We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Falmouth Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anacapri Guest House(Falmouth)(Great Value!)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grove Hotel(Falmouth)
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trelawne Hotel(Mawnan Smith)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,251)
Filter reviews
1,251 results
Traveller rating
525
407
188
94
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
407
188
94
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand old hotelsea viewcastle beachlounge baron arrivalbar menupendennis castlea bit tiredsea frontlovely hotelleisure facilitiescream teapublic roomslarge roomfollowing morninglong weekendscones
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,101 - 1,106 of 1,251 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We were greeted with a smile and a cool glass of Pimms on arrival. The hotel staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. Very clean if slightly tired room but it was just a basic one and the service more than made up for that . Food excellent

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dustmitex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Dustmitex

Thank you for this lovely review, it is so motivating for all the team to read such great feedback and I am delighted with how much you enjoyed your stay!

I do hope you will consider us again for a stay in the future.

Kind regards
Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Popped down to Cornwall on 22/07/2012 and stayed for a few days at this hotel in the lovely room 201. Splendid hotel, brilliant location, fantastic weather and friendly attentive staff made this an excellent Cornish holiday.

Also, The Gurkha restaurant in Falmouth is recommended for an excellent meal, ignore the plain outside and enter for friendly helpful service and delicious food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenZel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear KenZel

Thank you for this review, I am genuinely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so thoroughly.

I agree with your comments about room 201 and also re the Ghurka Restaurant!

I do hope you will come to Falmouth and "The" Falmouth again in the future.

Kind regards
Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed for just one night to see our son graduate from University of Exeter at Truro cathedral the following day. We were delighted by our welcome and the upgrade of room, we had seen previous reviews, our experience was lovely, yes, the decor is a little tired in places, but the staff are exellent and the views outstanding. The breakfast was undoubtedly the best we have been offered in Falmouth, beautifully cooked, and local sourced ingredients. We decided to book a return visit for a weekend in August, to have more time to enjoy the hotel and surrounding area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea, and pay to have a premier room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear ferg2

Thank you for your review and congratulations to your Son on his recent graduation!

I am thrilled with your comments on the staff and the breakfasts and we look forward to welcoming you back in a couple of weeks.

Kind regards
Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

What a great location over looking the sea just across the road and you are on the beach. We were welcomed with a complimentary tea/coffee served in the lounge which made us feel like we had come to a hotel to be looked after. We used the indoor pool (a little chilly) but was welcoming as it had been a very hot day and a relax in the jacuzzi.
Our room was spacious, comfotable, great views over the sea and the back windows looked across to the marina, huge bathroom, fridge it had everything we needed and the bottle of blubby on ice was really amazing surprise.
Breakfast - we had a good range served hot but the staff could have smiled and talked a little but we certainly would recommend this hotel and we are going to visit again as we had loads still to see in Falmouth itself.

Room Tip: Room 301 had a view from the side windows of the sea and the large back windows had a good view of the Marina
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolBluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear BristolBluebird

Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us!

I am really happy to read that you will be revisiting us and when you do please ensure you let me know so I can welcome you back personally and extend to you every courtesy.

With kind regards
Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

A friend and I stayed for two nights after visiting Truro and had a wonderful time. The hotel is lovely, not a modern new one but a traditional old school one. The staff were great and friendly all round giving excellent service. We had two fantastic rooms facing the incredible Falmouth bay with lovely bathrooms. My room was huge and my friends was only slighty smaller.

We had a deal with dinner and breakfast and the food was truly great. The restaurant was very good quality served beautifully. We also had bar food and enjoyed sitting outside in the evening.
I will be coming back when traveling down that way again and it was worth every penny.

If you want a quiet, traditional hotel where service is foremost and the views and closeness to the beach is important then this is the one for you.

Room Tip: If you can go for sea views, rooms 410 and 411 are excellent
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nm838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear nm838

Thank you for your review.

You have essentially written a summary of all I would wish our guests to feel, having stayed with us and I am very grateful for your feedback.

"Quiet and traditional with service foremost" coupled with "worth every penny" are sentiments I couldn't be happier to receive. Thank you!

With kind regards
Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews