We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 70th birthday event”
Review of The Falmouth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Falmouth Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My event was for 34 guests, 7 of which were children. We were allocated the Terrace Room and it was a perfect location with a beautiful view of the sea and Pendennis Castle and a large lawn for the children to play on. The staff beforehand were very helpful carrying all the flowers and decorations into the room. The buffet was ample and tasty and one of the greatest hits was the mini fish chips. At all times the staff were attentive and even helped clear up and take things back to the car. I was very pleased with the event. Well done Falmouth Hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank clareholmes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
There are newer reviews for The Falmouth Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Two night stay for my wife and I, check in went well although my reserved parking space was taken by another guest, which took a little while to resolve. The hotel décor is very very tired indeed and is in desperate need of a revamp. Our room was dirty and all the plastic veneer on the drawer units were peeling off and lumpy. Windows absolutely filthy with cobwebs around light fittings and curtains etc.
Breakfast morning 1, Staff were pleasant and we were shown to our table which was by the window overlooking the seafront. Again window filthy and drapes full of dust and cobwebs with crumbs all over the window sills from previous diners. Food OK though.
Breakfast 2, Were again met with pleasant staff and taken to our table, and here is where it all went seriously wrong. I counted 7 serving staff and 6 tables with people on them yet we had to wait nearly 20 minutes before we were asked if we wanted tea/coffee and have our breakfast order taken. ONE whole hour later we were still waiting for our breakfast to arrive and now there were14 occupied tables whom seemed to be getting a quicker service. After speaking to the manager 3 times our cooked breakfasts finally arrived. My wife ordered the vegetarian option only to be given bacon and sausages.. OMG !!!..Managers reason for this was "we did not expect the dinning room to be this busy this morning and the kitchen is overwhelmed" Hello you are a hotel and people have to book in advance so yes you did know how many guests you had coming it was just poor management. Still 7 floor staff and still only 14 tables occupied. Eventually we cancelled breakfast as did other guests around us .We went down for breakfast at 8.55 and left at 10:40 over one and a half hours and still have nothing. This is a Richardson owned hotel and they really do need to invest in training for all their staff ,it was absolutely shocking.
This was maybe once a nice hotel when it was built in the 1800's but definitely not now. 200 meters up the road you have the Merchant Manor hotel which we stayed at a couple of months ago and was perfect, so if you want a relaxing stay in Falmouth book there if you can... Avoid at all costs this drab dreary poorly managed hotel.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just returned from a short stay at the Falmouth hotel with our two adult daughters. The hotel itself is beautiful with lots of character. We paid extra for a sea view but wish we hadn't as we discovered our daughters room was one of the recently refurbished rooms and was soooooo much nicer than ours! Having said that, our bed was very comfortable and room was large and clean. However, management, please change the pillows - they are awful! Breakfast was okay, have had better. As a previous customer stated breakfast is a bit chaotic. I totally agree. Although the staff are extremely helpful and friendly, there just doesn't seem to be enough of them. We were served by several different waiters during breakfast. Nobody covering one particular area it appears. We also ate in the bar and the food was very nice, but a bit pricey. There was a wedding party going on whilst we were there and there was a lot of noise on our floor in the early hours. This is not the hotels fault I know but why couldn't the wedding party be given rooms close to each other and not next to other guests who are not in any way related to the wedding party.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for an romantic evening, staff were friendly and attentive, room was as described on all sites if not better, was a lively atmosphere, the leisure area was all clean and family friendly and the menu looked delicious. Our breakfast in the morning was very filling and highly enjoyable. Will defiantly be coming back again!!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Carolyne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

checked in sat no problem we had booked a room that allowed us to take our dog with us we were not expecting miracles but it would have been nice to be able to look out of the windows but they were so dirty.the room was very tired carpets moth eaten hole in the floor under carpet.no hot water from bathroom tap it must be the same basin from when the hotel was built.however the beds were very comfortable.the best was yet to come we went down for breakfast at about 8.50 and were still waiting at 10.10 eventually we got our food only to find out that one of our party had not got her veggie breakfast in the end because of the wait she cancelled it great! they said could not handle the sudden influx of people at the time of eating.they refunded 20.00 for the inconvenience.be the way its 15.00 for the dog

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Liz Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the hotel. We had a premier room with sea view, we found the room to be spotless and this level of cleanliness was maintained throughout the week.There was a walk-in power shower and it was obvious that the room had been refurbished to a high standard. The view from our room was fantastic. We used the heated swimming pool every evening, the high standard of cleanliness was apparent in the changing rooms and around the pool area.Whilst at the hotel I made use of the Spa facility and had a celtic head, neck and facial massage which I would hghly recommend. I found all the staff to be very helpful, as I have a disability,I required some assistance and provision of an armed chair, after the first day all my needs were catered for without having to ask twice, nothing was to much trouble for the staff, everyone was polite and professional. We found the restaurant staff in particular to be extremely helpful. We would have no hesitation in booking to stay at The Falmouth Hotel again, we had a brilliant week with hot weather and excellent service, what more can you ask for.

Room Tip: Ask for a premier room with sea view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Chose this hotel mainly for location and pool and from reading many reviews to check child-friendly etc. Very impressed a week prior to arrival when I received an e-mail advising of weddings over the weekends we would be there, and so restaurant and car park could be busy. Thought that was good customer service. Arrived on a Wednesday and the carpark was very busy and it would seem an overflow carpark was in the process of being made into flats - so wasn't easy getting a space -however there is plenty on street parking around the hotel. DId mention this to the receptionist who checked the self-catering apartments and said there were a couple of spaces there for that one night - so that was helpful of her. We had booked a sea view premier room and were very pleased with it - good size with a super-king size bed and a bed settee for our daughter. Superb view over the front lawn , prom and to the sea. Old character hotel so couldn't expect panoramic windows, but we had 2 decent sash windows with external glass shutters, and managed to open them wide enough, despite safety measures restricting their opening, to get a good view and allow ventilation. It was scorching weather while we were there and we left the windows open all the time (apart from the thunder storm).
Classic decoration which we liked and thought went with the hotel image. Bathroom was well equipped and my only gripe is personally not liking fixed head showers.The water pressure was weak so showering took longer than at home - however that is pernickety, and all in all we enjoyed our room for our 12 nights there.
Lovely restaurant and staff quite friendly. Breakfast was fine - cold buffet was good, lots of cereal, cold meat, cheese and several breads but I've had better choices with regards to the fruit selection, however the hot menu was extensive and you could have almost anything you could think of to order. Excellent choice.
Had a Sunday lunch and evening meal in restaurant and they were excellent, also had a few evening meals in the bar and found all were very good.
I like the old grandness of this hotel. The front lawns which although not as I had imagined from the photos, were large, in fact large enough to cope with a helicopter landing (oh yes, thought I was seeing things), the small playpark kept our daughter amused, lovely attractive fish pond. The heated indoor pool was a great attraction and I managed a pamper in the Spa at the hands of a very nice, very friendly beautician called Iris.
Receptionists were rarely the same any time we passed so we didn't get a chance to build up a rapport there despite our 12 days in residence and that possibly led to a communication slip-up when I got a message 2 days later than delivered to reception, however that was rectified later and staff made a point of making sure the next message was delivered promptly.
We found room service very good and those staff very polite.Despite refurbishment obviously ongoing - it did not detract from our most enjoyable stay in the Falmouth Hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend a sea view and a bigger room if possible. We had premier room 311 and it was good...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SinginSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
1,111 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,160 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
362 reviews
4.5 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
691 reviews
1.4 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 24 in Falmouth
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falmouth Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Castle Beach, Falmouth TR11 4NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Falmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: £94 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falmouth's Landmark Hotel Steeped in history and with striking Victorian architecture, The Falmouth is Falmouth's first ever hotel. Situated in 5 acres of beautiful gardens and overlooking Castle beach, the hotel offers 71 individual bedrooms, stunning views, the award winning Castle Beach restaurant and an Elemis Spa... the perfect coastal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Falmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falmouth Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing