We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolvean House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolvean House
Ranked #32 of 80 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I recently stayed for 4 nights at this lovely B & B in Falmouth. I was made to feel very welcome which was really nice as I was visiting our daughter and travelling alone as my husband was unable to join me for the trip. The room and breakfasts were first class and my daughter and boyfriend were invited to join me for breakfast whenever they could, which was a lovely offer. They, in fact, did have breakfast with me on one occasion and thoroughly enjoyed it. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, Shaun and Renate. I shall certainly stay at Dolvean House again - hopefully with my husband next time!

Room Tip: I had a single room on the top floor with the most amazing views. It also had a bath with shower ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
30
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

A great place to stay in Falmouth, very well situated for the main beach & a short walk from the Discovery Quay & the National Maritime Museum. Accommodation is most comfortable & extremely well appointed. The hosts are most welcoming with the breakfast menu outstanding. Would certainly return here again when next in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We had a four night stay at this B&B recently and one word describes it - superb! It is the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in - everywhere is absolutely spotless and well maintained. The extremely helpful hosts pay great attention to detail to make you feel so welcome. They personally greet you on arival with tea and biscuits and a chat about any special requirements, things to do in the area etc. Lots of information about activities in Famouth and the rest of Cornwall. Very comfortable beds - quality mattresses, two pillows each one very soft, one bouncy, extra bedding if needed. Offered to dry our clothes for us after we were caught in a downpour. Excellent choice of breakfasts all cooked to order and delicious. Made us lovely packed lunches for our journey home. Great location for exploring South Cornwall. Car parking available. We intend to go back again next year but hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillycat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is a lovely B&B. The rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculate. Shaun and Renate are very helpful and hospitable. The breakfast is excellent - freshly cooked and nicely served. Great location for touring in the area. An easy walk to fine dining or a good pub.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Preference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Brilliant place to stay Shaun and Renate are fantastic hosts and their b&b is fabulous we would highly recommend a stay their for anyone wanting that extra special touch to their holiday we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Falmouth when we visit our Son .Many thanks to Shaun and Renate for making our stay in Falmouth so special once again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

This is a really good Bed and Breakfast to stay at. Really nice rooms, great food, an honesty mini-bar (I liked that a lot), pleasant lounge space where we could relax, have a drink and talk. The owners were really helpful and the service was very professional. They could not do enough for us and were happy to book taxi's and even offer us a lift from time to time. This place really had everything we needed from a bed and breakfast. Nicer than many hotels I've stayed in. I know where I'll be staying next time I'm in Falmouth. This place is perfect for couples and larger groups, particularly with the lounge space where people can meet before or after heading out for the evening. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the building. It was a nice room and no complaints about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Thank you Shaun & Renate for a lovely stay in your lovely B&B, we had 3 nights there, were given a choice of room, the pick in our opinion was the top floor room 15, a great view towards the Harbour.
The room was spotless, the little extras in the room where a lovely touch, plenty of tea's & coffee ample milk & truly scrumptious biscuits which you would only expect in a 5 star hotel, the flat screen tv on a swivel made it easy to watch tv either in the chairs by the window or as you are in bed.
Breakfast was really fantastic, with so much variety on offer you could fill up for the whole day, Renate was very attentive making sure your breakfast was cooked to your liking, my wife was very pleased by the vegetarian breakfast.
The town is only a 10min walk away, 5 min walk to Gyllyngvase Beach.
We were so happy we chose Dolvean House out of many B&B's & would thoroughly recommend everyone should stay here, it is a truly great place to stay.
A VERY BIG THANK YOU again to Shaun & Renate for making our trip to Falmouth relaxed and Enjoyable.
All our very best wishes for a great future

Room Tip: go to the top!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hamble47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Melvill House
Melvill House
#24 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosemullion
Rosemullion
#16 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Telford Guest House
Telford Guest House
#8 of 80 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lugo Rock
Lugo Rock
#12 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westcott
The Westcott
#7 of 80 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#30 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolvean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolvean House

Property: Dolvean House
Address: 50 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Dolvean House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 5 Star Victorian house offering luxurious B&B guest accommodation, all en-suite rooms are individually decorated and most have sea or harbour views. Beds have pocket sprung mattresses, there is a guest lounge with licensed bar, free wifi & free easy car parking. A few minutes walk away from beaches and shops or a short drive to many of Cornwall's finest gardens, there is so much to do. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolvean House Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing