We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful period house with all the modern...”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious dining room leading onto well large well equipped kitchen.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious dining room leading onto well large well equipped kitchen.
Kitchen Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Spacious dining room leading onto well large well equipped kitchen.
Kitchen
Dining Room
Kitchen with large range cooker, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave and more.
kitchen with large cooker for great family meals
Hall as you enter our front door.
Living Room with open fire.
TV Room
Garden Room leading on to private garden
Double bedroom.
Double bedroom we call the Black & White Room
Twin Room
Master bedroom with great views of Falmouth harbour
en-suite bathroom.
En-suite bathroom leading onto Master Bedroom
Master bedroom.
Large double/twin bedroom with stunning views across Falmouth harbour.
Large Shower Room.
Large Shower room.
Our private terraced garden has BBQ & places to sit & enjoy the sunshine. Above is our garage.
View of the Carrick Roads and Fal Estuary from Master Bedroom
View From Primrose Room
Just 3 minutes walk from our home you are in the buzz of Falmouth & Customs House Quay
Just one of the many classic character furniture in our home.
panoramic views from the Captain's House
Your welcome tray with local tea, coffee and saffron buns
A warm welcome awaits, just step through our front door.
Lovely local soaps for our guests.
The hall looking out to the front door.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen L
Hemet, California
1 review
“Beautiful period house with all the modern conveniences.”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We truly enjoyed our two-week stay at The Captain's House in Falmouth. The house is really lovely, very comfortable and has lots of room. Our party of four adults spent many cozy hours in the sitting room with the gas fireplace and in the sunroom. They seemed to be our favorite spots to gather but with four bedrooms, we each had a room to ourselves so privacy and alone time were always an option too.

We did wake up one morning to no heat and no hot water but Debbie, the house manager, took care of the problem pretty quickly and all was back to normal by that afternoon. I would have sworn that a hair dryer was listed as one of the house amenities (wishful thinking?) but we couldn't find one. Not a big deal... I was able to find a brand new hairdryer at a local charity shop at a very reasonable price. Since I live in the U.S., I left the dryer at the house so now Carol can list it as another amenity.

Falmouth is a great home base for visiting Cornwall...lots of great shops and wonderful places to eat. We had wonderful steaks at The Ranch and the freshest, most delicious seafood at The Shed, just to name a couple.

Dealing with Carol (the homeowner) in making the reservations was very easy since she was more than willing to answer any and all questions before I made my final decision and I had a lot of questions! Once the decision was made, the process was handled clearly and professionally and I felt very confident in my choice. Also, my deposit was returned almost before I arrived back home.

All in all, a great house in a great location and lovely people to deal with. Thank you, Carol and Debbie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Hi Karen, we are thrilled that you had such a great experience in our house and enjoyed wonderful Falmouth. Sorry about the strange boiler moment which has never happened before and so shouldn't again! And thank you for the hair dryer which other guests can now enjoy!
Great that you found our house so comfortable and relaxing. We hope to see you all back again some time.
Best wishes, Carol.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Wallington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The fabulous Captain's House, Falmouth”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We arrived in Falmouth late Friday evening and were delighted that the house was ready and inviting. The Captain's House has all the mod-cons yet has all the traditional features giving us the impression that we were in a "homely" stately home. The house has a magnificent view of the harbour and has excellent parking facilities, located only minutes away from the centre of Falmouth town with its lovely selection of unique and eclectic shops. We were holidaying with our two teenage sons (aged 16 and 13) who loved it. We took the ferry across the River Fal to St Mawes. We walked along the coast and saw packs of seals basking in the sun and a kestrel wind-hovering. There are plenty of sandy beaches within minutes walk, ideal for surfers. We breakfasted at Fuel, had fish and chips and local ales at The Front Pub, and had gin teapots at Dolly's Tea House. The Maritime Museum is a MUST (we visited it twice). This was certainly one of our most favourite holidays and we have already recommended it to our friends and family! We hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is cosy and welcoming and wonderfully located close to Falmouth.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2014
Thank you, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Captain's House and that you enjoyed Falmouth as much as we do too. We look forward to welcoming you back and offer 10% off for guests who book again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWSELondo...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful house in an ideal location”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Captain's House for the New Year week with a couple of friends and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The house was very comfortable with a warm decor which made us feel at home instantly. It was clean and had everything we needed (including a dishwasher!). We enjoyed cooking in the large kitchen and had lots of fun nights around the dining room table.

It was a short 5 mins walk into the centre of Falmouth where we found all the shops we needed including the best fish and chip shop we've ever been too (it was above a pub).

Overall a brilliant stay which we would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2014
Thanks for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay especially as you were our first guests in 2014! You can stay in touch with us by following our blog at captainshousefalmouth.co.uk/blog/.
Also we offer guests who return to stay at The Captain's House 10% off your next booking for you or a friend/family you introduce.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing