We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Stay”
Review of Falmouth Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falmouth Beach
Ranked #72 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Stay”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend at this hotel as it's in a great location and had previously stayed here before a fire destroyed most of it.
It now comprises of a building of about 30 bedrooms, a small conservatory sitting area, a breakfast room ( breakfast was excellent) and a small ironing room. Our bedroom was very comfortable and well furnished with freeview flat screen tv and tea/coffee facilities(shame no biscuits though!).
The hotel is now owned by the next door St Michael's Hotel so guests at the Falmouth Beach Hotel are able to use the lounge, bar, restaurant and leisure facilities (we had free use with our booking) and access is just across the car park. We were just on a bed and breakfast deal but booked a table for dinner on our last night in the St Michael's restaurant and had an excellent meal so would consider a half board booking in future as it was the best meal we had during our weekend break.
Would we return - most certainly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherylwelshgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    25
    22
    9
    6
See reviews for
19
33
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abha, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
414 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel offers traditional decor, friendly staff and wonderful views of Gyllyngvase Beach. The property offers approximately 30 rooms of various size/aspect. Breakfast is relaxed and the charming reading room over looking the sea is idyllic for an afternoon tea with newspaper. Met by 'EMMA' on reception who has more than helpful and very friendly... A great choice for a quiet and serene weekend away from the frenetic rat race

Room Tip: Choose an ocean facing room, it is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamindrfranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The website does not tell you that the hotel burnt down in April 2012 when they lost almost 2 thirds of their rooms and currently have only about 30 or so bedrooms available. The hotel rooms are okay. Slightly dated in their design and facilities but the room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. There is a breakfast room in the hotel and breakfast was good with lots of choice but the hotel has no other facilities - no bar or restaurant, instead you can make use of the St Michael Spa hotel which is right next door although when you enter it smells just like a "swimming pool". Pre-warning of all of this would have been good but I expect would lose them a lot of bookings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArashAshkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Part of this hotel has recently been refurbished and opened up to the public after a massive fire destroyed most of it, a few years ago.
The service and quality of our room were excellent. Especially the man serving breakfast! Whilst on the subject of breakfast, this was both plentiful and delicious.
Currently there is no on-site swimming pool or bar area. However, we were free to use the facilities at the neighbouring hotel: St Michaels.
Still a little way to go until this hotel is at it's best but both my husband and I had a wonderful time and can't wait to visit again, once more refurbishment has been completed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaT80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 23 in Falmouth
1,105 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
Membly Hall Hotel
Membly Hall Hotel
#15 of 23 in Falmouth
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 23 in Falmouth
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jacobs Ladder Inn
Jacobs Ladder Inn
#47 of 82 in Falmouth
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falmouth Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falmouth Beach

Property: Falmouth Beach
Address: Gyllyngvase Hill, Falmouth TR11 4DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Falmouth Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falmouth Beach Hotel has 31 traditional, comfortably furnished bedrooms - many with beautiful sea views across sandy Gyllngvase Beach and Falmouth Bay. All bedrooms are en-suite and have tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, free wifi and flat screen TV. Family rooms are also available. Prices include a full traditional cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falmouth Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falmouth Beach Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing