We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 night stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Falmouth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Falmouth Hotel
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“1 night stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here overnight on a business trip. Great location and very impressive building. Upgraded from single room to twin room but room very outdated and in need of refurbishment. Used room service for evening meal and very impressed. Breakfast was very good with great views of the bay. The hotel looks very tired and in need of updating. Would stay again but don't really think it was worth the price paid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and your comments are duly noted. We are at present working on an on going maintenance program for refurbishing. I do hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Wendy Parry - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    344
    148
    71
    22
See reviews for
221
513
37
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Branscombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a charming hotel with fabulous views over the bay and some very nice walks only minutes away again with wonderful views. My room on the 3rd floor had been recently refurbished and was very pleasant though the bathroom was still a little tired, I had tremendous sea views from my room. My dog was looked after with doggie treats and blanket.
I only gave this hotel an average rating due to the dining experience. At dinner the food was mediocre, the service very casual and lacking any finesse but the views were great. At breakfast toaster was kapput and they ran out of marmalade!!! Awaiting delivery I was told, surely a little bit of initiative could have sorted this - shops only 10minutes away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V7mjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor. Please accept my apologies we ran out of marmalade. All our award winning preserves are made here at hotel and not shop bought. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Wendy Parry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Chosen for a romantic break and a base for some Cornish touring, the hotel has an elegant charm with a quiet seafront location. Our deluxe double room was disappointing for although it had a sea view the room was cramped and the bathroom and fittings were 1970's era. We were upgraded to a top floor room which had been recently refurbished and this met our expectations. Our excellent breakfast set us up for the day and whilst our bar meal was disappointing we were given a full refund.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and I do hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Wendy Parry - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Well done to the Falmouth hotel. Much better stay than last year, so I guess the feedback I left last year helped?!...

ok so here are the highlights

+ great location
+ great food
+ improved décor and maintenance (new carpets etc) - but still has that traditional Victorian Great British feel.... I.e. not overly modern, which is nice.
+ New bathrooms are great in the rooms
+ Booking process was fantastic - more on that to follow.
+ Friendly reception staff (a positive change from 2-3 years ago).

OK I was really happy from the moment we booked this year, as I had reserved two rooms in the hotel, and one cottage. One of our party could not make it, so I called the booking team 10 days before our stay, expecting to lose our £100 deposit. I fully expected to lose it, but Jessica (I think) was amazing she actually put the £100 deposit as a credit to the other room.... now that's customer service for you.

Well we have already booked to come back next year (my only concern is the price next year is 30% more, but we will see closer to the time as they are unable to be specific). Thanks for another great stay.

Room Tip: All the premier sea view rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in future. Kind regards - Wendy Parry, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, W. Sussex
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at the Falmouth Hotel on the night of my sons wedding. May 2014. The wedding was at 1pm but the hotel were unable to let us have our room before the wedding. Thankfully my daughter was already staying there and I had to get changed in her room. There was a dispute over the cost of the rooms for a number of our guests, different rates were being charged.
The day before the wedding - the wedding co- ordinator whom had been dealing with my son and his bride to be, emailed them to say she was unable to complete the wedding for them as she was leaving their employment, and her deputy did not work on a Saturday. On the morning of the wedding I wanted to set up the cake, I asked where the wedding cake was to be displayed and the restaurant manager took 10 mins to arrive.
My daughter in law to be, had made notes regarding what she wanted where and when, but they apparently had not looked at the notes and there were several items which were not there.
I find it difficult to understand why the deputy co ordinator had not been asked / told that she had to replace the co ordinator who had left.
Our room was not over big and bathroom was minute if someone was in there was no room for anyone else. The staff appeared to be disinterested and not happy to be there.
On the positive side the food once served was V good. The weather was superb.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor. I am sorry you went through this. Very sadly we were left in the lurch at the last minute regarding our previous wedding co-ordinator. Our wedding co-ordinators always work Saturdays and had her deputy had known what was going to happen she would have been there most definitely. We do pride ourselves on the quality of food and the level of service we give and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. I do hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Wendy Parry - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed at the Falmouth Hotel for a single night on the 17th May. The hotel itself is a beautiful building and the location is great being right on he sea front. We had a sea view room which was clean and spacious and despite there being a wedding reception party goinginto the early hours we never heard any noise and a good nights sleep. The only disappointment was the breakfast the following morning. We went down early as we had a long trip back home and despite there beingonly oneothe table occupied with guests the service was abysmal , this despite a number of staff just standing around chatting among themselves. The breakfasts themselves were very small portions and my smoked salmon and scrambled egg came on two tiny triangles of toast with a couple of small slithers of salmon which was very disappointing. It was a shame really ast the hotel and the rooms were very nice indeed

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawesy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor. I sincerely apologise that you did not experience our normal great service for breakfast. All your comments will be discussed with the relevant departments to ensure this does not happen again. I do hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Wendy Parry - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

It was ten years since my last stay in this hotel and I think that the ownership has changed in that time. The upkeep of the hotel, difficult due to the age and nature of the building, was better than I remember. The hotel has a very pleasant bar overlooking the English Channel, and a similarly situated breakfast room serving a very good and plentiful breakfast. Our bathroom on the top floor, had been recently refitted, but unfortunately the water pressure for the shower was somewhat lacking. The staff were friendly and helpful. We booked a standard room, but were given one with a sea view.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you to The Falmouth Hotel in the future. Kind regards, Wendy Parry - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
4.5 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falmouth Hotel

Property: The Falmouth Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Castle Beach, Falmouth TR11 4NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falmouth's Landmark Hotel Steeped in history and with striking Victorian architecture, The Falmouth is Falmouth's first ever hotel. Situated in 5 acres of beautiful gardens and overlooking Castle beach, the hotel offers 71 individual bedrooms, stunning views, the award winning Castle Beach restaurant and an Elemis Spa... the perfect coastal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Falmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falmouth Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing