We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay but slow service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swanpool Beach Cafe

Swanpool Beach Cafe
Ranked #3 of 6 Dessert in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Penryn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Okay but slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The food is good, large portions and reasonable priced, but oh dear you do have to queue for a long time. I know they have to prepare the food and that takes time, but it takes forever to even order your food. There are two outlets, one for ice creams predominantly and the other for everything. Each service point is slow and this I find very frustrating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Swallow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    59
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very slow & 'snobby'”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Great food. But that's all. Maybe it's because I own a large dog or maybe it's just me but the incredibly well spoken folk who sat inside with families were given the appropriate service where I have not been once & even offered a drink wether I am with my child or family. I've had to stand awkwardly at the till to be served on every occasion. Maybe your staff should concentrate on serving local people when we visit?
Have to say I'm really disappointed & certainly will not be
recommending it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Smokey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go here and eat ice-cream - seriously!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I've eaten a lot of ice-cream in my time, but this place really takes the prize! The ice-cream itself is delicious but, when smothered all over by a very generous dollop of clotted cream and then smooshed all over with a topping of your choice, it's seriously good eating - they have a variety of sprinkles to choose from, from chocolate covered ginger, to smarties, to crystallised exotic fruit... Honestly, if you're passing then stop by and treat yourself to one of these behemoths of dairy goodness!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Piskie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Love it!! What a great beach cafe.. Food delish ice- creams are the best! Kids love them and adults too..great prices you dont need a picnic on swanpool beach its cheap to eat here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Misslbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yelverton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect food after a sunny walk from maenporth!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

We walked over to Swanpool from Maenporth (which is definitely worth it!) And planned on eating at this cafe then walking back. We were very glad we stopped here.
Simple food done well.
You order at the window and take a number there's a short wait on food but nothing unreasonable.
The food is bought out wrapped in paper bags which fits in brilliantly with the laid back atmosphere of the place.
The food (we all had paninis) was superb.
Delicious and fresh.
We were all thrilled with our choices. (Brilliant selection on the menu)
Perfect place for a snack lunch.
Recommended for sure!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Abi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swanpool Beach Cafe also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Swanpool Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing