We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Falmouth Bay Guest House
Ranked #3 of 83 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Falmouth Bay. The owners, Andy and Jenny, were friendly and helpful. Our room on the top floor, like the rest of the guesthouse, was clean, comfortable and well decorated. At breakfast there was plenty of choice and the cooked breakfasts, in particular, were very good. There was off-road parking for the guests, so we were able to leave the car and get around the local area by foot, ferry and bus. The town centre is only a short walk away – but it is uphill on the way back. There are plenty of good cafes and restaurants in Falmouth and we found it an excellent base for walking and visiting nearby gardens such as Glendurgan. We’d certainly return to the Falmouth Bay in order to explore more of this very attractive part of Cornwall.

Room Tip: Stunning sea views from front-facing bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny C, Owner at Falmouth Bay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We were pleased to read your kind words in the review that you wrote for our guesthouse. We are also glad that you would not hesitate to return to us should you decide to return to Falmouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in July. The place has recently been renovated and very tastefully done. We had a family room which is very spacious with a sea view. Great shower and such comfy beds and sheets. Breakfast was good, although its only served between 8-9 which on a weekend would have been nicer to have a lie in. Only a very minor grumble, the rest was great and would not hesitate to stay here again. Also, I should add that I had not been to Falmouth in 15 years and it has definately improved. Great choice of restaurants.

Room Tip: Family room, room 2. Nice sea view and spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jalex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny C, Owner at Falmouth Bay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the trouble and time to write a review for Falmouth Bay, I am very pleased with your comments, I do take on your comment about a possible lie-in at the weeknd , which is absolutely fine by us, although due to having to turn the rooms, after people have checked out, and people are arriving to check in often around lunchtime due to our flexible check in time, unlike many other establishments, we do still have to have rooms vacated no later than 10.30 a.m. . Breakfast either side of the 8-9 a.m. hour slot is acceptable by arrangement, but would be a buffet/cereal tea/coffee affair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Everything about the Falmouth Bay made our celebration weekend very special with many thanks to both Andy and Jenny. As we travelled by train, we appreciated Andy picking us up and taking us back to the station and thanks to Jenny buying in the surprise champagne for my husband (and myself!) as requested. The guest house itself is immaculate with the most fantastic decor you could wish for, the most comfortable beds ever and lovely breakfasts. The location is superb, with or without a car, with easy access to beaches and the town and all they have to offer. Should we return to Falmouth, we will definitely stay here again - we can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny C, Owner at Falmouth Bay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hello Jean , we are so pleased that your stay during your anniversary was everything you wished it to be, and it was no problem to pick you up and drop you to the station Thank you for your lovely words in your review, we are always glad when people enjoy their stay, and lets hope you will visit us at Falmouth Bay in the near future.All the very best from Andy & Jenny at Falmouth Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful guest house in perfect location for beaches and town.
Booking was easy, website excellent and owner very friendly over the phone. Very reasonable rates for area.
Check in was quick and times flexible, again with very friendly and accommodating owners.
Room was simply stunning with furniture and decor to die for and lovely sea view. Fluffy towels, toiletries and beautiful ensuite. Also a fantastic array of complimentary refreshments. Struggled to leave the room in this context!
Breakfast was scrummy and owners again friendly and accommodating. Breakfast area and lounge beautifully furnished and in keeping with seaside location.
Check out was quick, and a pleasant experience.
Our only concern is that the guest house is so lovely that it will continue to be very popular- we may never manage to find a spare room again and the price will no doubt increase! Would recommend without hesitation.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mongoose246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny C, Owner at Falmouth Bay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We were delighted with your review and would like to thank you for your kind words about our guesthouse and all that goes with it. We hope that there will be room for your next stay, so always best to book as early as possible to get the dates you need, we will also try to keep our prices at the same reasonable/sensible price that you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This place is a must if you are staying in Falmouth. The guesthouse is beautifully decorated to the point I asked where the paint and carpets were from so I could order some and the location is superb. Jenny and Andy are lovely hosts and make you feel really welcome from the moment you arrive. We would definitely stay here again when next in Falmouth!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny C, Owner at Falmouth Bay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hello Hannah Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of our guesthouse. I hope that your painting and carpeting is going well and hope it doesnt end up costing too much money for you. We are glad you enjoyed our house, and look forward to welcoming you here again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

By far the best guest house I've ever had the pleasure to stay at. Beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, fantastic breakfast. Jenny and Andy are so helpful, welcoming and friendly....a credit to the leisure industry. Be sure to stay here if you visit Falmouth, it's an absolute gem, and we'll be back!

Jo, Plymouth

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlymJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny C, Owner at Falmouth Bay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hello Jo

Thank you for review, it is always great to hear from our customers and also always fantastic when people actually notice the work that has been put in to make peoples stay a comfortable one, I love the title and the content of your review, and hope to see you again the next time that you come to Falmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very nice stay, like the decor a lot, beds really comfy and nice linen etc. Great view of the sea, A ten minute walk into town and nearest beach. Friendly hosts. Breakfast fine, Maybe some nice breads could improve, a longer breakfast window on a Sunday may ease the everyone at a relatively small breakfast area at once feeling. Thanks

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WizDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny C, Owner at Falmouth Bay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the guesthouse, as regards your comments regarding bread, we usually offer 6 types of good quality bread, including gluten free, fruit loaf, farmhouse white and wholemeal, plus the afore mentioned both of a good quality seeded variety, most people find these really tasty . With reference to breakfast time of 8-9 a.m. which is what a large number of guesthouses offer, we are neither a hotel or a machine and we would like you to bear in mind that we start work at 6,45am seven days a week, and often work right through until 3-4 o.clock in the afternoon before even considering our own need for some breakfast or lunch. What you have not mentioned is that breakfast time can be varied by request, and often is, although this would usually be a cold/ buffet or cereal and fruit option, alternatively you may stay in bed and continue to sleep until time to depart and then visit the nearest Macdonalds or whatever you may choose if you prefer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
207 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
1,167 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chelsea House
Chelsea House
#2 of 83 in Falmouth
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falmouth Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falmouth Bay Guest House

Address: 8 Pennance Road, Falmouth TR11 4EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Falmouth Bay, you will see that we have created a sense of simple luxury providing a modern, contemporary guest house, with 8 individual styled en-suite bedrooms,in the heart of Falmouth, with easy access to the Town itself and the rest of Cornwall, including the fantastic beaches of St Ives or the great shopping in Truro. Falmouth Bay is approx a 150yd stroll to the Merchants Manor Hotel, Bar and Brasserie and around 200yds to the Falmouth Sports Club, where there are Tennis, Squash and Racket ball courts available for visitors. The Falmouth Bay is a detached guest house enjoying sea views across Falmouth Bay, a sheltered stretch of water famed for its safe sailing. The Guest House is minutes walk from Swanpool beach and nature reserve, where you can surf, play golf and enjoy evening meals on the terrace of the 'Hooked On The Beach' restaurant. Gyllyngvase beach is a short walk away, along with the Princess Pavillions which offers a wide variety of music and shows for most of the year and free nightly entertainment in the picturesque Biergarten during the summer months. Falmouth Bay guest house is ideally situated close to Falmouth Golf Club, which has stunning cliff top views across Falmouth Bay. The South West Coast Path attracts 1000's of walkers every year, many of which choose Falmouth as a ideal location to spend a night or two before setting off for the next leg of their journey. We are a few minutes walk to the Falmouth University, Woodlane Campus and a great base for those visiting the Tremough site in Penryn. Falmouth Bay prides itself in being a welcoming and friendly guest house, providing you, the guest, with a comfortable and warm place to base yourself whilst visiting Falmouth and Cornwall. The rooms at Falmouth Bay are designed to offer you a combination of luxury mixed with a traditional and contemporary feel. All bedrooms are en-suite and are equipped with luxury fabrics, bedding and towelling along with fine toiletries. Complimentary beverage tray with the addition of Cornish bottled water is supplied. Multi channel flat screen tv's in all rooms, WIFI available in all areas and an ipad available for guests use. Hairdryers in rooms, iron and ironing board available for your use and off road car park. If you choose to make a reservation with us and make your journey to Falmouth using the train, please remember that we offer a free pick up and drop off service from either Falmouth Town or Penmere Stations. Purpose built large ground floor accommodation, incorporating: wheelchair friendly ramped entrance/exit, wide corridor and doorways. Large specially equipped wheelchair or walk-in level floored wet room en-suite room. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and at Falmouth Bay we treat it with great respect. Our aim is to awaken your senses and offer a great start to the day, with great tasting food, prepared freshly every morning using the very best, seasonal, local and free range produce. Try our Westcountry breakfast, or choose something from the menu. We are only too happy to deal with special dietary requests. If you have any special dietary needs contact us in advance of your arrival and we will make the necessary arrangements for your breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Falmouth Bay Guest House Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing