We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got upgraded....”
Review of The Falmouth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Falmouth Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2010

This is a great, old Beach Hotel...very, very nice. We arrived at the Falmouth Hotel as members of a tour group...staying there for three nights.

Knowing that members of a tour group are normally not assigned the best rooms, I contacted the hotel directly and asked if we could be upgraded. No problem...and it was not all that expensive.

This turned out to be my best investment of the entire trip. Our upgrade was one of the best rooms at the hotel....with a huge balcony and an amazing view.

The breakfast (English) was wonderful. We normally had lunch in town, but we rarely missed a beer in the comfortable bar before dinner. Dinners were as always, when you're with a tour group, preselected, but....we had no complaints.

In summary...the decision to upgrade the room was what made our stay at the Falmouth Hotel really special.

For Brits looking for a similar experience in the U.S., look up the Hotel Del Coronado on Coronado Island, near San Diego, California. Enjoy...!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,132 - 1,138 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2010

Falmouth Hotel has a building and location that other hoteliers would chew off their own arms to have. The Victorian building sits barely 50 yards from the sea shore, looking out over Falmouth Bay - one of the best locations in the UK. Dinners at the Falmouth are excellent - they use the best local fish, meat and vegetables to produce delicious, but not over-filling meals. The staff are young, usually English, often Cornish, and are always willing to help out.

Two reasons why this hotel doesn't get five blobs: the place looks so tired, and is desperately in need of a facelift. I heard that some rooms have been refurbished, and that modernisation has started. If so, great - it needs it.

The other reason is the breakfasts which are buffet style, like you would expect to see in an inclusive holiday hotel on Tenerife or the Costa del Sol. These are totally incongruous when compared with the excellence of the dinners.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Falmouth Hotel, don't get me wrong. However, these two points separate this hotel from complete excellence.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardfromFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We spent five nights here from Sept 13th 2010 and found the hotel very much better than did some other reviewers. Dinner was excellent and service at all times in the restaurant, the bar and front desk was good. There were no problems with the breakfast which offered a nice choice of hot food well cooked. Lunch and afternoon tea in the bar were fine and reasonably priced as was the wine list.

The dinner, bed and breakfast rates were good value and supplemented with the garden vouchers which worked very well.

We saw nothing wrong with the public rooms which were well furnished. The restaurant seemed lighter than the one at the four star hotel next door although it has nice outdoor dining options not available here.

We had booked a premier plus room with balcony on the hotel web site which was confirmed. Later an apologetic email arrived saying these rooms were fully booked but offering us the Castle Suite at the same rate. This was very comfortable with good accessories and a lovely sea view but no balcony.

The walk to the ferry pier takes about thirty minutes and can be a drag but it’s only a short drive by car to the park and ride. The bus then gets you to the ferries in five minutes. It runs every twenty minutes. All day parking and bus are free for those with pensioner bus passes or in 2010 with a Falmouth oyster card. Taxis offer another option.

On returning from the ferries, you can take the shuttle bus from the pier to the Dell leaving a short downhill walk back to the hotel.
We did not look at the pool areas.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castleMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed for one night in a superior room -very large room on third floor with a beautiful sea view. The hotel is full of charm and character . Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was delicious -full english as well as cereal, fruit, croissants etc. Also had meal from bar in the evening -good value and couldn't fault quality of food. Would definately stay again. Excellent location -opposite lovely beach and about ten minutes walk into town.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgiaDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed at The Falmouth Hotel for a long weekend. The hotel looks grand and does not disappoint on the inside with tall ceilings and wide/long corridors. Sadly the décor and fixtures are now looking tired and clearly the hotel requires urgent refurbishment. Our room was spacious but smelt and the sink leaked so we moved into one of the modernised rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful offering a good level of service but we couldn't help feel the building itself was letting them down. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment but clearly this isn't happening quickly enough. This hotel has so much potential to be outstanding given its location, history and design but not without considerable investment. We felt a little disappointed especially given the cost of our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northlondonpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I have been to this hotel a few times on busines - midweek for one or two nights at a time. Nice location, reasonable facilities (lovely indoor pool and sauna) nice grounds and close to the town. The staff are generally very helpfull.
The problem is they never get my booking right - i always phone to confirm my booking and every time (three times this year so far) they are not aware of the booking previously made by email. They claim not to have received it (but my system shows it delivered) . When you dig deeper the staffl tell you that they are all fed up with the antiquated IT in the hotel and "often loose bookings" , to make it worse the IT system is also supposed to hold the corporate rates and this doesant work either. SO check your booking s and check your bill , otherwise not a bad hotel ( i could have the usual rant about the buffet breakfast but im fed up doing that !!!!!!)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

I stayed in the lovely grand hotel for 2 nights. I got upgraded from a single room to a double room when i checked in. Which was nice!
The style of the hotel is a bit old but you could still see that it was a classy place one day. In the lounger are comfy sofas and it’s the best place to read a book, when it’s raining. The view over the sea from the bay windows is awesome!

I was super surprised when i opened the door to my room. Not old fashioned at all. A modern design room, with everything you need.. but the best is the bathroom... huge, designy. Massive bathtub and a walk-in shower with 2 showerheads. NICE! The room was very quiet and lying in bed i could hear the waves.

The breakfast was good, everything what you needed and very friendly staff. Prices and quality for bar food and drinks quite reasonable. The only thing which was not ideal was the ladies shower at the swimming pool. Old and dirty. Overall a very pleasant stay. I ll come back one day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyKipling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,141 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,212 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
374 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#13 of 24 in Falmouth
609 reviews
1.4 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 24 in Falmouth
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falmouth Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Castle Beach, Falmouth TR11 4NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Falmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: £72 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falmouth's Landmark Hotel Steeped in history and with striking Victorian architecture, The Falmouth is Falmouth's first ever hotel. Situated in 5 acres of beautiful gardens and overlooking Castle beach, the hotel offers 71 individual bedrooms, stunning views, the award winning Castle Beach restaurant and an Elemis Spa... the perfect coastal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Falmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falmouth Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing