We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand old lady” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Falmouth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Falmouth Hotel
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Buckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Grand old lady”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel my not be everyone's cup of tea, its old, décor needs updating, but the hotel is full of character, breakfast was spot on and served quickly, all staff were pleasant and rooms cleaned very quickly, i couldn't have asked for more, loved it, we had a room with a sea view which was spectacular, with views of different ships and the castle, we would defiantly stop there again

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    342
    148
    71
    22
See reviews for
221
512
37
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

The room we had was on the top floor and I'm guessing it's not their nicest room. It was perfectly adequate, clean and functional but a little tired and the water pressure from the shower was pathetic. It wasn't cheap and I'm sure others paying the same had nicer rooms but that's the gamble you take booking at the last minute in August I suppose.
The staff were very efficient if perhaps a little cold but then I'd complain if they were over friendly so they can't really win!
Breakfast was very pleasant although the service was only adequate.
The grandeur of the building suggests it was something special in its heyday and I would hate to have the job of managing the maintenance budget of such a huge building but I think they do a good job with what must be limited resources.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank theresonlyonebrianpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed with friends at this hotel back in April 2014. On arrival check in was quick and easy with a warm welcome. We were shown to our rooms which were large, comfortable and had fabulous views. The bar / lounge area was very nice with roomy leather sofas. We had afternoon tea here which was delicious and spent a few happy hours with a glass of wine or two soaking up the view. The spa and swimming pool were also really nice, very clean and we had an excellent massage - thank you to our therapist.

This hotel is a little tired in areas but overall has a grandeur of its own. We really enjoyed it and wouldn't hesitate to book or stay again.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view room. The view is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Hi, we stayed here on August bank holiday weekend and what can I say??
The staff were great, the place itself was built in about 1865 and it shows, the only thing missing from our room was the masking tape on the windows in case of an air raid! The room was clean, but seriously dated!! Now then, yes old fashioned is nice but old furniture from the 1970's is pushing it too far, the food was OK, my wife ordered poached eggs on toast, not difficult you would think?? No, even that was a stretch to far, they produced a plate with two poached eggs on it & we were informed that we had to cook our own toast in the toaster, there was a long queue so by the time my wife had cooked her toast her eggs were cold!!!!
We got in quite late on Saturday night 10:45pm, & thought we would have a drink in the bar before going to bed, not a chance!! The bar was locked up & we were told the bar was locked & we couldn't get a drink!!! We are sorry to say that we won't be going back as far as we were concerned for nearly £200 for 2 nights we can get a lot better for our money & be treated like paying guests & not an inconvenience !!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Overall our experience at the Falmouth Hotel was excellent. We had a standard room on the first floor that was not sea facing but had a lovely balcony on the side of the building from which the coast line could be admired. Since we had not expected this it was a very welcome surprise, especially so as there was a roof over the balcony, which made it possible to sit outside even in the rather drizzly weather of the bank holiday weekend.

The room itself was very nice and clean. It was not one of the refurbished ones, but everything was in good condition and we felt very comfortable in it. The bathroom as a very good size and also very clean except for a pipe on the radiator which seemed to have an oily substance on it, which I presume may have leaked from the radiator itself. However, as this was very close to the bottom of the radiator and did not cause us any discomfort we did not bother to mention it to reception.

The rest of the hotel also seemed very clean and overall very nicely decorated. The dining room however could do with a bit of updating as it seems a little bar, especially compared to the rest of the hotel.

Quite a few people on this site seem to have complained about the breakfast served in the hotel or rather the service. We had no such problems and were always served promptly and never had to wait for more than a few minutes. The food is varied and tasted excellent. Dinner was an equally pleasing experience and I would happily recommend the hotel restaurant to other guests.

The location of the hotel is priceless and the beach is literally just a stone's throw away. The proximity of the train station was also a big plus for us. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms come with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Lovely grand exterior and entrance to the hotel. No problem with checking in. We had a room on the fourth floor with a seaview. The room had been tastefully decorated and clearly quite recently. Lovely spacious and clean bathroom. Room cleaned promptly everyday whilst we were at breakfast and tea tray replenished. HOWEVER, we stayed for breakfast during our 3 night stay and wished we hadnt. The cold buffet was good, fresh bread, pastries, cooked meats cheese, bit of fruit and cereals but the service was SO POOR. The staff if you could get their attention although they nearly outnumbered the number of guests were not at all attentive. We had to wait as other guests have suggested for about 20 minutes and finally having to ask staff if we could order at least hot beverages. Which was not met with approval by the staff and then finally ordering. Day 1: what a shock we ordered scrambled egg on toast; when it arrived it was ONE piece of toast with what looked like grey sick on top, literally a runny kind of slightly lumpy spoon of something. We had never seen anything like it. The fact that breakfast is served on very large dinner plates makes the portions seem even more miniscule. The next day we ordered cooked breakfast and decided to go for poached egg instead with mushrooms, what a surprise the egg was ok but there was ONE mushroom! The portion sizes are only just acceptable for a toddler and the fact that breakfast is charged at £15 a head is quite ludicrous. If the service had been better then we wouldnt have minded. The coffee which was in a cafefiettere only filled one and half small cups which was not really enough when you were sitting in the dining room for at least and hour plus. We didnt feel or indeed were never asked if we wanted any refills. Tables were never cleared either during breakfast which made you feel uncomfortable as the table got full quickly. If we stayed again we would definately pick room only and would not recommend anyone staying for breakfast. We didnt try any other meals or the bar based on our experiences of the breakfast. We cant fault the room or the hotel itself it was only the food and the staff which let it down. The only other BIG issue we had was on checkout when we were given the bill and realised we had been charged £30 more for the middle night. Which meant that two nights were £139 and one night £169! none of these nights were weekend or bank holidays. When we queried this we were told that it was because the hotel was busier on that night, WHAT! the hotel had had a coach load of people on the third night and that was only charged at £139. Overall we feel that the hotel is dramatically let down by its lack of personal service and genuine attentiveness which should have been possible considering the price we paid and also that fact that the dining room was never full when we visited. Please only consider staying if you have a small appetite and if not stay room only.

Room Tip: Try and pick a room with a sea view. We had room on fourth floor which was newly decorated and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We returned home at the beginning of August after enjoying our third break at The Falmouth in sixteen months. With delightful sea views and blissful weather, we didn’t let some of the comments made in this review spoil the occasion. So with TripAdvisor reviews varying from ‘Dreadful’ to ‘Brilliant’, my second review has been written after a great deal of thought.

The hotel enjoys one of the most enviable locations in Falmouth, with a wide lawn fronted by a quiet road, and beyond, enchanting sea views. All the sea view rooms share the night- time spectacle of lights from anchored ships casting a magical quality across the water.

On the subject of management, I wrote a letter to Mrs. Wendy Parry the General Manager making a number of comments. Mr. David Leggett the Operations manager contacted me advising me that Wendy was no longer at The Falmouth, and that he was acting General Manager. For whatever reason, two General Managers have left the hotel in the past five months. Mr. Ben Young the Regional Manager has also left since I made contact with him last year.

Mr. Leggett was advised that I consider their new facility to allow diners to cut their own (what they call artisan) crusty bread is both a hygiene and safety issue. Placing napkins alongside the bread is a fine gesture, but I notice some diners ignoring the offer. Unfortunately, some people’s idea of hand cleansing after toilet duties, leave a lot to be desired. It only takes one infected person to cause an outbreak of Norovirus in the hotel. A Country Park in Devon was closed recently due to such an outbreak.
The use of the knife is another safety issue. Standing behind a lady, I winced at the way (without the crumpled napkin) she attacked the loaf. Furthermore, the child of an irresponsible parent could stroll over and use the knife. Mr. Leggett assured me they would never allow a child to do this. However, as this requires someone in authority, and constantly vigilant, to decide when the youngster is old enough to use a knife, I remain unconvinced that this degree of commitment would be provided… I was concerned to learn this facility has been adopted across The Richardson Group.
My wife reminded me of the mini crusty loaves we enjoyed many years ago baked by the chef at a hotel in Boscastle. A similar provision to replace cutting of bread would remove this risk.

In the evening, the chef’s creations were a delight. Unfortunately, the menus having a £29.95 allowance for guests on a DBB basis had many supplements.
One occasion, ignoring the vegetarian option, you only had the choice of Chicken Breast, or Loin of Hake without incurring a supplement. The Rump of Lamb had a supplement of £4, The Wild Sea Bass £9, and The Char Grilled Cornish Fillet Steak £15. Most people love a good steak; so taking the most expensive option a couple would be charged £59.90 for the basic meal, and a £30 supplement for the steak. Add in one of the cheaper bottles of wine at £19.95, and you have a grand total of £109.85. If you go wild, starter supplements of £2 for the Maple Roasted Pork Belly or Chilled Gazpachio would bring the total to £113.85. Apart from the two nights when the German coach party was in residence, very few guests took advantage of the restaurant, either choosing a bar meal, or presumably eating out. I was advised, to provide more choice you could consider the bar menu, but I feel this isn’t the answer to the problem.

One evening, I reported a couple of dozen dead flies scattered on the left hand window ledge in the restaurant. I could see more on the next window ledge. At breakfast the following morning, they were still there prompting me to reiterate my complaint. On this occasion before their removal, the waiter clearing the adjacent table ready for lunch placed the sugar bowl and salt and pepper cellars among them.

A number of complaints have been made about the time taken to serve breakfast.
A gentleman sharing the toaster with me commented that most of the waiters serving breakfast whilst young and enthusiastic lacked sufficient training to operate efficiently. On that occasion, our order was served promptly. The following day, the restaurant wasn’t busy as the German touring group had left; our Full English arrived 30 minutes after our order had been taken. On our last morning, the coffee arrived (after prompting a waiter) 10 minutes after our breakfast. Five minutes later another pot of coffee (we assume this was the one we’d originally ordered) arrived.

Many comments, and promises, have been made in the past 15 months about a maintenance and refurbishment programme. The most dramatic improvement I noted on this visit was the new staircase carpet. With its position as the main fire escape, the old carpet with its patches of grey tape (the subject of many comments in early reviews) was in desperate need of replacement. Another, a corridor between the restaurant and the kitchen whilst providing a new route to the annex, doesn’t ease the ongoing maintenance issues.

When you approach the restaurant along the lovely 150-year-old mosaic tiled hall, you expect its pièce de resistance, the sea view, to be presented with some finesse. You are faced with a depressingly decorated wall with windows boasting swags and tails, but no curtains. Our delightful room 311, with its exquisite swags tails and curtains demonstrates what could be achieved. The carpet in the corridor from the lift to our room (I assume it mirrors the other floors) is in a dreadful state, the decoration depressing and the lighting poor. Obviously, I cannot comment on individual bedrooms, but I could go on…I fear that The Falmouth, this lovely old lady, might suffer the same fate as a hotel in my town. The hotel has sea views that rival The Falmouth, with five beaches (one a well respected surfing rendezvous) and three golf courses, including The Royal Porthcawl, all close by. Alas, it now hosts two or three coach loads of guests.

Yes, we will consider another visit to The Falmouth…when future reviews confirm that long overdue improvements have been made.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wayne089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
4.5 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falmouth Hotel

Property: The Falmouth Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Castle Beach, Falmouth TR11 4NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falmouth's Landmark Hotel Steeped in history and with striking Victorian architecture, The Falmouth is Falmouth's first ever hotel. Situated in 5 acres of beautiful gardens and overlooking Castle beach, the hotel offers 71 individual bedrooms, stunning views, the award winning Castle Beach restaurant and an Elemis Spa... the perfect coastal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Falmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falmouth Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing