We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Lovely little gem of a cottage!”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Harbour Cottage

Stunning views across the Carrick Roads to Flushing from the private, fully enclosed garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning views across the Carrick Roads to Flushing from the private, fully enclosed garden
Dining area with incredible water views Comfortable and light living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
31 reviews
Stunning views across the Carrick Roads to Flushing from the private, fully enclosed garden
Dining area with incredible water views
Comfortable and light living room
Bedroom with fabulous views over the water
Comfortable double bed in the master bedroom
Double wardrobe in the master bedroom
Living area
Comfortable sofa in the living area
Living area
Fully equipped kitchen and dining area
Fully equipped kitchen and dining area
Dining area looking in to the cloakroom area
Enjoy the views over dinner
Front entrance to the 19th century cottage
Compact but pretty and stylish bathroom incorporating bath, shower over, basin and WC
Comfortable single bed in the second double bedroom
Second bedroom shown with the truckle bed made available for a fourth guest
Panoramic views from the master bedroom
Pretty, private, fully enclosed garden with table, chairs and sandstone paved patio/barbecue area
Treat yourself to a nice, cold glass of something special at the end of a busy day sightseeing...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katherine...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely little gem of a cottage!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This was a lovely bijou self catering cottage, literally minutes from the centre of Falmouth. My sister and I wanted to revisit our childhood memories of Cornwall and this was the perfect place to stay.
It is small place and the owner makes that clear, however it has everything necessary for a week or 2 away and the size adds to the charm of the place. The kitchen / diner has a gas cooker, microwave and washing machine and sufficient equipment to keep you going. There are 2 bedrooms: a double and a single, both a good size with good storage facilities. The lounge has a comfy 2 seater sofa and a small TV. The bathroom has a bath with good shower fittings. The garden has a fantastic view over the harbour with a bbq and outdoor furniture provided.
There is a pub not directly next door but level with the garden. It has an outside dining area and, on Friday - Sunday evenings it did get noisy as it seems to be popular, but was quiet for the rest of the week. I would imagine that during the height of the season this could be a problem as, from the master bedroom, the chatter could be heard even with the double glazed window closed. However I have learnt to always travel with earplugs so this wasn't an issue for me. The single room wasn't effected by pub noise.
I wouldn't recommend this place for anyone who can't walk up a steepish hill or can't cope with narrow steps. A larger male may be challenged by the size of the bathroom but there was a comment from a previous guest that if her 6'6" tall boyfriend could cope ok then most people should!
A previous guest did comment that they were disappointed by the size of the place but in my opinion who needs the extra space when you have everything else you need for a very comfortable stay.
A supermarket was close by and it was a few minutes walk down to the pier. The train station was about a 20 minute fast walk away.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The views, coziness and close proximity to town centre.
Liked least: The hill climb to reach it at the end of the day!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie336
Strasbourg, France
1 review
“A lovely cottage - a (tiny) home from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We enjoyed our stay at harbour cottage (we = two adults, one teenager). The bedrooms were adequate - the spare one my son used was much bigger than I had expected from the description. On the whole however, the cottage is rather small, but very comfortable. As it has large windows, it is very light even on a rainy day. The sea view is great and is best enjoyed in the kitchen, which was perfect for us. We found all the amenities we needed and felt very well taken care of by the owner.
I would not advise this property for families with small children or anybody who might have trouble walking a steep flight of stairs.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and the house.
Liked least: The bathroom sink - very nice to look at, but not very practical.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate...
Harrogate
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Everything we needed - cosy, clean, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a great week at Harbour Cottage. Although it was small, we had absolutely no problem as a family of four and the size was more than made up for by the views and the convenient location. To be fair, the size of the property is clear from the photographs so we weren't expecting acres of space. The views from the rear of the house are fabulous - it was great to sit in the sun in the morning having breakfast watching the boats going to and fro in the harbour. The house does lack a bit of kerb appeal but inside it is well presented and clean. We were a bit concerned about parking, but we always found a space within easy reach and it didn't cause any problems (in a peak week in August) despite having all the bits and bobs associated with young children to ferry about. We switched the tv on once and reception was poor but we weren't that bothered - the broadband was excellent though. There is a pub next-door-but-one but this seemed a good place and we found the sound of chatter (only really audible outside anyway) quite pleasant and it certainly didn't disturb us. It's an easy walk from Harbour Cottage into the town, with pubs, shops, banks, nice restaurants within a five minute walk; very convenient. I think at the price Harbour Cottage is excellent and was everything we needed.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Views, convenient location
Liked least: Appearance from front
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 2 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Oct 2015
Hi, thank you very much for leaving a review, and I am so sorry that it's taken me so long to respond; I'm ashamed to admit that I've only just realised that it's possible! I was extremely sad to hear that you were disappointed with the cottage, particularly as it's happily not a reaction that we're used to. The cottage is indeed small, but I do try to make this abundantly clear in the description so that people know what to expect. For the same reason, I also include a large number of photographs so that people can see exactly where they will be staying.
As for the poor TV signal, I'm really sorry about this experience. In response to your experience, we have now installed digital TV so that this problem - common in Falmouth - is no longer an issue. Obviously this does not help you with the poor TV viewing experience you had, but please rest assured that we listened and then acted to solve the problem as soon as possible. As for the pub, this is again HIGHLY unusual, I can only think that perhaps there was some significant local event on (which may also explain the extremely unusual parking issues) because the Boathouse is a highly regarded but quiet pub in a well thought of residential area, and the landlord goes to great lengths to ensure that they operate in harmony with the local community. The double glazing in the cottage is usually more than sufficient to cancel out any noise, I'm extremely sorry to hear that this was not your experience. I am delighted to hear though that you appreciated the views and the location being literally just a couple of minutes walk from town. Thanks once again for taking the time to leave a review :))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Newcastle, Australia
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kaladin
Littlehampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house with great views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013 for a stay in September 2012

I should have written this last year but have only just got round to it! From the outside Harbour Cottage doesn't look like much but inside it is perfect! The main bedroom is beautiful the bed very comfy and just right for a couple or a small family. It is situated 5 minutes from the town and with a pub next door (you would expect it to be noisy but it isn't!) amazing views across to Flushing and St Mawes. The only down sides to this cosy little house is that it can get a little cold (the heating certainly makes up for that) and the bathroom is a little small.

The one thing I couldn't get used to was how quiet it was! It was a welcome break from all the noise!

My stay would have been perfect if not for the useless British weather! I hope I will be able to stay at Harbour Cottage again soon!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The views, amazing!!
Liked least: The bathroom was a bit small but it did look like a work in progress
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Linden, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a great price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Great views, friendly helpful landlord, clean and well equipped. We have enjoyed our stay here very much. The bathroom is very small, but clean and has a great tub/shower. Lovely garden with great views (although we couldn't use it much in January!). There is excellent wifi onsite however the satellite reception is dodgy. we understand from our relatives who live here that that's common for the area - its very weather-dependent. The bed was very comfortable and the view that greets you when you wake up is gorgeous! It's small but well appointed. Lots of water, central heating, close to the High Street. Great value for money! Best for a single or couple.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Size of bathroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing