We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of The Falmouth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Falmouth Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

What a fantastic stay room beautiful staff in restaurant,food fantastic
Made our daughter birthday so special
Thank you Laura and all staff
We will be be back next year as this is a family hotel
Nice to see improvements from last year
Also a big thank you to wendy

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank logburnerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last week for 3 nights with my two teenage daughters. The hotel is a beautiful old majestic hotel that has a beautiful position overlooking the ocean. We were lucky to have a huge room on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel. The bed was enormous, and they had made up the sofa bed for my daughter and it also was most comfortable. The bathroom was great with a bath and shower over, and ample toiletries for all of us. The room was clean and had the most amazing huge windows that overlooked the sea and offered us the most amazing ever changing views. The breakfast was great, ample choice and all the breads and baked goods are all baked freshly in the kitchens every morning, ( also the scones that we indulged in for afternoon tea! ) all the preserves and marmalade are made at the hotel. The smoked haddock was amazing, and the girls loved the waffles with bacon and maple syrup!! We had a bar meal out on the terrace on the first night, and the food was really good, tasty and all beautifully cooked. The swimming pool was great, and the jacuzzi was most enjoyable. They have a small gym that I tried on one morning and it had all the usual equipment. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, and i could see that a lot of maintenance work was being carried out to improve the building, but it didn't impact on our stay at all. This hotel is old with a lot of history and some beautiful mosaic flooring and lovely decor, but needs some TLC and money spending on it to bring it back to its former majestic impressive glory, and from what I have seen from the staff and management how hard they work, this will only be a matter of time. It is a 5 minute walk to the main town, and some good restaurants including Rick Steins fish restaurant, the shack, the shed ( they have a great cocktail menu) And many others. I will definitely be back to see what changes have been made. All in all a fantastic 3 nights, thank you Falmouth hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyMoo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and myself plus my son and his wife have just stayed at the Falmouth Hotel for the weekend.
The hotel is in dire need of a facelift. From the outside it looked smart and well kept but the interior is decaying, with peeling paintwork and clearly no maintenance regime.
From the surly Reception staff, to a room that had seen better days; the light was hanging out of the ceiling, the bath sealed with mouldy mastic and the balcony had rusting chairs and had not been painted in decades.
The General Manager was almost dismissive when we asked for the only spare table that was full of dirty crockery at breakfast time to be cleared after 20 minutes of waiting and although the waiting staff tried their best the place was understaffed and undertrained.
Poor value for money and until extensive remedial work is carried out never again for us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies you did not have a good experience at the hotel. I am curious as to who it was who was dismissive with you as I was not working breakfast at the weekend.

We are going through an extensive training program with all our staff, in order to look after our guests how they should be looked after.

Maintenance and refurbishment is also an on going project for us here at the hotel. I would love the opportunity to discuss your experience at the hotel in order to make the necessary improvements, and if you would like to telephone me at the hotel on 01326 312671.

Customer feedback is very valuable to us so we can evaluate what we need to improve on.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Wendy Parry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two weeks in the main hotel and apartments verry comfy beds house keeping was verry good beautiful views ..... shame about the expensive breakfast ...... a refurb wouldnt go a miss for what you pay.... 5 minutes walk to the town center and a ten minute walk to a nice beach .....................................................................................................................................

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor.

Your comments are very valuable to us.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We are at present going through a maintenance and refurbishment program in all areas of the hotel.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Wendy Parry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A lovely old hotel with a splendid sea view. Somewhat pricey and in need of refurbishment throughout. This was apparently on going but no signs of improvements where we were. Not good value for money in this day and age. Won't be in a hurry to return.

Room Tip: Sea view, if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor.

We are indeed going through an on going maintenance and refurbishment program at the hotel and your feedback is very valuable to us here.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Wendy Parry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night, beautiful building overlooking the sea. Had a standard inland view room but no view just a rooftop, despite this we had a great stay. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, breakfast was very good and the staff excellent, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicki s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Wendy Parry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for a long weekend. The gardens are very pretty. The sea as a back drop is always good.Our room was large with double aspect windows. one window overlooked the sea ,the other overlooked the car park. The bed was very comfortable and large.We would have appreciated a full length mirror and a fridge.
All the staff were very pleasant and worked very hard.
Our meal in the restaurant was lovely but the bar meal was very poor value. What there was of the meal was nice but we both felt that we needed a visit to the chip shop because we were so hungry after eating it!

Room Tip: Photos that we had seen of the hotel, led us to believe that we were next to a sandy beach. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthamptonEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor.

We are indeed in the process of putting full length mirrors in the bedrooms that do not have them. We have today brought out our new bar menu with some great choices on it and hope you will come and try. We have taken off a lot of the small plate dishes.

Kind regards

Wendy Parry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,119 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
366 reviews
1.4 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 24 in Falmouth
304 reviews
4.5 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falmouth Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Castle Beach, Falmouth TR11 4NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Falmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: £90 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falmouth's Landmark Hotel Steeped in history and with striking Victorian architecture, The Falmouth is Falmouth's first ever hotel. Situated in 5 acres of beautiful gardens and overlooking Castle beach, the hotel offers 71 individual bedrooms, stunning views, the award winning Castle Beach restaurant and an Elemis Spa... the perfect coastal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Falmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falmouth Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing