouth
1,122 reviews
17.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbank Hotel

Property: The Greenbank Hotel
Address: Harbourside, Falmouth TR11 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greenbank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Float away in stylish surroundings. Submerge yourself in characterful history. Dive into delicious food and drink. Breathe in fresh sea air. Drink in the view. Nestled on Falmouth harbour, the Greenbank Hotel blends the best of coastal living with the finest in contemporary comfort, so you can experience life - on the water's edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HRS, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Greenbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbank Hotel Falmouth
The Greenbank Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing