We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very accommodating front of house staff but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Falmouth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Falmouth Hotel
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very accommodating front of house staff but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Booked this directly with Richardsons central reservations and got what seemed to be a very good deal for 7 nights dbb for myself and my wife as a couple and our elderly mother/mother-in-law. On arrival, we were dealt with quickly & efficiently, with a parking space and our luggage portered to our rooms.

Being on the 4th floor in the 'old' (pre 1898) part of the hotel, the windows were small dormer style although had the advertised sea view. M-in-law's room, which was a double sold for single occupancy, was one that had been refurbished fairly recently and was therefore in tip top condition. Our room however wasneat & tidy but 'tired' and in need of some decorative attention.

That said, the bed was comfortable enough although a double rather than a twin which is a necessity due to my disabilities. Anyway, that was down to me as I had not noticed the error on the booking form and got it amended. So we have 'managed'. Reception staff were attentive and tried to help but in the end there appeared to be no alternative availability for the duration of our stay, without us having to move rooms more than once.

So much for the accommodation and location, which was fine. There were However, issues from the start. M-in-law had alarm calls set for every morningbat 7.30, which worked on the first morning but not the next, this despite having checked the booking with reception the night before. Sorted eventually and ok tto date.

Restaurant service however left an awful lot to be desired. Breakfast has varied form less than satisfactory to downright bad. It occasioned a discuusion with duty manage Sam, who took the feedback on board and it must have got through to higher management, as Restaurant Manager David was advised of the chaotic conditions prevailing whilst he was off duty.

Following this, service improved for at least the next day. We had also had occasion to complain to David that despite us being in virtually first on a 6.30pm dinner booking, we were being served out of turn, such that people coming in later were getting all their courses and away before we had even our mains. After our complaint, there was a level of improvement but alas only for one day. Tonight (our 4th night of a seven night stay), was the worst yet. M-in-law doesn't have a starter and eats slowly, so has her main course served with our starter. Simple you might think but no.On no occasion thus far has either her main course our our starters coincided witihin less than ten minutes. Tonight, her main course was served but sadly the wrong dish - my wife's , which therefore had to be returned to the kitchen. Of course then our starters arrived and we had to wait while the correct main course was finally served. This of course threw a spanner in the works with our mains, my wife's main having been previously served incorrectly. So essentially, by the time everything had been served, it was the same two hour marathon as our previous bad experience.Manager David has been as professional as it is possible to be given the circumstances he and his staff have had to work with. In our view the issue lies with the kitchen who from our experiences to date, have been totally disorganised, serving ou out of turn, prioritising on coach party bookings, who come in en masse, get served as a priority, are likely less profitable than individual bookings, who by definition are more likely to use many of the hotel facilities and spend more.

Given the hotel's rack rate, relying on coach parties alone is perhaps a recipe for disaster. The kitchen needs to understand about the benefits of loyal & repeat business from small groups & couples staying 2-7 nights. The other thing of course is that many of today's travellers are internet savvy, use review sites suvh as this one to air their views and experiences for other intending visitors to see and take into consideration when booking their next trip.

Would we come her again. Probably not. Would we book other Richardson hotels in the future. Probably not. For what we are paying, we could have stayed in a good hotel in Europe or the Channel Islands an received better treatment. Believe it or not, we have actually been there and done it etc, so we know it can be done.

Despite all of the foregoing, the food standard itself has been very good, just let down by chaotic and poorly run service from the kitchen. Must do better.

Room Tip: Don' stay on the 4th floor - wifi doesn't reach. Don't believe the notice in the lift re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandyresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor. These comments are very valuable to us, so we can make the necessary changes and improvements from your feedback. I am disappointed of the certain aspects of your stay we let you down, as guest comfort, satisfaction and enjoyment for our guests is our top priority, and please accept my sincere apologies. If ever I can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to let me know by calling me, at the hotel. Kind regards, Wendy Parry - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    342
    148
    71
    22
See reviews for
221
512
37
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just returned from a most comfortable stay at this charming old hotel.On arrival we were greeted immediately and found that an upgrade had been provided for my son and his partner in the honeymoon suite.The room itself was large and the bathroom had a jucuzzi style bath,.unfortunately it decided to turn itself on at 4am one morning so needed attending by my son.My single room was adequate and provided me with two good nights sleep.The noisy early morning seagulls are to be expected in this part of the world.Breakfast was generous but that could not be said for the meal we received on arrival Friday evening.Starter size at main meal prices.One of our party was still hungry and went out to find fish and chips.

Room Tip: Sea views are a bonus depending on length of stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BestsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor. Your feedback is very valuable to us so we can ensure our guests receive the best possible service and rectify any comments made for improvement. I do hope we will the the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Wendy Parry - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Room good, but, being on the top floor, no WiFi as promised. Nice bar area to come back to as long as you avoid looking directly into a floodlight that lights the hotel exterior. Service on Sunday breakfast was appalling - staff did not agree that what was advertised on the menus on the tables was actually available. Tables were left uncleared, food at the buffet was running out and not replenished. Service was hard to come by and none too friendly when it arrived. At checkout the hotel attempted to overcharge us on the amount agreed online. What a shame - could be a magnificent hotel!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vaughan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor. Please accept my apologies for the experiences you have mentioned. I will indeed be taking this up with all departments concerned as this is certainly not the normal high standards of service we give. I do hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Wendy Parry - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We recently stayed for five nights and had an enjoyable stay. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the town of Falmouth, and is well positioned and easy to drive to from outside the town. We used the pool and the gym which satisfied our requirements. We couldn't find fault with the food, although there could maybe have been more choice for vegetarians. The room was nice and had good view, but on the third floor the wifi was difficult to pick-up most of the time and if we wanted to use the ipad for any length of time we needed to go to the lounge. The bed was comfortable which makes a lot of difference, and the staff were very friendly. The hotel is an impressive building and if we come to Falmouth again we would certainly stay here.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a sea view, there is a lot to see in the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. After reading your comments I am reviewing vegetarian options with my Head Chef. We are also always happy to cater for guests with any specific dietary requirements wherever we can. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Wendy Parry - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here overnight on a business trip. Great location and very impressive building. Upgraded from single room to twin room but room very outdated and in need of refurbishment. Used room service for evening meal and very impressed. Breakfast was very good with great views of the bay. The hotel looks very tired and in need of updating. Would stay again but don't really think it was worth the price paid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and your comments are duly noted. We are at present working on an on going maintenance program for refurbishing. I do hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Wendy Parry - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branscombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a charming hotel with fabulous views over the bay and some very nice walks only minutes away again with wonderful views. My room on the 3rd floor had been recently refurbished and was very pleasant though the bathroom was still a little tired, I had tremendous sea views from my room. My dog was looked after with doggie treats and blanket.
I only gave this hotel an average rating due to the dining experience. At dinner the food was mediocre, the service very casual and lacking any finesse but the views were great. At breakfast toaster was kapput and they ran out of marmalade!!! Awaiting delivery I was told, surely a little bit of initiative could have sorted this - shops only 10minutes away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V7mjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor. Please accept my apologies we ran out of marmalade. All our award winning preserves are made here at hotel and not shop bought. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Wendy Parry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Chosen for a romantic break and a base for some Cornish touring, the hotel has an elegant charm with a quiet seafront location. Our deluxe double room was disappointing for although it had a sea view the room was cramped and the bathroom and fittings were 1970's era. We were upgraded to a top floor room which had been recently refurbished and this met our expectations. Our excellent breakfast set us up for the day and whilst our bar meal was disappointing we were given a full refund.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and I do hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Wendy Parry - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
4.5 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falmouth Hotel

Property: The Falmouth Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Castle Beach, Falmouth TR11 4NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falmouth's Landmark Hotel Steeped in history and with striking Victorian architecture, The Falmouth is Falmouth's first ever hotel. Situated in 5 acres of beautiful gardens and overlooking Castle beach, the hotel offers 71 individual bedrooms, stunning views, the award winning Castle Beach restaurant and an Elemis Spa... the perfect coastal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Falmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falmouth Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing