We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Splendid Falmouth Hotel”
Review of The Falmouth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Falmouth Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
St. Day Cornwall UK.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Splendid Falmouth Hotel”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We only stayed at the Falmouth Hotel for one night, for my wife's birthday, but I wish it could have been longer. I chose this hotel because we had dined there previously on several occasions and the food and service were always excellent, and I can only say that this short stay exceeded expectations. The dining room has a lovely view across Falmouth Bay. We only live a few miles from the hotel, and you may be sure that we be visiting again in the near future.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the seaward side if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris-Roberts_HM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Peter B,

Thank you for your review, it is always nice to see that our local residents feel that we are a "destination" and come to stay with us. I think it speaks volumes for the service and experience that we provide here at The Falmouth.

I can see from your room tips that you have noted to pick a sea-facing room, however it is worth remembering that on our 3rd and 4th floor the views across the town and down the river Fal are also not to be missed. My Father-in Law prefers these rooms (being a yachtsman) as he can spy on the various seafaring craft in the harbour!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Christopher Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    372
    167
    83
    31
See reviews for
243
560
39
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a room with a sea view, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The service and food was very good and the hotel is being refurbished which is making it look more attractive. My only complaint is that it was very hard to open the windows and whereas I appreciate that cleaning the windows must be very difficult ,they were very dirty which made the wonderful view slightly less attractive . The hotel is very well situated being only a few minutes walk from Falmouth town centre, very close to the beaches and ideal as a base for exploring west Cornwall. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ross m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris-Roberts_HM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear ross m,

Thank you for taking the time to add your review to Trip Advisor.

I am glad that in general you enjoyed your stay with us, and even more so that you will be returning to us.

Our location is definitely one of our strong points, with level access all the way to the centre of town, and a lovely seafront walk - again on a level ground.

As you can imagine, our windows take quite a battering from the sea. Despite having our windows cleaned once a week externally, after a couple of days they are covered with salt. It is a situation that we are aware of, and we have plans to replace our windows in the coming year, with updated and efficient replacements that are sympathetic to the architecture of the building.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Christopher Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tregony
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Came to the Falmouth Hotel recently for the community awards ceremony and decided to stay overnight. The staff were very attentive, polite and friendly. The food was lovely, both the evening meal and breakfast, in fact there was so much choice at breakfast we could have done with staying a week. Had a swim in the pool and then relaxed in the jacuzzi. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family. Thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louju2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris-Roberts_HM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Louju2412,

Thank you for your review, and I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

We were very privileged to hold the Community Awards here at the start of the month, with so many incredibly brave and selfless local heroes. Some of their actions and circumstances were truly humbling.

The feedback that we have received after the event has been wonderful as well, and the general comments about the food were very good to hear - especially having produced for such a large number of people.

I hope that you will have the chance to stay with us again.

Regards,

Christopher Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

One wet Sunday afternoon we booked at the Falmouth Hotel for a 2 night deal. Our level of expectation was low having had experience of "Victorian Hotel set in acres of lovely garden"
The Falmouth Hotel is one of the nicest UK hotels we have stayed at.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the room was beautiful. We did not pay extra for a sea view but we had a great view of the garden and the Castle. The corner room was tastefully furnished and decorated . Very spacious and the bathroom....fantastic.
We enjoyed the food at both breakfast and dinner all eaten with a wonderful view across the bay. A cream tea in the afternoon is a must and the cabaret was wonderful.....a pod of dolphins performing in the bay. Good wines available at a sensible price
The hotel is in an ideal position for exploring Cornwall
We extended our stay by a further night and have returned home relaxed.......and much heavier , I would guess
The wi fi is just great. You just switch on and you can use it as often as you like.
As they say ...."be careful what you wish for". We sat in the lounge with our lap tops ....e mailing our kids with the sound off....One evening one of our fellow guests turned on his I pad and watched a film with the sound racked up.....another then conducted a conference Skype call!
"'Ello mum, I'm in Falmouth" Both old enough to know better!
Someone has put a great deal of thought into the restoration of this beautiful hotel and someone has also taken great care to make sure it all works well. Thanks! ....a great few days

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatmanandrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris-Roberts_HM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear thatmanandrobin,

Thank you for your review, and I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay so much.

It is always touching and rewarding to receive a review like yours, and I can assure you that most of my team are equally as "au fait" with Trip Advisor, with many of them checking the site daily. They regularly come to discuss the positive (and negative reviews), and whilst some reviews can be disheartening, there are some like your own that create an immense feeling of goodwill throughout the hotel, and you can feel the impact that it has on all the team.

I was one of the few people who missed the pod of dolphins earlier this week, but it certainly has seemed like a memorable occasion for staff and guests. Hopefully it won't be long until we see them again!

The issue of ipads and mobile phones is one that we are acutely aware of, even to the point where we have added a note to our Guest Information requesting that they be sympathetic to other guests when using them. In general this is working, however there are times when it seems like everyone is using them!

I am glad that our restoration and investment has been noticeable, and I hope that we have changed your expectation of what a "victorian hotel set in acres of lovely garden" can provide.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Christopher Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuneaton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My wife and I had previously stayed at the Falmouth Hotel in July last year and decided to visit again last week for our wedding anniversary. We were aware of refurbishments currently being carried out and contacted the hotel prior to our visit to ask if it would be possible to stay in a redecorated room. We were very pleased and surprised to be upgraded by the General Manager to a superior grade sea view room which had been fully refurbished, including the bathroom.
On arrival at the hotel we were greeted with coplimentary tea & coffee and could not fail to be impressed with with the friendly atmosphere of the staff and improvements being carried out since our previous visit, including an impressive new stair carpet up from the main hall.
The new dinner menu had a very wide selection of tempting dishes to choose from in both small or standard size portions between the starters and main course. It was also possible to request preparation of individual dishes to your own taste.
We were also surprised with the complementary bottle of champagne accompanied with a card from the staff to celebrate our anniversary, and during the evening dinner the maitre de
also kindly insisted that he gave us a glass of wine with our dinner.
We had the opportunity to talk to Christopher Roberts, the General Manager, later and thanked him and his staff for our excellent stay. It was clear that since Robert joined the hotel last year he has made it his priority to carry out improvements on all aspects of the hotel to make it one of the best venues in Falmouth and possibly the South West.

Room Tip: It is worth having a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chetwynd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris-Roberts_HM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Chetwynd2013,

Thank you for your kind review, and congratulations on your anniversary.

It is important to remember that the nature of our business is "hospitality", and here - and throughout the Richardson Group - this is something that we try and keep in the forefront of our minds. From the complimentary tea and coffee on arrival (Cream Teas for regulars!), to complimentary champagne and room upgrades, we are always trying to exceed our guest's expectations.

Alongside this, we are constantly re-investing in the hotel. The hotel has gone through a long period of a lack of investment, and there are some areas of the hotel where this is more apparent than others. However, we are making bold steps in restoring the grandeur of Falmouth's oldest hotel, from the new stair carpet to the 150 year old mosaic flooring. I hope that on your next stay with us you will be able to see more tangible improvements.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

Christopher Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Falmouth for the first time,although we have been regulars at the Metropole in Padstow for some time now.
A lovely big car park and a friendly greeting from a helpful receptionist was a good start.Our sea view room was adequate as was the bathroom,but some may have considered it a bit old fashioned.The bed was comfortable.
It is a very large old building and there are ongoing refurbishment works being carried out,which is probably a bit like painting the Forth Bridge.The large lounge bar,the adjacent room and the dining room are all in need of refurbishment and in a way it is a shame that these parts cannot be dealt with in one fell swoop whilst the hotel shuts.However,I can understand why this is not the case.
On the day of our arrival a new dinner menu was being introduced in the restaurant,which we ate from each night of our 3 night stay.Generally the food was enjoyable and well presented.There were,however,a couple of dishes that were a disappointment and with our waitress keen to get feedback on the menu,we let our views be known.Breakfasts were fine except that guests had to 'cook' their own toast on a machine that burnt one side of the bread and left the other side under done.Personally,I prefer to be served with toast.
On our second day,a lifesize cutout of Keith Richardson appeared in the reception area and indeed,later on that day,the great man himself arrived by helicopter and landed on the front lawn.Wow,the staff were on the ball in the lounge later that evening!!
All in all ,we had an enjoyable stay and the old place grew on us.We may not stay in Falmouth again,but if we are down that way in the future we will certainly pop in for a coffee or afternoon tea and see how the refurbishments have gone.
Great potential and I hope this is fully realised in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris-Roberts_HM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear gus,

Thank you for your review, and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you mentioned, we have just introduced a new "a la carte" menu, which is a dramatic change for the hotel, having spent years producing a set "table d'hote" menu. The reason for the change was due to comments from the majority of our guests about the size of the evening meal, and the limited options day to day. As with any big change, the feedback from our guests has been very important. We have tried to communicate this as much as possible to all concerned so that we can evolve the menu and ensure there are enough dishes and choices for everyone.

I completely agree that it would be nice to be able to complete all our refurbishment works in one go, however it is simply not practical. It is a lot like the Forth Bridge - however we are seeing major improvements, and I am confident that in the not too distant future we will be at a stage where the main body of the work is completed.

The toaster in the restaurant is a fairly new standard, and one that came about from listening to our guests. In general it works well - however there are some guests that feel they must play with the controls and settings, which can lead to issues. We try and stay on top of it as much as possible.

We do have a huge amount of potential here, and are striving to renew and update the hotel in the areas where it has been mistreated in the past. I hope that the next time you visit falmouth you pop in and we can show you what else has changed.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Christopher Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at the above hotel for two nights. The premier sea view room was excellent, well furnished and very comfortable. The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful.
We were advised by email before we arrived that the hotel was hosting several private events over the weekend and this was very helpful to know.
While it made little difference to us we felt that the staff had to work very hard to change and lay up various rooms and tables. This resulted in a dinner on one night that lacked finesse, wrong cutlery, over cooked fish, melted ice cream and no offer of coffee. The following night however the dinner was excellent and served beautifully.
However the breakfast on the following morning with so many people was chaotic and we felt some concern for the staff who were coping under great pressure. Would we go back? - yes, it would be good to try it when the hotel was less frantic.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knighton_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
1,094 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,139 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
353 reviews
4.5 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
685 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falmouth Hotel

Property: The Falmouth Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Castle Beach, Falmouth TR11 4NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Falmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falmouth's Landmark Hotel Steeped in history and with striking Victorian architecture, The Falmouth is Falmouth's first ever hotel. Situated in 5 acres of beautiful gardens and overlooking Castle beach, the hotel offers 71 individual bedrooms, stunning views, the award winning Castle Beach restaurant and an Elemis Spa... the perfect coastal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Falmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falmouth Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing