We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolvean House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolvean House
Ranked #30 of 81 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quite nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We had a very warm welcome here so cannot fault that, we booked 3 rooms overall which were ok, they were clean and kept nice but lacking in a mini-fridge in room - especially when you take a dog and need to keep food fresh, even so it would have been nice to keep drinks cold aswell.
We personally could have done with a bigger bed and the room seemed a bit cramped once we moved all our luggage and dog bed in.
We did not find the local traffic noisy as we had a back room, the top floor rooms however were very hot and all the noise of the boiler and pipes went through them, so this was a bit disappointing.
We thought the cost was a bit pricey for what you actually get, unless, it was the cost of the breakfast that was expensive?
Anyhow a very pleasant stay just lacking a mini-fridge and a bit more space if you take a pet.
Breakfast was very good and we had a good choice every day, the location was also very good, very near to town and mariner.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anglosaxeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
30
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

From great welcome by owners on the beginning, throughout their help, services, room comfort and freshly made breakfast; everything was very good and on high standard level.
I definitely would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jozef76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

we stayed for just two nights and found the owners to be very pleasant and helpful. the room was clean and roomy. the breakfast was very good and unusually it was piping hot.
the hotel is in a very good position for the town and the maritime area and benefits from it's own parking.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Great location for touring south Cornwall. Walking distance to town, harbour and beaches. Parking on site.

Room Tip: Sleep was disturbed by the very noisy seagulls, nothing to do with Dolvean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisie11758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somersetengland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We enjoyed a 2 night stay here. The room was excellent but we encountered a couple of issues which included a rather odd smell in the bedding.This turned out to be from the brand new and very comfortable mattress and of course will soon go away and would not put us off from rebooking. Otherwise we had a lovely stay and the owners are clearly at pains to provide a good experience for their clients. I am looking forward to returning and giving them 5 stars next time

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesSomersetEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

W e stayed here 16/23 July, the weather was not fantastic but the same could not be said for our hosts Shaun and Renate, they were very helpful and even offered us a drink when we arrived early although I am sure they were very busy!
Our bedroom was a good size and immaculately clean and I loved the bathroom( a good size and victorian style, as was the bedroom). Hospitality tray was excellent and we even has a tiny view of the sea.
T he breakfasts were excellent and very tasty, with a good selection of healthy foods.
The parking was very handy and we could walk into Falmouth in ten minutesand the beaches were only down the road. The location of Dolvean House was very central and we did not have to use the car on all occasions. Although we do not usually return to the same holiday destination, if we did we would certainly return here as I think this was good value for money especially stay seven nights and pay for six!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ISABELLAKENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

The Dolvean is perfectly located for town, beach, walks etc. It is spotlessly clean, the breakfats are superb and the hosts are friendly but unobtrusive. Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Melvill House
Melvill House
#21 of 81 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Telford Guest House
Telford Guest House
#6 of 81 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosemullion
Rosemullion
#16 of 81 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lugo Rock
Lugo Rock
#13 of 81 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westcott
The Westcott
#8 of 81 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelot Guest House
Camelot Guest House
#4 of 81 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolvean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolvean House

Property: Dolvean House
Address: 50 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Dolvean House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 5 Star Victorian house offering luxurious B&B guest accommodation, all en-suite rooms are individually decorated and most have sea or harbour views. Beds have pocket sprung mattresses, there is a guest lounge with licensed bar, free wifi & free easy car parking. A few minutes walk away from beaches and shops or a short drive to many of Cornwall's finest gardens, there is so much to do. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolvean House Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing